We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Pub/Hotel”
Review of Four Horseshoes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Ate here twice recently after recommendations from relatives who live in a nearby village. We found it to be a lovely quaint establishment with low beams and a wishing well. The food and service was great on both occasions....will definitely return on our next visit to Suffolk.

Room Tip: Did not stay at premises
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank fareasttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

A family member booked a table during the week for Sunday 28th August.when we presented ourselves at the bar NO TABLE had been reserved in the name in which it was ordered in. We eventually got a table no waitress came after 30 min so one of the party got up and asked for a menu.Food was poor in quantity and qaulity,fresh veg turned out to be smash potatoes.no one came for dessert or coffee order.
Very poor servive will not be going back again !!.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank 228alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Always enjoyed nice evening meals and great service , just pity it drop it's standards on our last visit . Staff was rather rude when we asked to place our order , having been seated by now for half hour . When asked to place our order was told she was bust but she continued to stand talk to two other waitresses for another ten min's . Food was not the best we had had infact it was cold . The noise level from the next table was so bad we could not even have a conversation with the clients we had taken out for a meal . We will not be returing in a hurry .

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank julie3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We went searching for somewhere to eat and I used to go to The 4 Horseshoes years ago. It was a Monday night and the car park was full! We went in and although the pub was really busy we were looked after from the beginning. The food was very good and home-made. A super evening.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scribbleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were recommended by fellow guests staying in local farmstay B&B. Enjoyed evening meal so much on first visit we returned the next night.
Staff were friendly - pleasant and attentive. Food was most enjoyable. If we're ever back in the locality we'll certainly re-visit.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Siouxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Took my parents to lunch on Mothering Sunday, if felt like we were part of a massive coach party, met at the door and ticked off a list and quickly seated. Basically it was carvery with soggy roast potatoes and parsnips, over cooked veg and over cooked meat. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suffolkdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Visited this establishment for a quite drink with just two adults in tow ~ the bar area has now been compromised by the restaurant and therefore very little seating left for non diners.

We found a table in the bar area which was not laid up ~ and we were asked to move so they could lay up. The restaurant was absolutely empty with no one waiting ~ so we asked what time the table was booked for.....which they then stated they didn't know......

We left the table an hour after being asked to move and guess what ~ the restaurant was still empty.....

This place needs to work out is it a pub or restaurant. ....?

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham Magna
4.0 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
5.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
324 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Horseshoes

Address: Wickham Road, Thornham Magna IP23 8HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thornham Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham Magna
Price Range: £71 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Horseshoes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Said to be Suffolk's oldest inn, The Four Horseshoes is a family run traditonal thatched inn, dating back to the 12th C.We have 7 en-suite B&B rooms, with evertything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our rooms are decorated on a yearly basis and we have held a 4 star Visit Britain rating every year since taking over in 2008!Our restaraunt and bar areas boast an extensive menu of traditional homecoooked food, using fresh and local produce. We also offer a range of daily specials and delicous desserts. At the bar you'll find a range of wines from around the world and a selection of award winning real ales.Our two function rooms can cater for a range of occasions - be it a business meeting with use of our projector and screen - or a party for 10 to 100 guests, we offer many different options.We hope you will find a warm welcome and a comfortable atmosphere at The Four Horseshoes, and below is a list of what else you may find...........~~~ Free WI-FI ~~~ A Whole Acre Of Car Park ~~~ Countryside Walks On The Doorstep ~~~ Large Enclosed Beer Garden ~~~ Iglenook Fireplaces ~~~ Large Sheltered Smoking Area Patio ~~~ Friendly & Helpful Staff ~~~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Horseshoes Hotel Thornham Magna
4 Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes Thornham Magna, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing