We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of West Midlands hidden jewels”
Review of Packwood House

Packwood House
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Lapworth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of West Midlands hidden jewels”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

As a member of the National Trust, we paid a visit to a local attraction, who knew what a beautiful place we had on our doorstep. Something for everyone to see here. Absolutely stunning. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    235
    46
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon out”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were staying near by and decided to visit Packwood House. We were given a very informative talk outside the house about the house and gardens and there were guides in the rooms who were happy to talk and answer any questions you had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Packwood House”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It had been a trying few weeks, and a good friend, knowing I need an afternoon somewhere completely different, picked me up in her car to take me away from the city. It was the first warm day of the year. We were soon out of the city and heading along country roads, lined with bluebells, hawthorn trees and fields. She wouldn't tell me where we were going, so I guessed it would be a garden centre or a tea shop. I was amazing when we turned in through the gates: I never knew Packwood House was so near, or how beautiful it was. The gardens are stunning, and there's a brand new cafeteria (see photo) and visitor centre. We spent half an hour sitting on a bench in the sunken garden, admiring the rockery and pond, visiting the spooky topiary garden and sitting in the sun with Earl Grey and ice-creams. I returned home refreshed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Delightful visit”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We have visited the house before, about 2 or 3 years ago. There have been massive improvements to the site, the first of which is the new visitors barn and coffee shop. It did not look out of place, and the car parking has improved immensely, too. All the guides were very helpful, especially when they found out our daughter is homeschooled, and I had organised some questions for her to answer. All the guides were quick to offer help, which was great and prevents children thinking of these places as "stuffy". We all enjoyed the walk around the house at our own pace, knowing the guides have extensive knowledge and will impart it if we only ask! The gardens were stunning, and it was lovely to be able to walk through the yew trees and go to the top of the Sermon on the Mount!
Everywhere is immaculate, and we thoroughly enjoyed a couple of hours wandering around. Our daughter enjoyed asking quesions, and found some very interesting facts that were not on the internet.
We had a cream tea and sat in the hot sunshine, and it was lovely.
We will be back soon for another lovely fragrant afternoon here!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ConeyImagesPhotograp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
882 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Nice National Trust Property”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As NT members we visit lots of attractions of this type, and this weekend we paid our first visit to Packwood House. We started off with a cuppa and a cream tea in the newly opened cafe. The food and drink we had was very good, and good value for money.

We then had a wander around the compact but very well maintained gardens. The one disappointment was that a significant part of the grounds were closed to the public due to the weather and high visitor numbers. As NT members, we can come back as often as we like, but if we had paid the £11 entry fee we would not have been impressed. The expansive kitchen garden laid out around a dipping pool is excellent.

The interior of the house is in good condition, and is very good to look around, although we felt that a guided tour would definitely have added to the experience. The layout of the house, with its old wooden beams and mezzanine levels is very interesting.

All in all, Packwood is well worth a visit if you like these kinds of attractions, and hopefully all of the grounds willl be open next time we visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Packwood House also viewed

Lapworth, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to Packwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing