We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here fir one night on business, checked in okay, then started a series of three room changes, 1st I asked because they put me in the room at the back of beyond in fact the furthest away room they had, now some people like that but I don't like having to walk through the entire hotel on my own at night. Second room was dark and roasting hot, I opened the window which was locked at about a two inch gap, found the towel heater was on full blast, went to turn it off but couldn't so called reception, 25 mins later got a call to say they can't turn them off and would need to move me, moved again, this time great light room, two windows that opened fully and aircon, finally sorted. Dinner in the bar was pretty awful, plates and cutlery were dirty, wine selection was beyond poor and they bought the bottle over already opened so luck for them it was the right one, glass full of cork shows the person who opened it didn't know how. Pillows were hollow fibre and thin, everything else was just okay nothing special or outstanding, breakfast was okay. Would I stay here again? No thanks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel; I was sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your visit and that certain aspects of your stay did not meet with your expectations. All of your comments have been discussed with the appropriate team members of the hotel. I believe that it is only through customer interaction and feedback that we can truly improve the service and offering that we have available, and therefore your comments are an invaluable element to the continued success of the hotel.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    433
    206
    75
    51
See reviews for
168
552
29
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

• Upon arrival on reception, we were not very welcomed or greeted. Rushed through the checking in process. We could not understand the receptionist as she was so quick! I had to ask her to repeat a number of things.
• We went to the bar and ordered some drinks, once again to not a very friendly bar lady, I asked for a packet of peanuts, none were on sale, only packets of crisps for £1 each!
• We then went to sit outside. After a while, a young man came out to have a chat and I asked him about a bowl of peanuts to accompany our drinks. He said he would ask the manager and went away, never to return.
• I then saw the manager and called him over, asking him for a bowl of peanuts, not much for a supposedly 4* hotel! He answered quite abruptly, we don’t have any peanuts at all. I replied, this really is not very customer friendly. He then replied, feel free to put in a complaint by all means and I said I would!
• Sometime later, he came back with a bowl of peanuts, saying he had been to the shop to buy them, which of course was a lie! We never felt so patronised and insulted. You would think we asked for a free case of champagne! He needs to either go on a customer service course or get a new job!
• We had booked dinner in the restaurant, however, we cancelled it following this and went to the local pub, where the menu was far more interesting and the staff more welcoming.

• Went down to breakfast.
• No glasses for juice, no bowls for cereal, no butter and no jam on the table.
General Comments
• Generally the staff were miserable, unfriendly and unhelpful. The atmosphere was very heavy, claustrophobic and unpleasant.
• No air conditioning in the room for a 4* is somewhat surprising.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us.
I am disappointed to read of your experience as we always wish our guests to have a great and relaxing stay with us. May I take this time to apologise once again on behalf of the hotel for the issues you encountered. All of your comments have been discussed with the appropriate team members, where by your feedback has been taken on board.

If I can be of any further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me at arron.wincott@manorhotelmeriden.co.uk

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived back home yesterday after staying the night at The Best Western Plus Manor House Meriden and oh what a shame it was only for one night.

We had booked a short break, Dinner, bed and Breakfast, through Cooperative Travel for the two of us and two friends as part of a Warwick Castle Break and whilst the castle was great just staying at the hotel was a real break for us all.

The rooms we had were spotless, Dinner was great and so was the breakfast.
The staff were so professional, polite and helpful and that is something for some of the UK hotels we have stayed at previously.

The down side was that the car park was very busy but to tell you that we did't really notice an exceptionally large amount of customers in the hotel says a lot for the general organisation.

As for Cooperative Travel they must have a mention as Krisi from the Shrewsbury office was so helpful.

Well Done and Thank You Everyone

Room Tip: We didn't have any complaints about our rooms at all but cannot comment on others. There is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly your bedroom, evening meal and the staff at the hotel.

Should you wish to visit us again in the future, you can also contact our reservations team on 01676 522735.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a "Holidays Extras" package. We were flying from Birmingham at 0700 hours on the 29/05/2014. We thought we would get the holiday off to a relaxing start by booking a park and fly deal at this hotel. It included 15 days parking, one nights B&B, return taxi transport to the airport plus we had booked a table for dinner at 1800 hours on the 28th having selected from their menu available on their website. This was all with the intention of having a quiet evening and an early night before having to rise at 0400 hours the following morning to travel the short journey to the airport.
We arrived at the hotel at mid-afternoon on the 28th. We hauled our luggage into reception and we were asked to take a seat. A young lady appeared, she apologised profusely and said there had been an error and that there had been an overbooking of parking allocation for the park and fly deal. We explained that we had already found a parking space in their car park. She was adamant there had been an overbooking and said she had booked us into another Best Western Hotel just down the road, The Windmill Village. She said all the rest of the booking would be honoured.
Somewhat annoyed we set off for the other hotel. It turned out to be approximately five miles down the road. On checking in there we were told their restaurant did not open until 2000 hours, We looked at their menu, it was entirely different to the Meriden Manor. The receptionist stated we could eat in the bar at 1800 hours. In view of our inconvenience my wife asked for a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal. After telephoning the other hotel they agreed although the barman was not aware of it when we ordered our meal and he had to double check.
To top it all we did not get a winks sleep because the room was so hot although the radiators were not on. They also tried to charge us for the wine when we checked out the following morning. On the flight back from our holiday we discovered there was another couple who had suffered a similar plight to us and they stated there was a bus load arriving at the Meriden Hotel as they were relocating.
After our experience I would not recommend this hotel or the one we eventually stayed at both Best Western Hotels.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

May I sincerely apologise once again for your experience with us, and also for your experience at our sister hotel.

For your information, as a direct result of receiving your feedback, procedures have been implemented to ensure the shortcomings you unfortunately experienced, are not allowed to occur again in the future.

If I can be of any further assistance then please do not hesitate to contact me at arron.wincott@manorhotelmeriden.co.uk

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside England
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Given how much we paid we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the service and food we received at this hotel. From the afternoon tea to dinner and breakfast we had no complaints and the staff were very helpful. The room was modern and clean and was all we could ask for.

Great overnight stay for the NEC which is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will think of us again when next visiting the area.

Should you wish to visit us again in the future, you can also contact our reservations team on 01676 522735.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Mum & I stayed here on a deal which for £109 included 3 course dinner bed & breakfast & tickets to nearby Warwick castle. Upon arriving it's impossible not to be impressed with the exterior of the hotel & its' gardens. The receptionist was welcoming & we were afforded a twin ground floor room as requested. The room was large, comfortable & decorated to a high standard, as was the ensuite bathroom, with black out curtains. My only criticisms of the room were there was only one easy chair & no mini bar. Evening dinner was in the grill room, which had a good atmosphere, not fine dining, but pleasant & friendly ambience. The choices from the menu included in our 'deal' were limiting, though we found enough to choose from. I had nacho's to start which were delicious, mum had a spicy tomato soup which she said was tasty. I went on to have sea bass, which was superb, mum had the best gammon steak she said she had ever had in her own words ' you cut through it like bread it's that tender'. Plenty of accompaniments with them mains made it a filling meal, so after a 30 minute 'rest' we had desserts. I had a lemon torte which was outstanding & mum ice cream. The wine as to be expected in a hotel is pricey £20 upwards a bottle, but a good selection. We went on to have brandy & whisky in the bar where again there was a good choice & the barman was charming. The breakfast is served in the a la carte restaurant which is very pleasant, on a buffet style basis. As is regrettably with buffets the food simply does not stay warm. So although tremendous choice, it was practically cold so unenjoyable. In summary given the Warwick tickets would have cost £48 & dinner £40 approx. the deal represented excellent value at £109 & we would return, though probably have freshly cooked eggs on toast next time for breakfast !

Room Tip: Ask for an extra chair
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocca94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you to the Manor hotel during your recent stay. Thank you for all your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Please do keep an eye out on our website for all of our most up to date room rates, packages and special offers.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed Friday evening on a Wowcher deal. Hotel reception nice and friendly but had somehow mislaid our booking details even though I had booked in April, however they said no problem and offered us an executive room with four poster bed. The room was a good size, very clean, modern and quiet, the only drawback was that it was very warm on Friday and consequently the room was too warm for sleeping as it had no air conditioning.
The breakfast dining room (which was the main restaurant) was lovely and big and the quality of the buffet breakfast on the Saturday morning was fantastic.
An enjoyable stay and we would certainly stay again although I would request an air conditioned room if I knew the weather was going to be warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arron W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, I will also pass on your feedback to the team as they will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Arron Wincott
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Address: 127 Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Manor NEC Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb 4 Star Hotel, situated at the very Heart of England in the beautiful village of Meriden.Ideally located for The National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham, Coventry, Warwick and Stratford. Delicious dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Coventry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing