We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always feel welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Clare

Cafe Clare
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Clare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Clare resides in a beautiful 14th century building. We serve freshly made food to reflect the changing seasons. Our cakes and scones are prepared and baked daily on the premises. We are open seven days a week with a 10 a.m. opening on Monday and 8.30 a.m opening Tuesday to Sunday inclusive. There is a flexible closing time, usually about 5 p.m. which is subject to weather.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always feel welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed superb tea and cheese scones yesterday. Cheese scones were the best we've ever tasted, so light and soft, nicely warm and large enough for a light lunch. Thoroughly enjoyed the window seat upstairs and service very good, very personal. We have made several visits to this cafe and also very much enjoyed the home made soup, especially the butternut! And lovely omelettes. Will continue to visit and happy to recommend - staff very attentive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chloe572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury st edmunds
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude, overpriced and don't take criticism well.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We have used this cafe on numerous occasions over the past 5 years whilst commuting from our premises. In the beginning, like one previous reviewer, the service was good, friendly staff, loose teas, good and reasonably priced food. In the last 18 months the service is somewhat impersonal and slow. The staffs attitude is to talk to each other rather than to pay attention to their customers. Today, Friday 24 January we called in at approx 1.15pm for lunch. We ordered tea for 2 which came promptly and both my husband I ordered the quiche, 1 Lorraine and 1 leek and cheddar. After a 25 minute wait the food arrived and to my husbands disgust it looked more like a bacon tart with a sprinkling of melted cheese on top. He got the waiters attention and complained that it didn't resemble a quiche as one would expect. Instead of apologising he retorted telling him what the ingredients were. We left only paying for our tea, which is overpriced and would of expected as recompense a reduction in the price of the tea as a gesture of goodwill. We got into our car and the owner of the cafe walked past, my husband confronted him about the food and he was extremely rude, arrogant and opinionated, again unexpected and certainly not conducive to servicing with the public. Consequently, we went to the co-op to get our lunch only to find a member of staff buying goods.

Definitely will not be visiting again and will be going to the No. 1 delicatessen in the same village but with a completely different attitude, service, products and food. We would recommend that anyone who reads this visits the No. 1 deli instead.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafeclare_12, Owner at Cafe Clare, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I was expecting this after your visit yesterday and I am not going into a long reply as this was discussed with you yesterday. When the staff were trying to lay up the table the newspapers were spread all over and no effort was made on your part to move them, which you eventually did but she had to put the cutlery on top of the papers. As my husband was walking to his car you rudely opened your car door and asked if he was the manager of 'that place up there'. You stated that you make quiche Lorraine and you know what it should be like - yes and we make it as well. Two cooks work will never look the same. There was a lady eating the same quiche as yourselves at the same time and when she left she said what a delicious quiche. The member of staff buying goods at the co-op was purchasing soya milk, which we don't stock, for a customer who required it. This is part of the personal service we offer our customers. You purchased a branded quiche from the co-op and rudely gave it to the member of staff, if this is the standard of quiche you like then I can understand why you didn't like ours. The kitchen does get busy and as all food is freshly prepared there is sometimes a wait and as soon as the food is ready the staff take it to your table. The waiting staff may talk to each other but only when all the drinks are served and tables are laid up. We are disappointed you didn't enjoy your experience at our café but we know that we can't please all the people all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Suffolk experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I frequently commute at weekends from Essex to Suffolk for work and have often made a point of stopping at Café Clare as my cafe of choice. Depending on my schedule it will often be a breakfast or lunch and I have always been impressed at how my meal is often tailored at no extra charge or with no extra fuss to my own individual whim. It is nice to eat in a pleasant environment when there's the added flexibility to the menu that caters for individual preferences. The prices are competitive and reflect the individual attention every meal gets in its preparation and completion. There is variety over time and periodic additions to the menu that pleasantly surprise. This is a template I feel for a good restaurant boasting a real Suffolk feel. Bravo!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I visited cafe Clare on Boxing Day this year. The food was delicious and piping hot and the service was absolutely lovely. The atmosphere was homely and the staff were very friendly I highly recommend a visit to this old-fashioned style cafe

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Landrover2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Went to the café, after a walk in the pleasant village of Clare. The Staff very pleasant,but seemed since change of ownership in the last couple of years, to lost it`s bohemian feel.The place hadn`t changed, except for an enlargement upstairs , but the atmosphere was it seemed to me,diluted, form the feel on previous visits.The soup we had was ok, the bread average at best. The price seemed very high, but the soup was was hot.I used to be a couple of years ago a frequent visitor, but now I will give a miss, although again the staff were good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Clare also viewed

Clare, Suffolk
Clare, Suffolk
 

Been to Cafe Clare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing