We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic country pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boot Inn

The Boot Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Lapworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "The Boot Inn is a very popular eaterie in this thriving village. You are likely to see married couples celebrating whatever they choose with a bottle of pop, as well as younger couples on early impress-me dates. The restaurant itself is beautiful, light and airy, decorated very simply with great sophistication. The crowd is comfortable and chatty. The Pacific Rim/Mediterranean menu is confident and inventive. What's cooking? For starters, try the asparagus spears with pancetta and cherry tomato salad, or the speared tuna nicoise. For mains, you could have the straight forward ribeye steak au poivre with chargrilled tomato and frites, or a complex dish like the spatchcock poussin with lemon, marsala, and rosemary and whipped potato. Very strong wine list."
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic country pub and restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We ate her last night in the restaurant and it really was fantastic. All of the guests in our party struggled to decide what to eat because it all looks so tempting! The quality and cooking of the food was very high.
I also attended a birthday recently in the outdoor Tipi, this also comes highly recommended and is a great, private outdoor space.
The Boot is still as good as ever, if not better!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    170
    66
    37
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We visited on a very rainy August lunch time during the week, and the restaurant was pleasantly busy with a good atmosphere. We were seated upstairs and enjoyed a sharing sea food platter. The food was excellent, as was the service. we look forward to visiting for an evening meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top quality country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

...and with top quality comes top price. The pub is cosy, the food is lovely, the decor is twee, the staff are attentive and it's always buzzing when I've been which is a midweek evening. It ticks all of those boxes - open fire with log pile stacked up, flagstone floors, low beams, beer garden with wigwam(!). It's a place for monied Solihull-ites to relax and show off a bit maybe, there's always a few very shiny expensive cars in the car park. You get what you pay for I suppose, so I don't mind paying £4.95 for a pint of Purity Longhorn and £6.40 for a large glass of wine every now and again, it's worth it because it's such a lovely place. If the prices were slightly less than a 'sharp intake of breath' price, I'd give it 5 stars. Also, I'm not sure that the teepee/wigwam thing in the garden works.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Regularly Brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I eat here regularly and have never had anything but a perfect meal with perfect service.
Have eaten lunch and dinner, the lunch sharing board is delicious and filling. Have eaten fish specials, steaks, curry...all great, never had a complaint about the place.
The atmosphere is lovely and staff attentive. This is how you run a pub!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sunny Pub Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I came here for lunch while on a walk in the area.
Good first impressions. The front of the pub is on the main road but once you get inside it is nicely decorated and looks inviting. Modern decoration but still in keeping with the countryside surroundings. A fireplace that looks like it would be very cosy in winter.
We got drinks and gave a credit card to keep a tab. Then we made our way into the garden to find somewhere to sit for lunch. It was a beautiful sunny day. The garden is quite nice. Plenty of outdoor seating. And this pub has a tipi in the garden! It is a very large tipi (no food allowed inside) and it can be hired out for parties. Very unusual! But also very nice.
We ordered a picnic sharing board (baguettes, cheeses, ham, pate, sausage rolls, tarts, pickles and salad) and a side of chips. It was quite busy on a sunny Saturday afternoon and it took quite a while for the picnic board to arrive (40+ minutes). We were happy playing cards in the sun anyway.
The picnic board was excellent. Nice warm, freshly baked baguettes. It all tasted very nice. There was plenty of food for the two of us. The chips were a good addition.
We decided to have some ice cream each afterwards as well. The dessert menu had a number of very tasty sounding things on it but it was so hot we went for ice cream. My chocolate ice cream was lovely. My husband had honeycomb, mint choc chip and hazelnut, which were also very nice.
My husband paid the bill, which came to a bit of a pricey £40+! This seemed quite a lot for lunch! The beers were £4+ each (we had two each) and our ice creams were £5.95 each. Not a cheap place to drink and eat.
Plenty of staff around. They were all polite and helpful.
We had a really nice lunch in a lovely setting. It was a bit pricey but we feel it was worth it. We'd definitely come here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KA1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Claverdon, Warwickshire
Alveston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing