We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fantastic Fantastic”
Review of Four Horseshoes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Fantastic hotel Fantastic staff Fantastic food.
Tom and his team made us feel very welcome especially Catherine. The hotel room was great and the food excellent, and would recommend this hotel no problem. We will be back soon......
From
Tony & Faye McCoy (sanders)

Room Tip: recommend room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

A lovely rural pub with real character. Clearly a popular choice for Sunday lunch but there were lots of staff and all were friendly and helpful. Our party all chose the carvery and all of our food was very good. There was a good choice of meats and vegetables and the servings were generous.
A decent selection of homemade deserts which were very nice too.
This was a very pleasant Sunday lunch and without any doubt one of the best for the area. We will visit again and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

From a warm welcoming, to a wonderful breakfast on leaving we were treated as well as one could want. The friendly bar staff in the evening to the amazing young lady who cleaned, served breakfast, took our lodging money with a great sense of humour and professional ability - I would recommend a stay at this great pub at a very reasonable price

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

18 Members of the North Norfolk Classic Vehicle Club had a meal, and were very well looked after. Table was booked on arrival all laid out and ready even special mneu cards for my group. Being a very hot evening we were invited to eat in the garden rather than the room they had prepared, no worry for them, we chose the garden and all had a superb meal. We have stopped ober for food 3 times previously over the last foru years and it has always been good, they are friendly helpful. They prepared all the food so we could eat together which was great. Yes there are plenty of pile it high eat it and go pubs on the A140, if that suits you then fine, if not make the 4 Horsehoes your first choice. We will not hesitate to do that on our next trip in the area. Cannot comment on the rooms as were only had food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gj84Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Quaint, old-fashioned pub that is worth seeking out. No jukeboxes etc. Food and staff excellent. Just a shame that despite being a Freehouse all the beers, including guests, were from the Greene King range.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren197104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

OK. Neither good nor bad. Not worth a detour. OK to go to if you are in the vicinity. But I feel there is nothing particularlarly to recommend it, other than the fact that it is the only pub in thornham magna.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank robb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We have visited for dinner many times and this time decided to visit on a Monday evening. We didn't make a reservation, thinking it would be quiet, but the eating area was still quite full which made for an enjoyable evening. The Yorkshire Pudding Wrap and Tuna Pasta Bake were particularly good as was the White Chocolate & Raspberry Cheesecake and the Lemon Crunch. The service was good as usual. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BillyBear01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham Magna
4.0 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
5.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
324 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Horseshoes

Address: Wickham Road, Thornham Magna IP23 8HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thornham Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham Magna
Price Range: £70 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Horseshoes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Said to be Suffolk's oldest inn, The Four Horseshoes is a family run traditonal thatched inn, dating back to the 12th C.We have 7 en-suite B&B rooms, with evertything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our rooms are decorated on a yearly basis and we have held a 4 star Visit Britain rating every year since taking over in 2008!Our restaraunt and bar areas boast an extensive menu of traditional homecoooked food, using fresh and local produce. We also offer a range of daily specials and delicous desserts. At the bar you'll find a range of wines from around the world and a selection of award winning real ales.Our two function rooms can cater for a range of occasions - be it a business meeting with use of our projector and screen - or a party for 10 to 100 guests, we offer many different options.We hope you will find a warm welcome and a comfortable atmosphere at The Four Horseshoes, and below is a list of what else you may find...........~~~ Free WI-FI ~~~ A Whole Acre Of Car Park ~~~ Countryside Walks On The Doorstep ~~~ Large Enclosed Beer Garden ~~~ Iglenook Fireplaces ~~~ Large Sheltered Smoking Area Patio ~~~ Friendly & Helpful Staff ~~~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Horseshoes Hotel Thornham Magna
4 Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes Thornham Magna, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing