We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, comfortable, welcoming, and private.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walnuts Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Walnuts Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 West Row B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable, welcoming, and private.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here boxing day 2013, absolutely perfect.
We were supposed to be in Cosy Cottage but, due to electrical issues at that cottage, we were moved to the Old Stores. The proprietor could not have been more welcoming or helpful, making sure we had access to a private hot tub as that was one of the reasons we had chosen the property.
We looked round a few of the cottages the next day before we left and they are all wonderful. Old Stores definitely has the most luxe feel to it (but also has the smallest kitchen). Massive super comfy bed, and a really comfy couch by the fire. Beautiful old building.
We had spent a day in Cambridge with a fab lunch, so were happy to self-cater in the evening. Although small the kitchen had everything we needed. The breakfast was top notch and it was lovely having it delivered to our room so we didn't have to get out of our PJs! Fridge stocked with complimentary soft drinks and beers - plus a complimentary bottle of bucks fizz - all nice touches.
The location was perfect - close to the A11 etc, but so peaceful and quiet (we did get a bit lost finding it so take a decent map!).
This is definitely a good option if you're looking for a romantic feel. Four posters and chandeliers, and private hot tubs, without feeling cheesy or over the top. The two bedroom cottages would work well for families with a very romantic setup for parents once kids are asleep.

Room Tip: Old Stores - very spacious, super comfy bed, comfy couch, small dining table. Tiny but fully equippe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
116
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a weekend break with my wife, we wanted a nice relaxing weekend away and the walnuts proved to be the perfect location and accommodation. Dianne and Steve are the perfect hosts, very attentive friendly and helpful. As an added bonus they also offer beauty treatments to help you relax even further, be warned, we were so comfortable Saturday night that we almost didn't go out for a meal! The rooms have all you need with nice touches such as local takeaway menus and playing cards. The location is ideally located for local forest walks such as Elveden and Thetford and Newmarket is a stones throw away. Would not hesitate to recommend this delightful b&b.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay and couldn't fault anything it was just beautiful. Would definitely return and would definitely be recommending it to all friends and family. The breakfast was even fantastic.
We usually have a problem with never enough coffee but there was even enough of that just have to say thank you for a Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerenroberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from the walnuts it was brilliant Diane and Steve are lovely they work so hard to make sure your stay is good would recommend this to anyone. There is complimentary food and drink and open fires. Would go again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barney084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We used The Walnuts as a base for our wedding in Ely and our hosts could not have done more to make our stay wonderful. They welcomed our whole party of 24 with open arms and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and breakfast was great too. The spa treatments were excellent also. To make it more special for us they put up Just Married banners, gave us bubbly with strawberries and chocs and petals in a heart shape on our bed. On the morning of the wedding my nail split and Dianne went to town to get glue to fix it. She also helped to get my dress done up too. We would recommend this as a weekend getaway. What an amazing couple and brilliant set up. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have just returned from The Walnuts where we celebrated our Honeymoon, we stayed in Bread Oven Cottage and have hard the most wonderful time.

On our arrival we were delighted and surprised to be met with chilled champagne and a "Just Married" banner on our front door and also inside the cottage, our hot tub was bubbling and we wasted no time in jumping in.

The cottage itself was clean and beautifully decorated, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was equally as lovely.

There are lots of unexpected little extras that make all the difference and for which we were most grateful; bread, milk, a beer and some breakfast supplies to name but a few.

Our hosts Steve and Diane were simply fantastic, we ordered breakfast on Sunday morning and it arrived freshly cooked and hot at exactly the time we ordered it. It was one of the nicest breakfasts we've had, and we're pretty fussy!

The hot tub was the one of the main requirements for us and we were not disappointed, even the torrential rain didn't put us off, when we weren't sitting in the rain we sipped champagne and relaxed by candlelight and fairy lights, it was perfect.

We can't recommend this little cottage enough

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlym666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I am loath to write this, as the proprietors could not have been more friendly, welcoming or accommodating. The first thing to say is that the reality of the interior of the house does not match the more up-market image presented on their website. House in the country it certainly is, however, 'Country House' creates a rather different impression; it may well be Grade II listed, but is in need of some renovation. You enter via the kitchen through tired communal area - with a fabulous open fireplace - but currently given over to the owners' cats. Although our generous-sized bedroom had some nice touches like the brass bed and Victorian pine cupboard, the interior could really use some basic overall updating. The mattress was very soft, not ideal for those with a need for better support. Breakfast is served in the bedroom, as there is no communal area downstairs in which to eat. Breakfast itself was fine although from the website you wonder why they do not stretch to something a little more appetizing than packet butter and jam, a shame as they had thoughtfully left orange juice, yogurt and an extra carton of fresh milk in the fridge also containing a small selection of complimentary soft drinks, beer and cider. The bathroom was outside the bedroom, and although windowless, was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspectorFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Row
7.2 mi away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
4.4 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walnuts Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walnuts Country House

Property: The Walnuts Country House
Address: 101 Friday Street, West Row, Mildenhall IP28 8PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall > West Row
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Walnuts Country House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Walnuts is a 300 year old Grade II listed country house set within 2 acres of paddocks, 2 miles from Mildenhall and Thetford Forest. Guests can enjoy spa treatments and an in-room free mini-bar. Rooms and cottages at The Walnuts feature a free mini-bar, WiFi, Freeview, DVD selection, bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton sheets. Thetford Forest 3 miles, Newmarket and Ely 20 min drive, Cambridge 30 mins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Walnuts Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing