We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Random - very appropriate”
Review of Random Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Random Hall
Ranked #2 of 2 Slinfold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2014

So this is a small hotel probably about 20 rooms. My friend booked it for us for a wedding we were attending nearby - he booked himself a slightly better room than mine. It is a little bit Fawlty Towers. This hotel should go on Hotel Inspector because they really could do with a hand. It's a very tired hotel and for £95 a night I think I expected more as it is in the country and not much around it.

Well the room was ok at best. The bed was really hard and the room really quite basic. The enamel on the bath had cracked away in certain places and there was no shower. There was a separate shower head which I held up to get a shower. Bring your own toiletries as well the hotel ones are very limited. The carpet was worn throughout. The staff though are very nice but they aren't professional, which is ok. Breakfast was a giggle; a big room with 4 tables in it and the service by a nice elder gentlemen was patchy. Can I have a coffee I asked him - yes he said its over there... I pressed espresso button and out of the coffee machine came a stone cold coffee. The breakfast quality was not so good and I couldn't really face asking for a different juice to the orange that was available at the self serve station. Fortunately it was only 1 night.

Room Tip: Get one with a proper shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Law135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

We are aware that some of our rooms are in need of some love and attention and we always try to book the best rooms for guests before placing them into the ones which are in need of attention.

We are confused as to why nothing was said at the time you had your breakfast regarding the coffee machine or selection of juices as we normally had a choice of these at every Breakfast sitting? Why people choose to wait to come onto Trip Advisor when the problem could have been resolved at the point of complaint is beyond us.

We do however take on board the things we can can change and look forward to welcoming you back to experience these changes.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Disappointing and over priced. The only saving grace was the restaurant food. The original 16th century reception and lounge area is very charming. I'm sure the bedrooms in this section are likewise. However the rest of the building from the dining area to the bedroom wing 18-22 is mock beams, bodged up lighting , tiny bathrooms, dirty tiles, soggy beds, poor wiring and broken shower screens. An opportunity missed. The breakfast could definitely be improved too. 4* evening dining, the rest, 4* it is not.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanBlunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Hi Ian

After reading your review we are slightly confused by what you refer to as bodged up lighting and soggy beds? We are re-vamping our bedrooms and always welcome constructive feedback to our staff at the point of departure but we unaware of any discomfort during your stay?

We put on as larger selection of breakfast options as we can so saying we could improve the breakfast leaves the comment slightly open ended. What would you like to see which we may currently not provide?

Thank you for leaving your review we will take what we can from it which we can improve and look forward to seeing you again should you be in the area to come and experience the changes we are due to make.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

the rooms are clean but small with bathrooms a little dated, the building is and full of character, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, we stayed for a wedding and the hotel was handy. the hotel owner even collected us from the wedding at the end of the evening. the gardens were pleasant to sit in in the summers days. breakfast was a good old english and tasty too, the hand cut chips with the sandwiches were magic. the bar was cosy and i can imagine the fire being amazing in the winter. the main problem was an unbearable heat in the rooms, even with the fan on it was too much. i know the fact it was 30degrees and id drank a bit whilst down there but it was still too hot. i did still enjoy my stay and visit and it was perfect for what we needed for the weekend.

Room Tip: one with a fan and natural breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aidyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Thanks for your response and we are glad you had a good stay unfortunately installing air conditioning into all the public areas and the rooms is very costly and not something which is on the cards at this point but we take your comments on board.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Okey where to start,so despite that on the reservation I made a clear note,that is't our anniversary ,no one noticed it,and did not prepare anything for us. Nevermind. When we got to the room the room was extremely dusty and dirty. Bathroom stink of urine! It was so bad at one point I nearly throw up.Bthroom tile cracked,I mean it looked awfoul! The was flies and bugs around the windows (dead!) .The bed was super uncorfortable,it was a zip beds joined together,and everytime you move everyone around in the other rooms can hear you! And you can clearly hear them! The breakfast was very very basic,and again there where dead flied lying everywere ,and everything was just very very unclean. I mean if you are not desperate don't stay there. There is zero customer service whatsoever. No one apreciates that you are staying with them,oh and also they lock the doors at around 11,and the owner is very very unhappy if you want to go anywhere at night time ,and they don't let you to go for cigarette! Funny is in it.. NOT!

Room Tip: Book a superior room,but i don't think that would help eather.. the hotel is dirty!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Laura

We are appalled your stay was not up to our regular standard of cleanliness. We are unsure as to why your room was unclean as all our staff check the rooms daily regardless of who is occupying them and if they are checking out or staying over. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding this. Our customer service has been reviewed since your stay and we can assure you that things have changed so if you ever come to Sussex again please accept an invitation to come and stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This might not be seen as a fair review but not being able to leave the hotel at 6.30 in the morning, when the hotel is so close to a major international airport does strike me as somewhat unusual. Myself and my colleague were actually going to the nearby Goodwood Festival of Speed and wanted to beat the traffic ....but we were literally locked in ! No sign of anyone at reception so we called for attention, rang the bell on the reception desk and finally went on a tour of the kitchens and bar, eventually finding the proprietor after 5 mins...we were just on the point of using a fire exit and potentially setting off the alarms !

Can't comment any further really - arrived at 10.30 the previous night and only had a couple of drinks then off to bed. Room was comfortable but a bit tired.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Simon

As we have no night staff on duty there is no one to physically let you out of the building but we give all guests who wish to leave the building the option to pay their bill the night before and show them the fire door they can leave early in the morning so you are certainly not locked in as you put in your review. Should you need to leave so early this is the option which was available to you.

Should any guests require this then they need to point this out at the point of arrival.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for one night and thought it could do with some attention here and there.i appreciate the building is very old which does give it character but my gripes were bath missing enamel,shower very weak and no good if above 4ft tall,bed to short for tall person and unfortunately food not great in restaurant. Staff thou very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Andrew

Thank you for your response our food is something which people constantly leave positive comments about and as we were unaware of your concerns at the time you were in the restaurant we were unable to do anything about it, had something been said at the time then this could have been resolved.

We take on board the issues with the bathroom and are already going through a period of change with the bedrooms as some do need attention with the age of the building.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I spent a night at Random Hall, chosen because I prefer small and friendly places. Not disappointed with my choice. A small, intimate hotel, with a nice bar and restaurant and very reasonably priced. A freshly cooked breakfast to start the day and friendly, helpful staff.
Despite being situated on a busy road there was no noticeable noise. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelEvansRH, Owner at Random Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2015

Rae

We are thrilled you had such a nice time in our 16th Century building and that you had a nice and relaxing time, apologies for taking such a long time to respond and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slinfold
7.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,654 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Billinghurst Five Oaks
6.9 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ghyll Manor Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel
3.9 mi away
Wimblehurst Hotel
Wimblehurst Hotel
#6 of 6 in Horsham
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Random Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Random Hall

Address: Stane Street, Slinfold RH13 0QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Slinfold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Slinfold
Price Range: £83 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Random Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Random Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Random Hall Slinfold, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing