We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really interesting place to stay”
Review of Hogarths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hogarths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is in a lovely setting and has an interesting history. The rooms are comfy and clean. The bar and restaurant are excellent.

When we arrived they had put us in a disabled access room - very nice but not necessary. The staff did all they could to move us to a more appropriate room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valdareeWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
There are newer reviews for Hogarths Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hogarths Hotel made our wedding anniversary as special as the day we got married 26 Years ago.
The staff are a credit and were so professional that they could not be faulted in any way. We had a lovely warm welcome from the reception staff on both arrival and departing. Edy and his team in the brasserie should also be individually complimented for their professional service and warm welcome, again, making us feel very special. The food was fantastic; both in presentation and in taste, not forgetting the menu itself which was so appetising it made us spoilt for choice- compliments to the chefs! The December room was the best we had ever stayed in and made us feel like we did not want to go home.

The hotel grounds were beautiful, well-kept and made us feel very relaxed. It’s sad that we live in Knowle and although we had been to the hotel lots of times before to pick family and friends up had never been past the car park. We have stayed in many exclusive hotels before but this will now always be the special one and promise we will be back again soon! Once again thank you very much to everyone who made it so special.

Kind regards,
Keith and Linda Kirby

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2016

Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Took my dad wanted a special night for him after loosing my Mum last year.
Nice decor started with attentive staff and offered drinks and menu. After ordering we were taken to the table were the starters arrived prompt ! My Dad who is fuzzy eater ordered the Haddock crochet without the sauce and it came with the sauce Not a problem as it was on the side .......Just as well !!! I always like a break between causes but 50 min ? A bit too long No one came to the table or made any contact. Main course eventually arrived,nice presentation , but again We changed the order of potatoes which was wrong Its not hard !!! Tasty food well presented even if it was Luke warm ! I am slim and a small eater but even I was starving after LOL
So to sum it up would I go back ? NO Maybe i am spoiled service was not good and food was ok

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvon-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent visit to the hotel. If you would like to contact me on 01564 779988, I would like the opportunity to discuss your comments in more detail.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When the only thing one can find to criticise is finding hairs from the previous occupant in the bath, then I would consider this a pretty good hotel! Outside of the reception entrance is a rather splendid piec of sculpture which is one of many around thge place. I really would like to take him home!

Check in was extremely friendly, efficient and quick. The room had everything we would expect, not drinks fridge (which we never use anyway), but included a king-sized bed with both hard and soft pillows. We both found the matress comfortable, and there was a range of lights to suit almost any mood!

The bathroom was well appointed, modern and (apart from the hairs in the bath) nice and clean. I loved the magnifying shaving mirror! The bath sheets were soft and large and the soap had an interesting smell.

We had gone to Hogarths for a CAP Fund-raising dinner, and the quality of the food they served was absolutely top notch. For breakfast, amongst the usual things on offer, we chose smoked salmon with scrambled egg: this was mouth-wateringly delicious. Before leaving we stopped for a cup of coffee, which came with home-made lemon shortbread. Again, spot on!

This was a most enjoyable, if perhaps too short a stay: it was a pity that the weather turned so we could not stroll round the 30-acres of grounds, but maybe we will next time? Well done Hogarths!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your fundraising dinner and I will ensure our Head Chef reads your comments regarding the food.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After a long wet hike through very pretty countryside nearby we arrived so weary we didn't really take in the hotel's impressive drive & grounds until we left the next morning! But from the moment we stepped into the hotel to our reluctant departure we were thrilled with both the staff & the decor. Our room was spacious & very comfortable, a bath as well as a shower always a bonus. Our dinner was delicious, one of the best we have had. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitKatKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for a lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will ensure the team read your kind comments.
I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the hotel.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a fabulous night at Hogarths for our annual School Ball in May...the staff were so helpful during the day and evening..! Its such a great venue and as the weather was kind to us we started the evening with drinks on the terrace listening to a jazz band.
Everything was perfect! The room, venue , food, service, we couldn't fault it. The grounds are so lovely too.
We will be back..!
Lorraine and the ESA Ball Committee

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for a lovely review following your school ball, all of the staff at Hogarths work tirelessly to ensure that our guests receive the highest levels of service possible and I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time and will pass on your thanks to all staff involved.
We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from a one nights stay here.It impressed me on EVERY level.The approach to the hotel is modest ,however It is set amongst park land affording stunning views and beautifully kept gardens.Our twin aspect room overlooked the woods and the gardens down to their own little secluded 'island'.Quite simply magical.The room itself was contemporary,well maintained with high quality furnishings and linens. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and again, high quality.The service is exemplary,from check-in to the waiting staff.All are courteous,friendly and efficient and all seem eager to ensure your stay is the best it can be.This hotel does everything well.It knows its clients and what they expect and it delivers far more than that.
One of the best hotels i have stayed in.Highly recommended .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markyoolala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to the owner of the hotel, who chooses all of our décor and soft furnishings.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Best wishes

Steven Quick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
16.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
5.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,725 reviews
15.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
943 reviews
11.9 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,227 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Hotel

Address: Four Ashes Road, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range: £95 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 30 acres of beautiful, unspoilt woodland, Hogarths stands in secluded surroundings. With its inviting avenue of chestnut trees, historic moat and private island, it is a truly enchanting setting with picturesque grounds. Our hotel is a sanctuary for visitors seeking secluded and stunning surroundings, delicious food, exceptional wines and exemplary hospitality. Our charming former manor house has been carefully restored and extended to create a luxury hotel with 21st century comforts.All of our 49 bedrooms, consisting of luxury suites, superior and standard double / twin rooms, family and accessible rooms have been exclusively designed with luxury, comfort and all the fine finishing touches you would expect.Beautifully decorated to reflect the changing seasons of the year, there is one for every mood and occasion. All of our bedrooms offer impressive soft furnishings and contemporary designed en suite bathrooms.Whether you stay with us for work or play, we hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hogarths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing