We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hogarths Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Forest Hotel(Dorridge)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Oak Hotel(Hockley Heath)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
672
161
58
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
161
58
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teabeautiful hotelwedding venuepatio doorsbridal suitewedding receptionboxing daybeautiful groundsbirthday celebrationlovely settingstaff were attentivewedding guestsmusic roomsuperior roomcourse meallovely roomfunction room
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Absolutley hated it! It was eery and scary. We were allocated a "cottage", which was meant to be a "superior" room. There was nothing "cottage" or "superior" about this room. The hot tub came at an extra charge. The hot tub was covered up and my husband had slipped several times on the terrace whilst uncovering it. The room itself was right next to a old monumental pinnacle point thing surrounded by trees. It felt unsafe and scary. We were literally told to drive down towards the far end and shoved into a corner. Check in was fairly pleasant, but the Receptionist had to follow us down to ensure I signed a disclaimer for the hot tub, at which point I told her that the terrace is very slippy, to which she shrugged her shoulders at me. We tried to make our stay comfortable, but we ended up leaving at 11:30pm as I felt very afraid and unsafe. I feel the whole experience at Hogarths was horrible. We will never be visiting again. I forgot to mention, the price of food was extortionate, it cost me £6 for a fish finger...1 fish finger. My husband's lamb was undercooked. Not only was the food not worth the money we spent on it, but the blonde gentleman at the bar had already passed judgement on us. He was not the friendliest people to provide good customer service. The overall experience was a disaster. £105 was spent on a room which was neither a cottage or superior. £40 on a hot tub that was covered and terrace was slippy with leaves from the trees surrounding the area. And £35 on food that was overpriced and customer service was way below average. Will never go back to Hogarths again!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKL1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay at Hogarths. You mention the hot tub was covered up, we do this to ensure the water is kept warm.
I am unsure what you mean regarding a fish finger as we don’t serve them, other than as part of a sandwich with French fries and a salad priced at £6.00
We would very much like the opportunity to speak to you regarding your visit and to understand what went wrong. Would you be kind enough to make contact with the hotel so that we can remedy the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at hogarths twice now and loved it every time.
The staff are amazing and made our stay very special and pulled out all the stops. Thank you to all the staff!

The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We never want to leave.

The food is amazing a good choice and lovely food worth every penny.

Can't wait for our next visit!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Spent a very pleasant 3 days here for a conference. I stayed in the September suite which featured a raised circular bed and a beautiful bathroom with free standing bath. The view from the suite is also very good, as the hotel has extensive gardens and trees, for privacy, surrounding it.
As I was often working until late so the ample plug sockets and good lighting of the room was appreciated, along with the tea and coffee making facilities, though the free wifi was rather slow in the room.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all of excellent quality and there was a good choice of meals.
Closest train station is Dorridge, though I arrived from Birmingham airport/ NEC which was a £20 taxi ride away.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
I can fully recommend this hotel for your conference.

Room Tip: I would recommend looking at the Suites which are all named after the months of the year.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelaholic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I took a friend out for an afternoon tea amd we arrived about 20 mins early. No problem we were taken swiftly to our table and attended to immediately. The room was bright clean and well decorated and the grounds looked nice. The staff were friendly, helpfull and professional. This was our first visit to Hogarths but will certainly not be the last.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosamund S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night in October. Beautiful location. Rooms are immaculate and well presented, staff helpful. Ate in the restaurant and was not disappointed. Breakfast was also good. As you would expect from a hotel like this the drinks were not cheap but no worse than any other 4/5* hotel. Would recommend - I'm looking forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaree146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews