We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gourmet break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I booked the one night Gourmet Break for my wife's birthday, I was surprised at the fairly low price of £89 for the night so was not expecting too much but thought we would give it a go. As it happens it was superb!!!! Fantastic value. Cream tea on arrival, a superb 3 course dinner with bubbly, very large and well furnished room, very quiet, great breakfast and friendly helpful staff. What more do you need? The food alone would cost far more on its own than the "offer" overall price and that is without the cost of the room. Really nice quiet place even though it is just five miles from an airport. Highly recommended and will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ImmigrantTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

974 - 980 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Looking for a hotel for a one night stay in this part of the world was proving difficult - the local premier inn was fully booked and most websites were offering high and low end accommodation, but nothing that struck me as a good deal. Then I came across this place. A standard room for £54, on an advance rate, plus £10 each for breakfast.

My one complaint for this hotel(and most other hotels to be fair) is the lack of eating times being displayed on websites, and not for the first time, we had to call to check whether it was worth booking a breakfast. My husband has early starts on a weekend, so for us, its very important to know whether we will take breakfast or not.

We checked in at 7pm on the Saturday night. There was an ample care park (free), and a covered walkway from the rear car park into the hotel. We checked in, and headed for our room. The room was excellent for standard facilities. There was plenty of wardrobe space (and hangers), 2 desks areas and TV. The bed was large and comfy.

We ate in the bar. The menu was extensive enough for the bar area. The food portions were generous and filling. The bar stocked a full range of spirits. Service was both efficient and friendly.
After a good nights sleep (there were 2 weedings on, and one was in the restaurant on the floor beneath our room, but was not disturbing), we headed for breakfast. The breakfast menu was extensive. As we were first into the restaurant, all of the food was piping hot.

I would definitely consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I booked a "gourmet" break at this hotel this weekend and what an inspired choice it turned out to be!!...although in close proximity to both Birmingham and Coventry and airports it is an absolute haven of peace and quiet,situated in the peaceful and friendly village of Meriden. and thats just for "starters"...The actual hotel was as good, if not better than its claims!... Both visually, from the outside,... to the fantastic decor throughout the interior...from reception to the "Regency" dining room and into our "superior" room. Our room had all we could need ..and more! the meal was absolutely fantastic....never being one for "minimal art" on a plate (preferring tried and tested and plenty of it!) I am converted!! The staff at every level were helpful efficient and very friendly ..to the point where we felt like "Lord and Lady at the Manor" ....(for one night then back to commoners !!!)...and in closing I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a bit of luxury, peace and quiet, value for money and be treated like royalty by staff who know and take pride in their roles!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed at the Manor hotel in July for a convention in Ricoh Arena. Absolutely loved the stay. Very beautiful, and the room had everything you could ask for in a 4 star hotel.
At check in asked if a packed lunch could be arranged for the following day,and even though it was late in the evening, they very happily arranged it for me to be picked up at 7 am the next morning. Peaceful environment, but be prepared for wedding parties at weekends. It didn't disturb me though,only added to the romantic setting. Bus stop just down the road with buses both to Birmingham and Coventry which made it convenient as I didn't have a car. I will definitely book this hotel again when I go to B'ham or Coventry

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NInna69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Me & my husband booked this hotel for our wedding. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the staff were all helpful. Oliver and the team ensured the day ran smoothly and the food was superb both the wedding breakfast & evening reception. Location is excellent close to all main routes. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a wedding, and many thanks to Louise our wedding coordinator for arranging everything :-) Mr & Mrs B

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaTaLiEa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

great time had by all at our sons wedding
most of our guests stayed over night
only one or two things not quite right but a word with Roy the customer service mang. and it was dealt with immediately without any fuss
food is excellent with 100 guests sitting down for dinner & 250 party guests on the night
everyone going to bed late but happy
everyone had only positive remarks
reception staff a little 'iffy' and not helpful with some of our guests
breakfast was excellent with lots of black coffee the following morning
only some rooms with comfort cooling air cond

Room Tip: only some rooms with comfort cooling air cond. so ask when booking, low number rooms better don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Impressive building nice gardens and ample parking, well equipped bedroom and nice size bathroom, the bar was a pleasant place to eat and the food was quite good, breakfast in the huge dining room was buffet style with plenty choice, all in all an ok spot in the centre of england.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecosse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
692 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Manor Hotel

Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NH, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Manor Nec Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: £50 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. We are excited to announce that our new Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, Bar & Grill is now open; and this stunning restaurant offers affordable glamour and a delicious menu of fresh seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing