We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Best Western, Manor Hotel, prior to visiting the NEC Birmingham, Grand Designs Live.

We stayed on a Gourmet Break, which seemed excellent value at £89 (£99 as I paid £10 to upgrade to an Executive Room)

The Hotel is really pretty from the outside with plenty of parking both at the front and the back.

We arrived about 3.30pm had a smooth check in and went to the room. The hotel was clean and the reception staff extremely friendly. The room was quite large, with French windows opening onto a little Juliet balcony overlooking the inner courtyard.

Cleanliness was exceptional although we were surprised to find a four poster bed. The bed itself was extremely soft.

We had "afternoon tea" included, which actually consisted of a scone, cream and jam and a pot of tea.

Dinner was really nice, with a good choice, with extremely nice staff. We decided to have coffee, but unfortunately this had to be returned twice, it was awful and was apparently made in an urn - it tasted awful.

Breakfast was nice and efficient, with fresh fruit and cereals followed by a vast array of tasty goods.

Thank goodness the coffee was better at breakfast.

The hotel was literally 10 mins from the NEC and we will gladly stay there again, as the Gourmet break was an absolutely bargain.

Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynndy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is overall.OK for a few nights but it has few issues which I find put me off.
The food is good, breakfast is better than average, unless you get there at 630 and need to have a quick start. They don't do quick starts as the staff, who are polite and nice, amble in at 640 and walk in and out of the kitchen without getting much done.
The facilities are all clean if a little basic, the Princess Wing is the better location as the rooms there are better. I noticed some refurbishment going on when I last stayed and may be some of the older rooms are being refitted.
With the NEC close by all hotels in this area are busy and when there is large exhibition on rooms are scarce. For one , two nights is hotel is OK but any more and it needs a gym/pool and something more to make it attractive.

Room Tip: Princess Wing, passed the lobby bar and restaurant, for better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We thought this was an outstanding hotel. From the moment we arrived and saw the huge car park was full, our hearts fell but reception was effortless and charming and we were shown to a very spacious and well equipped room with LARGE flat screen TV with Sky Sports channels. We entered the large dining room to be greeted by a very professional Restaurant Manager, Laurent Maresse, and his charming staff. Dinner was extremely good as too was breakfast - pit they can't cook CRISPY bacon but that apart it was a really excellent overnight stay at a very reasonable rate with Great Little Hotels Luxury Gourmet Dining Break. If you get a chance to book this in future - grab it !!

Room Tip: We had Room 306 which has no view but is modern and with excellent facilities such as the very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miloj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

reserved a table to find it was given to some one else...poor selection with menu ( hudson bar )
far to bright in there ended up sitting next to 4 blokes...lacks some thing...food was good...but wont be going there again !!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank happygirl1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here overnight before flying to Austria on the 1/9. The hotel itself is very good. You just park your car behind the hotel and book in. The taxi service works just fine (although just a little stressful trying to find the taxi on the way back). The room is clean and the staff pleasant and polite. The food in the Regency restaurant is excellent. There is also a very good pub about 10 minutes walk into the village. A lot of the negative reviews around this hotel centre around wedding parties. We stayed here on a Friday and there was no wedding so should have been very quiet ....but the walls are very thin and we had the family from hell in the room next door. Adults shouting at each other, kids screaming, furniture being banged on the floor and walls. This was at 1.45am (we had to leave at 3.30!!). In 40 years of travelling this is the only time I have had to complain to reception about this kind of behaviour. Maybe if the family concerned can recognise themselves from this review they could be a little considerate of other people next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kemyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night as a group on business. Nice hotel, quick friendly check in, relaxed atmosphere. Decent size room, clean tidy and welcoming. Nice hotel and well placed for visiting the NEC. Good links to major roads and motorways.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuknowwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for two nights whilst up for a concert at the N E C.. When we first arrived we saw that there were two weddings going on that day(Saturday) so had a word with receptionist to make sure our room was well away from noise, music etc. She was very understanding and kind and moved us to room 136. We never heard a thing! The hotel itself is very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. First time at a Best Western but it won't be our last.Could not fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Gerdi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,781 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Manor Hotel

Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NH, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Manor Nec Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: £53 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. We are excited to announce that our new Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, Bar & Grill is now open; and this stunning restaurant offers affordable glamour and a delicious menu of fresh seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing