We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forest Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hogarths Hotel(Dorridge)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Oak Hotel(Hockley Heath)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
81
47
23
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
47
23
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfor sunday lunchfantastic weddingboutique hotelbirthday partygolf societycooked to perfectionvery comfortable roomfamily get togetherlast saturdaystayed two nightsstaff were attentivelovely mealnice stayfollowing morningplenty of parkingmember of staffbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Big thank you to all the staff who helped our Shirley's 41 club ladies night...Gill..Neal and all his

lovely staff..the young man behind the bar was a " star " and the serving staff was amazing too..

the food was to die for the beef mmmmmmmmm we all loved it...nothing was too much...

Big Thanks you guys....Jayne xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Wow what a brilliant review, so pleased that you had such a fantastic night, I have passed your comments on to the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

An established reputation with pleasant staff but, perhaps, not quite enough to cope with the wedding reception and a restaurant. My assumption is the wedding got priority. A half empty restaurant is an opportunity to get return customers by sitting them at the better tables rather than packing them into the easy to wait on areas by the main caterinhg access.
Limited menu but some interesting options. Service a little erratic ...see wedding comment....but pleasant enough. Wine list well priced if a little limited with few of the new world wines by comparison to most establishments....no Argentinian Malbec? Few S African offerings.....really?
5 steaks..2 medium 3 well done..quick tip ,start with the well done and don't hold the mediums until the well done are complete - They get a little cold. £23 for a sirloin of moderate size needs to be matched by the quality of both the meat and the cooking. A miss I am afraid. The dessert was however sensational. As were all of those selected. They clearly outclassed the main course. Overall a pleasant if rather overpriced meal with moderate service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Although the bar area was very very busy and noisy (understandably being the best pub around) the restaurant was a haven of peace. The menu was varied and extensive, the wine list more than adequate and the service spot on. A perfect night, and all at a reasonable price with no hurry to throw us out .(even though it got after midnight). Scallops, lamb and some nice wine... perfect meal in excellent company

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review, when customers take the time to write about an enjoyable visit it makes it all worthwhile and puts a smile on our faces. Looking forward to seeing you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is our third visit to the hotel and the restaurant and Management have seemed to have ironed out the very minor issues which we slightly grumbled about on previous visits, which were intended more as constructive criticism, as we are fans of this hotel.
This is a great location for the NEC, a mere 15 minutes by car at peak periods, in heavy traffic. We paid £91 for a twin room, including continental breakfast which is excellent value. The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are cosy and stylishly decorated. Plenty of parking in the large car park. Despite being immediately opposite the station, trains do not cause a disturbance, but coaches/buses in morning sitting outside are more of an issue, albeit a minor one. We were unlucky that the morning we stayed coincided with the delivery of beer from the local brewery and we were awoken to the rumble of barrels being transferred to the cellars via the hatch immediately beneath our room. If you are a light sleeper avoid room 8. We weren't too bothered as we had to get up and get to a meeting, but might have resented it if we had hoped for a lie in.
Breakfast is a continental buffet - fruit, yoghurt with compote, cereals, cheese, ham, croissants, pastries, juices, etc. Toast and tea/coffee were served promptly by our charming waitress. Absolutely perfect. Cooked breakfast is now offered after 9am, which is an improvement as on previous visits this was not available at all.
The quality of the food served at dinner is first class. An imaginative menu, cooked to perfection, good wine list. Attentive but unobtrusive service.
We will definitely be returning next year.
If you are thinking of booking - don't hesitate, you won't find better at this price in this area, and treat yourself to dinner in the restaurant - you definitely won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which is directly above the cellar entrance (see review). If you are a light sleeper try rooms 9 or 10 which are at the back, and may be quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review, I am happy that you enjoyed your meal and evenings stay with and look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

From the outside the hotel looks rather...tasteless, luckily that drabness does not reflect behind the doors. It's clean, modern, warm and friendly.

8 of us, including 2 unruly children, ate in the restaurant. Service was unhurried (not a complaint, just an observation), and attentive.

Mains were all pretty good - meaty, hearty and well presented. But the joy of the lunch were the puddings. I had the tarte tartin which made me go weak at the knees - it's was outrageously good. Great home made ice creams too.

Wines from £16, good beers too.

A big thumbs up from me.
Go!

M

Stayed: January 2014
Thank lulujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy P, Owner at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is great that you had such a good experience with your family here. I am glad that you found The Forest relaxing with your children and that the puddings were a' wow'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews