We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awful place to stay....avoid if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I have just returned from a short stay here. It was dreadful. The whole hotel is dated - fake flowers everywhere! The rooms are very basic and again dated - to be honest it was quite cold as well. I had a room that overlooked the carpark, on the ground floor - I was therefore unable to open the window at night. The walls are paper thin - you can hear everything - not great, especially when guests return in the early hours of the morning. The bathroom is even worse - very basic - wouldn't want to have a bath. The restaurant and bar have no atmosphere and again the decor leaves a lot to be desired. The food in the restaurant was however, very tasty. The breakfast was a complete disappointment. The danish pastrys/croissants were stale and the cooked breakfast was undercooked and soggy. Don't even bother with the coffee. All in all, and overpriced place to stay - avoid if you can!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2010

Very tacky, dated decor in bedrooms. Bathrooms even worse, like something a local authority provide in their older housing stock.

This is the worst part - its a VERY noisy hotel. The walls are paper thin. You will hear every clank and bang from everywhere as the noise rattles through the place -ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT. So forget any idea that you will get a good nights sleep.

Very over-rated and over-priced. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Booked the hotel located in the village of the Meridan to be near to the NEC (5 minutes drive). The bedroom is OK, reburbished. Bathroom outdated. No SKY or free internet which for a below average hotel is not going to attract customers. The main let down was the restuarant and bar area. Drinks were way overpriced. The restaurant is a bit like a mausoleum. No atmosphere. Menu is reasonably priced although lacking in imagination. I took one look and walked across the road to the wonderful Bull's Head pub. The most fabulous game pie and glass of wine for 12. Good value. Brilliant gastro pub menu. Free Wifi. Rooms available in the stable area. Next time, I will stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40degreesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We were amazed to read the previous review and wondered if it was genuine?
We came to Meriden to attend our friends' Ruby Wedding celebration last night.
We booked three rooms at the Strawberry Bank. We arrived early and were greeted by a very helpful receptionist and shown our rooms which were immaculate. The receptionist made sure that our rooms were warm enough and made us a cup of coffee in the lounge area overlooking an attractive garden.
The hotel was very peaceful, our beds very comfortable, and we did not hear any noise from the next rooms.
We enjoyed a tasty full English breakfast this morning and checked out without experiencing any problems during our visit.
We would not hesitate to stay there again in future!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

A cataologue of complaints. The staff were superb(what staff there was). 50 charachters is not ernough.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhybotherBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

we booked this hotel and decided to look up some reviews about it, and after reading the reviews on this site we worried that we had booked the wrong place.
we couldn't have been more wrong! the room was lovely and the staff were extremely helpful.
we dined in the restraurant in the evening, we had 2 main courses for under £12 which were lovely and we havent been anywhere else where we have had food like this at such a great price.
i don't know what some people complain about, although i did notice that the other reviews were at least a year old, maybe things have changed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marv8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

Everything looked promising until we walked down the corridor to our room and the first thing to hit us was the smell of someones fish and chips that they were eating in their room.

Then we saw the room......instructions everywhere, kept us reading in case we should go near the bed. And when we did!! I would have thrown it out years ago!! The mattress was so old and worn the springs could be felt through the sheets and blankets, I was not looking forward to peeling them back and lying down!! Thankfully the bar was open late and I was numb going to bed.

The one good point was the breakfast, top marks it really hit the spot, that's the only reason this over priced uncomfortable hotel gets a 2 out of 5.

Other than that keep away..........

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Just-ravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
8.5 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Marriott Forest of Arden Hotel & Country Club
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
696 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 72 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: £49 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing