We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier League Prices, First Division Food”
Review of Forest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Reviewed 1 March 2014

An established reputation with pleasant staff but, perhaps, not quite enough to cope with the wedding reception and a restaurant. My assumption is the wedding got priority. A half empty restaurant is an opportunity to get return customers by sitting them at the better tables rather than packing them into the easy to wait on areas by the main caterinhg access.
Limited menu but some interesting options. Service a little erratic ...see wedding comment....but pleasant enough. Wine list well priced if a little limited with few of the new world wines by comparison to most establishments....no Argentinian Malbec? Few S African offerings.....really?
5 steaks..2 medium 3 well done..quick tip ,start with the well done and don't hold the mediums until the well done are complete - They get a little cold. £23 for a sirloin of moderate size needs to be matched by the quality of both the meat and the cooking. A miss I am afraid. The dessert was however sensational. As were all of those selected. They clearly outclassed the main course. Overall a pleasant if rather overpriced meal with moderate service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Although the bar area was very very busy and noisy (understandably being the best pub around) the restaurant was a haven of peace. The menu was varied and extensive, the wine list more than adequate and the service spot on. A perfect night, and all at a reasonable price with no hurry to throw us out .(even though it got after midnight). Scallops, lamb and some nice wine... perfect meal in excellent company

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review, when customers take the time to write about an enjoyable visit it makes it all worthwhile and puts a smile on our faces. Looking forward to seeing you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is our third visit to the hotel and the restaurant and Management have seemed to have ironed out the very minor issues which we slightly grumbled about on previous visits, which were intended more as constructive criticism, as we are fans of this hotel.
This is a great location for the NEC, a mere 15 minutes by car at peak periods, in heavy traffic. We paid £91 for a twin room, including continental breakfast which is excellent value. The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are cosy and stylishly decorated. Plenty of parking in the large car park. Despite being immediately opposite the station, trains do not cause a disturbance, but coaches/buses in morning sitting outside are more of an issue, albeit a minor one. We were unlucky that the morning we stayed coincided with the delivery of beer from the local brewery and we were awoken to the rumble of barrels being transferred to the cellars via the hatch immediately beneath our room. If you are a light sleeper avoid room 8. We weren't too bothered as we had to get up and get to a meeting, but might have resented it if we had hoped for a lie in.
Breakfast is a continental buffet - fruit, yoghurt with compote, cereals, cheese, ham, croissants, pastries, juices, etc. Toast and tea/coffee were served promptly by our charming waitress. Absolutely perfect. Cooked breakfast is now offered after 9am, which is an improvement as on previous visits this was not available at all.
The quality of the food served at dinner is first class. An imaginative menu, cooked to perfection, good wine list. Attentive but unobtrusive service.
We will definitely be returning next year.
If you are thinking of booking - don't hesitate, you won't find better at this price in this area, and treat yourself to dinner in the restaurant - you definitely won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which is directly above the cellar entrance (see review). If you are a light sleeper t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, I am happy that you enjoyed your meal and evenings stay with and look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

From the outside the hotel looks rather...tasteless, luckily that drabness does not reflect behind the doors. It's clean, modern, warm and friendly.

8 of us, including 2 unruly children, ate in the restaurant. Service was unhurried (not a complaint, just an observation), and attentive.

Mains were all pretty good - meaty, hearty and well presented. But the joy of the lunch were the puddings. I had the tarte tartin which made me go weak at the knees - it's was outrageously good. Great home made ice creams too.

Wines from £16, good beers too.

A big thumbs up from me.
Go!

M

Stayed: January 2014
Thank lulujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is great that you had such a good experience with your family here. I am glad that you found The Forest relaxing with your children and that the puddings were a' wow'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I'm going to be generous and rate this average as some of my disappointment was that I just didn't enjoy it. When we booked we looked online for the menu and a we clicked on the banner at the top of the home page we got a nice menu that turned out to be last years. There were other links that took you to a different menu for this year and it do not seem anything like as good. We only discovered this on the day when checking the menu. The starter was a langoustine and 2 scallops and was cold and minuscule. Next course was duck rillette style terrine. It was very average and the overbearing taste was Chinese 5 spice. The staff vanished in between courses and I had to get my own drinks from the bar. Mains was a slice of what looked like a fillet log. It was described a rib of beef. No way on earth. This had no fat and was clearly fillet and whilst tender was tasteless.

Dessert was ridiculously over large and whilst nice, not people didn't eat it. The highlight of the night was a cheese selection that looked like they'd cleared the fridges. I've never seen such selection and amount. It was very good. We almost missed NY drinks due to no staff but managed to get some Prosecco as one of our party was recognised by a passing waitress. My glass was all water as the bottle slipped under the level of the ice bucket as it was full of cold water not just ice.

We joined the disco and masked ball. It was too loud and not very festive so we left.

All in not good enough but at £70 a head not the dearest NYE do but I'd rather pay more for something better and will in future.

Must do better and I'm sure they can given other reviews on here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your New Years Eve visit as we have had fantastic feed back about the evening. Scallop dishes are rarely really hot as the scallop would be overcooked and the Scottish langostines looked fantastic and impressive when they were delivered fresh that morning.
I can assure you that you were served rib of beef, I am not going to describe something and serve a different cut, my reputation is at stake and trust is very important to me. You were served the eye of a 28 day dry aged piece of Aubrey Allen's rib of beef, I cannot explain why it was tasteless, in your opinion, as Aubrey Allen is the best beef supplier locally and has just been awarded a royal warrant.

My manager and staffs report of the other issues do not concur with your version of events but at the end of it all I am so disappointed that you were not impressed by our Gourmet dinner .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After having a fantastic wedding at the Forest hotel in October 13 we could not wait to return to the Hotel for the New Years Eve Gala and a stay over. As expected we were delighted from the beginning to the end of our stay.
The Olive room was beautifully decorated and the evening exceeded our expectations both in the quality and quantity of food ( my husband had 2 meals) and the entertainment provided by the DJ in the evening.
Our room was great and we ended our stay with a full English breakfast the following morning which was delicious.
I have visited the Forest on many occasions over the past year or so and have always found the management and staff at the hotel extremely helpful and have always done everything they could to meet any requests we have made.
Both the food in the restaurant and the bar area is excellent and everyone I have visited the Forest with, have always too found the quality of the food and ambiance of the hotel lovely.
We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We loved doing your wedding here and am really glad that you enjoyed your first New Year's Eve here as a married couple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Arrived in January to find no heating in our room and bathroom. After a long wait to find any staff we were informed that the heat was not on yet and an electric heater would be found. The bathroom would still be cold. The service at breakfast was worse than Faulty Towers, no menu for cooked breakfast and orders taken after half hour wait. No spoons to eat cereal and great difficulty obtaining any toast , marmalade was like gold dust! What a shame because when the food did arrive it was good. Poor staffing and bad management.

Room Tip: Check heating is on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
1.1 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
863 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
2.5 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
12.6 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,238 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Address: 25 Station Approach, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range: £113 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Forest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 bedroomed privately owned boutique hotel with a restaurant listed in Good Food Guide and Michelin serving modern european food in relaxed surroundings. Buzzy bar with an interesting wine list and 3 real ales. Great position for NEC and Birmingham International Airport, opposite Dorridge station with direct links to London Marylebone and Birmingham Moor Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Forest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing