We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel but the walls are not soundproofed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but the walls are not soundproofed!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've stayed here several time in business in the past. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Reception are helpful and the food is pretty good. Last week though felt like a different experience thanks to the people in room 411 next to mine in 17th March. Either the walls are seriously lacking soundproofing between these particular rooms, or the occupants were particularly noisy; I was kept awake until beyond midnight by loud are tying and swearing! to the point that the words being exchanged were audible rather than just general noise. Disappointing when I have had good experiences at this hotel in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Manor Hotel once again. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotels comforts along with dinner and breakfast, however I am sorry to read of your sleepless night with us. I will ensure your feedback is shared with the relevant departments and an alternative room is allocated for you, for any future stays you have with us.

If I can be any further assistance then please do not hesitate to contact me at arron.wincott@manorhotelmeriden.co.uk

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    437
    209
    76
    52
See reviews for
169
562
29
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Good location barely ten minutes from the motorway. We had booked an overnight stay and 15 nights parking at a very competitive rate, and flew from Birmingham early next morning. Room and dinner were fine, though no more than half-a-dozen people were eating in the huge restaurant, so no atmosphere. Taxi was waiting for us as requested very early in the morning, and met us at the airport on our return within about ten minutes of our 'phone call from the airport - excellent service. That evening we went to eat at The Bull's Head, just down the road, before driving home, and had a delicious meal. The pub was extremely busy considering it was a Monday evening, but I have since discovered it is well-known to users of the NEC! We plan to stay at The Manor Hotel next time we fly from Birmingham (our preferred airport).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pazzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. I am delighted to read that you had a great start to your holiday with us.

When next flying from Birmingham airport, please contact us direct for the best available park and fly rates.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel when going to events at the LG Arena. It is only a few minutes away and the hotel is comfortable, and staff very friendly. Had a double and a family room and the rates were very competitive, breakfast was extremely good and dinner the night before was excellent. Would definitely go back when visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing The Manor Hotel once again whilst visiting the LG Arena. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotels comforts along with dinner and breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when attending another event at the LG Arena.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perrott, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at hotel as we were visiting the caravan and camping show at the NEC ,great place to stay ,the staff were welcoming and friendly ,we ate in the restaurant which was good and very reasonably priced .breakfast was fantastic lots of choice . Would lived to have stayed longer and would go back again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. As the preferred hotel of the NEC I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to welcoming you again when next visiting the area.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A recent school trip to the NEC (10 minute drive away) resulted in 2 teachers and 5 students staying here. The staff were warm and inviting and incredibly helpful. The rooms were wonderful and the building itself is lovely. Lots of parking (helpful when driving a huge minibus) and the breakfast was absolutely delicious - great variety for the fussiest of eaters! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, making particular reference to the team, your bedrooms and breakfast.

When next visiting the NEC, please contact our Reservations team direct on 01676 522735 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times and enjoyed it. On this occasion I was given room 302. At the end of a corridor, this was the most cramped, dark, and noisy room I've ever seen. (And I spend a lot of time in hotels). The bed was less than full size, with zero floor area around it. I phoned reception and said this was far worse than rooms I'd had previously. After 10 minutes I was moved to a different room which was at least 50% bigger, with a King sized bed, settee and plenty of floor space.

When my colleague checked in the next day... Yes, he was given room 302. Having spoken to me earlier, he declined it, and was given a "proper" room.

If you have good rooms available, Manor Hotel, why insult your guests by giving them a grotty, cramped, cupboard?

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and your comments regarding room 302. I am sorry that you felt that this was not appropriate for your stay. The hotel has a varying degree of rooms in design, style and size. Due to the varying nature of these rooms some of our customers may request to be reallocated which we are happy to accommodate depending on business levels, and I am pleased that we were able to relocate you to one of our Executive rooms on this occasion.

I will share your feedback with our Reservations team, to ensure you are not allocated this room in the future.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here the night before visiting Crufts, with one of our dogs in tow - quite a few people were doing the same. The hotel is quite smart, all the staff were friendly and the room was comfortable with good free wi-fi and a huge TV, the only downside being a shower curtain rather than a screen. Although the hotel was hosting a wedding, the inevitable disco was at the opposite end of the hotel from the bedrooms so I was only aware of it when taking the dog out last thing.

The hotel allows dogs in the rooms (for a fee) and phoned us before our arrival to ask if we needed a dog bed. There is convenient access to the rear car park without having to walk right through to reception. Unfortunately, even though there is a restaurant and separate bar/grill, there is no area set aside for dogs, nor do either of the two pubs in Meriden allow dogs. So if you don't want to leave your dog barking in your room (like the inconsiderate people in the room opposite us) you will have to rely on room service.

We did just that - therer is a reasonable selection including wine by the glass. The food arrived fairly quickly - my Shrimp Creole was very tasty without being too spicy and there were plenty of shrimps (or what we would call large prawns), my wife's burger was a bit dry and overcooked.

There are some nice walks nearby - turn left out of the hotel, walk down to the Queens Arms and take the path up the bank opposite and you will end up at the church, with an attractive churchyard with views over the village. In the morning we were parked up at the NEC within 15 minutes of leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at the hotel during Crufts. I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of the nearby walks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for Crufts 2015.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NH, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Manor Nec Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. Delicious dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing