We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never accept room 302”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never accept room 302”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and enjoyed it. On this occasion I was given room 302. At the end of a corridor, this was the most cramped, dark, and noisy room I've ever seen. (And I spend a lot of time in hotels). The bed was less than full size, with zero floor area around it. I phoned reception and said this was far worse than rooms I'd had previously. After 10 minutes I was moved to a different room which was at least 50% bigger, with a King sized bed, settee and plenty of floor space.

When my colleague checked in the next day... Yes, he was given room 302. Having spoken to me earlier, he declined it, and was given a "proper" room.

If you have good rooms available, Manor Hotel, why insult your guests by giving them a grotty, cramped, cupboard?

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and your comments regarding room 302. I am sorry that you felt that this was not appropriate for your stay. The hotel has a varying degree of rooms in design, style and size. Due to the varying nature of these rooms some of our customers may request to be reallocated which we are happy to accommodate depending on business levels, and I am pleased that we were able to relocate you to one of our Executive rooms on this occasion.

I will share your feedback with our Reservations team, to ensure you are not allocated this room in the future.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    436
    209
    76
    52
See reviews for
169
560
29
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here the night before visiting Crufts, with one of our dogs in tow - quite a few people were doing the same. The hotel is quite smart, all the staff were friendly and the room was comfortable with good free wi-fi and a huge TV, the only downside being a shower curtain rather than a screen. Although the hotel was hosting a wedding, the inevitable disco was at the opposite end of the hotel from the bedrooms so I was only aware of it when taking the dog out last thing.

The hotel allows dogs in the rooms (for a fee) and phoned us before our arrival to ask if we needed a dog bed. There is convenient access to the rear car park without having to walk right through to reception. Unfortunately, even though there is a restaurant and separate bar/grill, there is no area set aside for dogs, nor do either of the two pubs in Meriden allow dogs. So if you don't want to leave your dog barking in your room (like the inconsiderate people in the room opposite us) you will have to rely on room service.

We did just that - therer is a reasonable selection including wine by the glass. The food arrived fairly quickly - my Shrimp Creole was very tasty without being too spicy and there were plenty of shrimps (or what we would call large prawns), my wife's burger was a bit dry and overcooked.

There are some nice walks nearby - turn left out of the hotel, walk down to the Queens Arms and take the path up the bank opposite and you will end up at the church, with an attractive churchyard with views over the village. In the morning we were parked up at the NEC within 15 minutes of leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at the hotel during Crufts. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of the nearby walks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for Crufts 2015.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Super staff, great comfort and you will find it hard to beat. I have stayed more than 4 times now and to test the quality of Chef just ask at breakfast for 2 soft boiled eggs, they arrive in good time perfectly cooked, not hard. I stayed recently in Bristol at a different hotel and had to order three time (6 Eggs) in total to get 2 that were soft boiled. Food always good at Best Western PLUS Manor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the great comfort of our bedrooms, breakfast and the staff that also made your stay an enjoyable one.

When planning your next trip to the hotel, you can contact our reservations team on 01676 522735 for the best available rates

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Enjoyable breakfast. Cumberland sausage and top quality bacon. Even the bread for toasting was of a higher quality than many hotels use. And the staff know that butter is not supposed to be frozen solid (a common bugbear of mine). A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to read of your great experience, I will of course share your positive comments with our Restaurant manager and Head chef.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed at the Manor as we were attending a Black Tie dinner at the Birmingham Metropole and they had no available accomodation. The Taxi takes just 10 mins and the taxis both ways and the accomodation worked out less than spending the evening at the Metropole.

Breakfast is excellent and included and the service was very good.
i would recommend a stay here if you want the NEC, Airport or NEC Hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWF1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will think of us again when next visiting the area.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night prior to flying from Birmingham airport.
Our room was fine. The bed was comfortable enabling a good nights sleep.
We had a meal in the restaurant and thought it was worth booking the three course meal.
Food was hot and enjoyable. A good start to our holiday.
Car parking was at the hotel and the provided taxi transfer was prompt and efficient at the start and end of our holiday.
We would certainly use the hotel again when flying from Birminham.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a great start to your holiday with us, particularly your bedroom and meal in our Regency Restaurant.

Should you be flying from Birmingham airport again in the future, please contact us direct for the best available park and fly rates.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NH, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Manor Nec Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. Delicious dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing