We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plus what.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

On arrival plenty of smiley happy faces and the welcome you would expect of a Best Western Plus hotel but thats where the plus ended, dreadfully short on staff, when organising a conference timing is crucial and the lack of staff meant that lunch was late, water didnt get refreshed and an all round a dissapointing event........ the building does need a total refresh from its 70s appearance. Dinner was fine but the wait was numbing and the lack of staff yet again was why. Little details like no ink in the business centre printer summed the place up. The car park was not monitored and 15 minutes before our conference started a delivery van blocked the entrance and no one was available to sort it...........get some staff please !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlicanteJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed here by default as the Marriott was overbooked and they sent me here instead (Very angry with the Marriott!). However, my stay here was perfectly pleasant. I received a very nice warm greeting on arrival, the room was pleasant and all the staff friendly. I shall stay here again next time I attend a conference at the Motorcycle Museum, and not bother with the Marriott. My only criticism was the room service menu is very boring and basic. As they serve fantastic food in the restaurant it is a shame some of it cannot also be served in your room.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank w0bblylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Just returned from our second visit to the Manor Hotel in Meriden, just outside Coventry.
We again went on a HotelShop UK voucher and for just £79 for two, had dinner (with a glass of fizz), bed and breakfast in a superior room. The 3- course table d'hote dinner itself was £25 each alone so this was a real bargain break. Accomodation, food and service of this under-rated hotel were all faultless and will certainly return again. You just cannot get enough of a good thing, can you?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

a few weeks before the trip I called ahead to book a specific room. everything seemed fine and okay.

however when it came to the stay things were very different:

We spoke to the hotel staff and they said that the room wasn't an upgrade! but they failed to tell us this beforehand or even when we checked in!

We were charged for things that we shouldn't have been - so watch out as they charge you for things they advertise as complimentary!! the items are still advertised as complementary on their website!

We bought an item from the shop and then were unable to return it soon after when we realized that it wasn't required - only to find out that the hotel has a completely different interpretation of the UK returns law! This is actually completely wrong and i was mis-informed and ripped off.

but the worst part of the overall experience was the aftercare service - we tried to complain to customer service who took over 3 weeks to comeback with an initial response and only then after I had prompted them did they comeback after conducting what seems like a very poor investigation, they then provided me with multiple poor and weak responses.

best western needs to seriously look at how they handle fairly simple queries - the aftercare service needs a complete re-think and the staff in the contact center need better training.
f best western aftercare service can not enure that simple things such as customers are not being ripped off by its privately managed hotels during their stay
- then you have to seriously ask the question - what can you actually do? what are you even there for?

I just wanted my money back for items which i tried to return and money i was charged for items that have been billed as free! however the aftercare service said they couldn't help me with this.. pathetic!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_O_S_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Used this as a stopover between Southampton and Cockermouth in Cumbria. Not much to see or do locally, Meriden markets itself as the very centre of England but doesn't put too much effort in capitalising on this. Saying that it is a fairly pleasant town/village.
The hotel is very large (compared to others we've stayed in) but all the staff were pleasant and professional. The room was large and comfortable, we could have used this room as a base for a longer stay very easily. There was a wedding there on the day we stayed which got quite raucous but our room was away from all this so was very quiet. We did get woken up at about 20 to 4 in the morning by the phone ringing, on the 3rd occasion I took it off the hook. When we booked out we told the receptionist about it, I know that there was nothing could be done but if they're not told they can't do anything in the future. We were sure it was drunken halfwit from the wedding party having "a laugh"!
The bar is not to my liking, no real ale (not unusual in this type of place) but no decent bottled beer either, the only bitter on offer was keg Boddingtons.
We wouldn't go back there but it was okay for that one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was our second stay at the Manor, I could not fault it at all, the room was lovely and quiet, no doors banging in the night, reception was friendly and efficient and breakfast was hot and being replenished all the time. We did not eat dinner in the hotel as we discovered the Bull pub down the road during our last visit and decided to return. Transfers to and from the airport were quick and trouble free,all in all a great place to stay, we will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

went here for my anniversary with my partner..having previously stayed here wanted to come back! we booked on a dbb basis which was well woth the money paid only £99!! for both of us! food was lovely bar staff and restaurant staff very friendly! nice for a relaxed stay but very quite atmosphere! my only niggle was when we checked out they told us we had pre paid which was fine but it wasnt until over 10 days later that the money come out of the account ! apart from that wonderful stay and would return

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenna123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,782 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Manor Hotel

Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NH, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Manor Nec Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. We are excited to announce that our new Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, Bar & Grill is now open; and this stunning restaurant offers affordable glamour and a delicious menu of fresh seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing