We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Hogarths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hogarths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our one night stay was excellent wish it had been longer. Would highly recommend. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. Would love to get married there but 16 years too late!!

Room Tip: Stayed in a Superior room with wonderful views over to gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julievera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for a lovely review, it may be too late to get married here however we do offer vow renewals… Just something for you to think about!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    132
    48
    35
    19
See reviews for
208
242
9
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stylish, friendly and helpful staff, a beautiful setting and a fantastic location to hold an elegant wedding. Great facilities in a wonderful surrounding area, I would definitely recommend here for any formal occasion. The whole place is immaculately clean and the john standard of service means you feel looked after and catered for.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JosieKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are really proud of our hotel and we are delighted to hear you love it just as much as us.

See you again very soon

Best wishes
Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The staff here were quite nice and friendly. However the prices for the restaurant are way too expensive and the portion sizes are tiny, but tasty. The hotel is quite remote and forces you to use their facilities. Would not go back, or recommend for anyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent visit to the hotel. If you would like to contact me on 01564 779988, I would like the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Myself and my partner booked Hogarths for our wedding in November 2013, as we we're getting married on 24th April 2014 we only had a short space of time to get our Special Day Perfect! And perfect is what we got with Hogarths. We we're very fortunate to get the weather, it was sunny and no rain which meant our guest could freely be outside on the terrace before and after the ceremony. The day ran smoothly with the hard work and commitment of all staff, especially Claire and
Nathan who went above and beyond. It was an amazing day. The venue was perfect.
Our ceremony was held in the music room 1, and we had 32 guest, Small and intimate.
All guests we're very impressed with the venue, food and stunning grounds. We managed to have some amazing pictures.
Would like to Thank Hogarths and all staff for making our day Amazing. The new,
Mr & Mrs Blizzard

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blizzard24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your special day. We are delighted to have played such a big part in your day. All of the staff especially Nathan, work very hard to ensure your day runs smoothly and that you have a day to remember.

We look forward to seeing you both for your future celebrations.

Best wishes
Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My daughter was married at Hogarth's on 29th march 2014, it was so well planned and beautifully put together, my husband and I couldn't have been more happy. Everything ran smoothly the food was divine and the staff were very professional. The ceremony was held outside in the summer house and the sun shone all day...The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast wedding room was lovely where we could sit and speak to all the wedding guests who had stayed the night. The evening reception was beautiful and once again the staff very professional. Thank you to all the staff at Hogarth's for making my daughter and her husband a beautiful day to remember.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback following your daughter’s wedding, I will ensure that all of the staff who were involved on the day see your comments. I would like to wish your daughter and son in law many happy years together.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Hogarths Hotel for a family wedding. From driving to the hotel, to being able to check in early and throughout the whole day was easy, well managed. The grounds of the hotel really are beautiful and welcoming.

The ceremony was outside in the 1890's summer house which was beautiful, shame about the rain but that's at no fault of the hotels and they did all they could to make it comfortable for us.

The food for the wedding breakfast and evening reception was beautiful. It is one of the few places I have eaten that have mass catered chicken that was moist and juicy - not at all dry :-) However I would I preferred more veg with this Chicken dinner, green beans alone just wasn't enough but that is a personal preference really.

The whole day ran really smoothly and as a guest we couldn't fault it, I haven't asked the bride and groom if they experienced any issues though as they went straight on honeymoon.

Breakfast the following morning was set in a separate room for the wedding party only and was a great selection (missing fried eggs, only scrambled was offered) and very tasty. One issue mentioned below.

The rooms were smaller than we were expecting for the price we paid but they were well furnished and comfortable. The complimentary bottles of water were definitely needed and appreciated after a night of drinking wine.

The only negatives were the very expensive drinks (£4.75 for a 175ml glass of wine!!!) and out of date actimal was served at breakfast the next morning - as soon as we spotted this we informed the staff and they were removed but they were 1 week out of date and should have been picked up by staff setting them out.

Overall we did enjoy our visit, the setting and the hotel in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loula_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself and I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff involved.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We held our wedding reception at Hogarths on 1st March this year and the day couldn't have been more perfect. The whole day ran smoothly from start to finish thanks to the professionalism from Nathan and the fantastic staff. The food was delicious, not one of my guests who stayed over night had any complaints about their rooms. The bridal suite/December suite is luxurious. The gardens/grounds are fantastic for photos - very very pretty. I didn't want to leave!!! Thank you so much Hogarths - esp Nathan who is a credit to you - for giving us the perfect day. We will definitely be staying here to celebrate our many anniversaries in the future!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your wedding here at Hogarths, we are all delighted to have played such a big part in your special day. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Wishing you both every happiness as you begin your married life together.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
15.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
5.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Hotel

Property: Hogarths Hotel
Address: Four Ashes Road, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 30 acres of beautiful, unspoilt woodland, Hogarths stands in secluded surroundings. With its inviting avenue of chestnut trees, historic moat and private island, it is a truly enchanting setting with picturesque grounds. Our hotel is a sanctuary for visitors seeking secluded and stunning surroundings, delicious food, exceptional wines and exemplary hospitality. Our charming former manor house has been carefully restored and extended to create a luxury hotel with 21st century comforts.All of our 49 bedrooms, consisting of luxury suites, superior and standard double / twin rooms, family and accessible rooms have been exclusively designed with luxury, comfort and all the fine finishing touches you would expect.Beautifully decorated to reflect the changing seasons of the year, there is one for every mood and occasion. All of our bedrooms offer impressive soft furnishings and contemporary designed en suite bathrooms.Whether you stay with us for work or play, we hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hogarths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing