We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hogarths - The Perfect Dream Wedding & Reception Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hogarths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hogarths Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hogarths - The Perfect Dream Wedding & Reception Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

Hogarths was quite simply amazing. The staff were all lovely and practically bent over backwards to help us with every minute detail of the planning stages and the actual day itself of our wedding. We filled every room and had no complaints from any of our guests about anything at all. The venue itself is amazing - absolutely beautiful and set in gorgeous grounds. Yes it is a little more expensive than some places but you get what you pay for and and much much more here. I would wholeheartedly recommend Hogarths to anyone that wants to have an amazing experience whether it be for a night in a hotel, a nice meal (we've been four other times and had a great time every time) or for something as special as a wedding. They made our day even more magical and I don't know what else you can ask of a venue?! It was perfect! Thank you Hogarths (especially Ben!) xxxxx

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjus2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    131
    48
    35
    19
See reviews for
203
237
9
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Rating based on where we started off: the December Suite; a wonderful atmospheric and unusual room with great views and infinity bath, good shower etc. The suite was well furnished and clean; loved the DVD with surround sound, though the starlights didn't work, the fantastic bath made up for it. Dinner was good; the bed was comfy and we had a great night's sleep. Simply one of the best rooms I've ever stayed in.

I had forgotten to book two nights; by the time I remembered there was only one room left - "August". This place fills up quickly, particularly with weddings at weekends etc.

We moved; the new room was (obviously) miles smaller, but still very nicely furnished, comfortable, with a large bathroom and handy patio doors out onto the back of the hotel.

Unfortunately the noise from late night guests was just /unbearable/ in the early hours of the morning. There are notices surrounding this room asking other guests to be considerate; however it is in a high-traffic part of the hotel on the ground floor; you can hear every conversation and every beat of the music. Staff were apologetic and helped with closing doors etc. but it's a loosing battle if you have a hotel full with a wedding party!

To sum up, if you can get the right room, Hogarths is a fabulous place to stay; very comfortable, some of the rooms are truly unique - the staff are friendly and helpful, and the food is good.

I would never stay in one of the known 'noisy' rooms - I'd rather stay in a travelodge. The others are great though, well worth the effort - I'll definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STregaronH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

A reasonable building in countryside setting but so over priced that it was cheaper to get a Taxi to a local pub than to have a drink in the bar. The food was not much to shout about and again very over priced. Rooms were reasonable. Staff a bit surly all in all a very expensive Hotel that did not live up to its price tag.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOSSY101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Set up a quiet treelined drive a few mins from the M42 NEC etc etc it was such a lovely peaceful place and everyone was so kind great breakfast and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel with friends who were getting married and using the hotel as their reception venue. The hotel is in a really good location, surrounded by countryside and fairly easy to find after leaving junction 4 of the M42. You can also reach the hotel via twisting country lanes through small towns like Knowle and Dorridge.

First impressions of this hotel were great. The reception, restaurant and bar areas are all designed in a contemporary style and it looks like a lot of attention has been made to the look and feel of the hotel. We had drinks on the terrace and explored the grounds. The hotel is in 26 acres and surrounded by woodland.

At the wedding breakfast, we were served a three course meal and the food was exceptional. The main course was lamb which was beautifully cooked and served with potatoes and mint sauce. The dessert of chocolate orange mousse was wonderful.

Each of the bedrooms in this hotel are named after a month of the year or a particular season and the design and colour scheme of the room fits in with the theme of it's name. All rooms are very different and some have jacuzzi baths or four-poster beds.

I stayed in 'June' room which was a well appointed room with warm summer colours. There was solid wood furniture, a small table and a wardrobe in the room. Everything was clean and tidy. Inside the wardrobe was a combination CD/DVD/Radio with wall mounted speakers. The wardrobe had plenty of storage space and additional blankets and towels. On the wall was a flat screen television. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. The room itself was a little bit smaller than I was expecting although it does fit a double bed. The picture on the web site only shows the bed so you can't easily get an idea of the size of this room.

The en-suite bathroom in this room was a wet room with clean white bathroom furniture and a marble floor and shower area. The shower was hot and there was also a heated towel rail. Included were L'Occitane soap and shower products. Disappointingly the sink tap didn't work at all and I had to use the shower to wash my hands and bottled water to clean my teeth in the morning. I think it is very poor that something as basic as this can be missed in this level of hotel.

In the evening the bar area was opened up and was a good space for the wedding reception. The outside terrace was also opened to go outside as the weather was good.

There were a few things that put a downer on my stay at this hotel in the evening. The drinks prices are very expensive. I do realise this is a luxury hotel but 5 pounds for a single spirit and mixer seems excessive to me. Lager and bitter is a bit more reasonable but still expensive. Wine is expensive. Whilst walking around the hotel and bar area I did on more than one occasion come across some of the younger staff members 'larking about' and sometimes I thought that they were talking disparagingly amongst themselves about guests who were at the party. The same staff members were polite when they were serving me but I'd see them later having a laugh and a joke in a corridor somewhere. This does not look very professional.

Later when the main bar closed I was advised that resident guests at the hotel could enter the hotel bar and get a drink. It was my intention to stay up late for a drink with other guests who were staying at the hotel. We were advised that due to licensing, hotel residents could not be served after hours until the last non-resident guest had left the premises. One of the hotel guests from my party had been waiting an hour to be served a drink and kept being refused because there were apparently still non-resident guests on site. Whatever the reason behind this rule, it should surely be a matter of proving that you are a guest of the hotel by showing your keycard in order to get a drink. Unfortunately this was not the case and we had to wait until all non-resident guests had left before we could be served a drink which oddly was charged to our rooms anyway.

In the morning breakfast was served in a comfortable breakfast room. Again the food was excellent, toast, tea and coffee were topped up regularly. There was bread, croissants, fruit, juices and yoghurt as well as a good selection of cooked breakfast items. Food was exceptional. That morning we were served by two of the older staff members who had also been working the night before. One of them, a European man, I assume was the duty manager or the maitre-d' was always smiling and happy to serve or ask if we needed anything and the lady who was working with him was equally helpful.

In conclusion, this hotel is very good and an ideal location for a wedding reception or another function. I would recommend this hotel to other friends or family but I also think there are some very basic things the hotel staff could do better to make this hotel exceptional. For that reason I'm only going to rate this hotel 4 of 5.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonewayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

There is much good that could be said about this hotel, including the friendly welcome and service and the good food that was served to us during the party which was the purpose of our visit. However, we were horrified by the prices charged for drinks: £4.50 for two teas and nearly £10 for two glasses of wine and crisps ( perhaps the fact that they were vegetable crisps justifies such a high price!). In fact that was the general theme of the hotel: trendy fittings and food eclipses practicality and value for money. As an example, we had a trendy walk-in shower in our room which simply did not work properly and rather strange ostrich feathers above the curtains which seemed to serve as an imitation of large spiders. My determination to write this essentially poor review was crystallised upon seeing a member of staff arriving for evening shift getting dressed while walking down the main path - not good form!! My advice would be simple rules for your staff, simple, comfortable furnishings and simple prices.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, General Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

My partner and I chose Hogarths as the venue for our civil partnership, chosen mainly for the beautiful Island venue where you can have your c eremony outdoors we cannot fault any element of the experience.
Throughout the planning, Ben - the wedding director - was there to guide and advise. On the day Helen was around to ensure everything went swimmingly. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and the venue and food were all excellent, We would strongly recommend this venue for anyone planning a special celebration.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickiBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogarths, Front Office Manager at Hogarths Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2016
Dear Guest

It has been a while and we wanted to get in touch, and thank you for your past reviews on trip advisor, we have been working hard since your last visit to make the hotel even better.

If you have not been to Hogarths since your last visit, why not visit Hogarths Solihull or Stone Manor and see the changes we have made. Two great hotels with one great name, we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind Regards

Team Hogarths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorridge
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
16.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
15.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
5.3 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogarths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogarths Hotel

Property: Hogarths Hotel
Address: Four Ashes Road, Dorridge, Solihull B93 8QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Dorridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dorridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogarths Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in 30 acres of beautiful, unspoilt woodland, Hogarths stands in secluded surroundings. With its inviting avenue of chestnut trees, historic moat and private island, it is a truly enchanting setting with picturesque grounds. Our hotel is a sanctuary for visitors seeking secluded and stunning surroundings, delicious food, exceptional wines and exemplary hospitality. Our charming former manor house has been carefully restored and extended to create a luxury hotel with 21st century comforts.All of our 49 bedrooms, consisting of luxury suites, superior and standard double / twin rooms, family and accessible rooms have been exclusively designed with luxury, comfort and all the fine finishing touches you would expect.Beautifully decorated to reflect the changing seasons of the year, there is one for every mood and occasion. All of our bedrooms offer impressive soft furnishings and contemporary designed en suite bathrooms.Whether you stay with us for work or play, we hope you enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hogarths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hogarths Hotel Solihull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing