We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one night”
Review of Four Horseshoes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Horseshoes
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just one night”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Attended a party in nearby village so stayed for just the one night.
Room 24 very comfy but very creaky floorboards which considering the age of the property is not surprising. Breakfast second to none with plenty of choices.
Staff very friendly and nothing to much trouble.
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 21 to 24 date back hundreds of years, we leave the floor boards to creak as they tell the tales of years ago!
Thanks again for the kind words,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    33
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
39
56
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place is UNREAL ! ! ............ the food was awesome and everyone so friendly . We had 4 meals here during our stay in UK and EVERYTIME they came up trumps ................. the food was cooked " Just Right " , the waiters and waitresses Soooooo friendly ! ....... and if your real nice you can get some pics with them ! ! ........... Thank you again guys for making our stay soooo memorable . I am sure my cousins would definitely agree also . Thanks for making the extra effort for my Birthday ! ! Cheers for now George and Robert Black ( and Dee Copeland )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi,
Comments like these are what our staff work to achieve and shows them hard work does pay off. Thanks for your kind words, but it was truly our pleasure to look after you.
I hope we see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was our second visit with our travel club, we were greeted when we arrived made our way to the tables bit of a muddle as most of us had been before they knew where they wanted to sit.which left the area with 3 large tables which I hasten to add was a waste as they were not full. It didn't feel christmasee at all no atmosphere, no crackers no glasses on tables for wine, it was a carvery and the food was hot the cabbage could have been cooked a bit more but a variety of veg.my one gripe was the chef carving the meat which was Turkey and beef was using the same knife excuse me if I am wrong but each time I have been to a carvery the chef always has separate utensils for each meat.but the staff were very pleasant service a little bit slow.maybe it was just meant to be a two course carvery we thought for the time of year a little more Christmas spirit wouldn't come a miss. Would we go again , well our club have booked again for next year .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi,
Firstly I'd like to say I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your lunch with us, leaving us a 4 out of 5 star rating. In regards to the atmosphere; we do put up our Christmas decorations the last week of November, leaving me a little surprised they went unnoticed. I'm afraid we weren't made aware it was a Christmas party, otherwise we would have made a conscious effort when decorating your table. I have taken note in the diary and will be sure to do so for this year!
Although maybe not visible we do always use separate knives for each meat, however these were all black handled. Due to this misunderstanding we are now using colour coded handled knives for the meats.
Kind regards,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The staff here are truly lovely and I do stay here regularly. The food is good and well cooked but I deduct a point for the lack of vegetarian options. The rooms do vary but all are clean and good value

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank karen1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi,
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are currently re-designing our menu and have a few vegetarian options to add you mar be pleased to hear!
Thanks for your feedback and suggestions.
Kind regards,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Went as a group of about 10. Waited ages for food and when it arrived mine was cold and the lasagne was dry and tasteless. My family all were disappointed too. We felt crammed in a bit by all other tables. Not a lot of privacy for talking. It was busy but didn't seem to be enough staff to cope.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kandsabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi,
I sincerely apologize for your poor experience, we obviously didn't work to our full potential to ensure you enjoyed your visit. I hope you give us the opportunity to make your next visit a more pleasant one.
Kind regards,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We met friends here, did a walk then returned for Sunday lunch, we sat in the rear garden which was lovely in the October Sun.
As it was Sunday lunch it was predominately Sunday Carvery, which we didn't want as we were eating at home in the evening. So two of us had a starter portion of homemade soup which was delicious our friends had homemade lasagne which again was lovely.
Despite being in the garden a waitress came and checked if everything was ok, and it was, no complaints from us .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hi,
I'm pleased you we were able to play a part in your enjoyable day, our garden is very popular on sunny days.
In regards to the menu, indeed Sunday Lunch we do predominantly focus on our Carvery as there is such a high demand, we do however understand it's not everyone's first choice, as a result we offer a few other homemade options.
I would like to invite you to join us in the near future when the sun is out to sample our new 2014 menu.
Kind regards,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just come back from a brillant 2 nights and shared our time with Tom and his family and staff. This was a present to spend 2 nights away without children after our marriage last month. As usual all the staff where fanastic and helpful. Room 21 was great and so was the food!! ps try Jai's chocolate brownies there great!! Hope to be going back very soon.
Faye and Tony McCoy

Room Tip: try room 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas P, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Faye and Tony,
Thank you for the kind words, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
You are right about Jai's Brownie, but also his Sticky Toffee Pudding is said to be one of the best!
We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Elliott Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham Magna
4.0 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
5.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
318 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
322 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thornham Hall
Thornham Hall
#2 of 4 in Eye
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Horseshoes

Property: Four Horseshoes
Address: Wickham Road, Thornham Magna IP23 8HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thornham Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thornham Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Horseshoes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Said to be Suffolk's oldest inn, The Four Horseshoes is a family run traditonal thatched inn, dating back to the 12th C.We have 7 en-suite B&B rooms, with evertything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Our rooms are decorated on a yearly basis and we have held a 4 star Visit Britain rating every year since taking over in 2008!Our restaraunt and bar areas boast an extensive menu of traditional homecoooked food, using fresh and local produce. We also offer a range of daily specials and delicous desserts. At the bar you'll find a range of wines from around the world and a selection of award winning real ales.Our two function rooms can cater for a range of occasions - be it a business meeting with use of our projector and screen - or a party for 10 to 100 guests, we offer many different options.We hope you will find a warm welcome and a comfortable atmosphere at The Four Horseshoes, and below is a list of what else you may find...........~~~ Free WI-FI ~~~ A Whole Acre Of Car Park ~~~ Countryside Walks On The Doorstep ~~~ Large Enclosed Beer Garden ~~~ Iglenook Fireplaces ~~~ Large Sheltered Smoking Area Patio ~~~ Friendly & Helpful Staff ~~~ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Horseshoes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Horseshoes
Four Horseshoes Hotel Thornham Magna
Four Horseshoes Thornham Magna, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing