We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pattingham
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a single night, after winning the night's accommodation (not including breakfast, just a room) from him joining Lloyds TSB. We could've chosen to stay at over 100 of the sponsored hotels, but being from Shropshire and it only being for one night, we decided travelling far wasn't cost-effective, and Patshull Park Hotel had the best amenities and offers, it being a hotel aswell as golf and country club, with spa and gym facilities, etc.

We arrived approximately at 4pm, and although it was pitch black by then and raining, we already loved the hotel. The receptionist greeted us and was very friendly, and we were given our keys to room 16, after filling in our details. Our room, on the first-floor, was spotlessly clean and quite large considering we were non-paying guests. It had a king-sized bed with beautifully white sheets, a dressing area, a television with channels that actually worked and wasnt tuned into random other channels as Ive found throughout my experience, most hotels have; and a moderately sized bathroom, with the usual complimentary toileteries, and good quality towels. In the double full-mirrored wardrobe we were even provided with an ironing board and iron, and even a Kirby trouser press. All very Alan Partridge! The only thing I found disappointing about the room was our view from a tiny window, which was of some dustbins and golf buggies. We did enquire as to getting a lake view room, but it would have cost us £20 and for one night it wasn't worth it.

We decided for the evening's entertainment to boycott the hotel entirely, as two Christmas parties were being held. We would have been allowed to attend one Christmas party, the hotels' own, at £25-per-head a ticket, which would have provided a three-course meal, disco, and the chance to meet the Mayor of Wolverhampton (woohoo), but we decided not to go for it. If the drinks had've been involved in the price, we would have, but once we saw the prices of the hotel drinks at £5+ a pint, we decided to travel into Pattingham, the local village for the evening. Also, the clientele of the hotel were quite obnoxious and rude, but I suppose that comes with being overinflated with silicone and money, so yes, we went into Pattingham.

I would strongly advise taking your own transport if travelling to and from Pattingham to the hotel while your staying (we were drove there by my boyfriend's brother), because the taxi wait and fare is ludicrous from the hotel. I am fully aware the hotel is in the country, but there was no need for us to wait until 10pm for a taxi when we had ordered it at 8.45pm, and had the hotel receptionist ring up Signal Taxi's as to its whereabouts numerous times. I also slipped down the steps leading down to the taxi when it arrived, due to them being pitch black and not having the legal white stripe across them in dark areas, but no damage was done so unfortunately I couldnt sue ;) We then paid £8 for a 1.5 mile trip into Pattingham (this being before time and a half at midnight) and were dropped off at The Pigot Arms, which had been recommended to us by the hotel receptionist. We had a great night at The Pigot Arms, the drinks were a great price for a country pub, and the food was lovely. We stayed until just before midnight so as not to be charged time and a half from the taxi service (£14 approximately) and returned to our rooms.

We also used twice the spa facilities at the hotel, which were absolutely fantastic, and free for us to use, as we were staying at the hotel. I cannot swim, but the swimming pool is all a shallow depth anyway so we went into the pool, used the amazing hot tub, the sauna's and the sunbeds, and utterly felt relax. There's nothing like feeling your rich when you come downstairs in the morning and sit in a hot tub, looking through the huge windows of the hotel, overlooking a lake with swans in!

Overall, I think its an absolutely fantastic hotel. We didnt dine there because of the prices (including not having breakfast), but I truly cannot fault this hotel. I wouldnt stay there on business or, like two poor German souls who were travelling to Birmingham airport very early in the morning, shrieked when they found out how far they were from Birmingham when first talking to the hotel receptionist upon arrival - book it for airport transfers; but for leisurely activities and a lovely stay, absolutely, book it. Probably not best for young children, more an older families and couples getaway, but overall, brilliant.

Room Tip: use the spa facilities! soak in the hot tub and dont let any obnoxious fool bully you out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgelikiADDICTION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear AgelikiADDICTION,

Thank you for your substantial and favourable review ; we are delighted that you found the staff welcoming , and that the standards of housekeeping exceeded your expectations .We have upgraded our hotel linen and of all the hotel televisions in recent months , and I am pleased that these improvements have been noted .
The hotel was as you state , very busy with party nights during your stay . We do also offer a full coffee shop and room service menu at extremely competitive prices , and our draught beer prices range from £2.95 for Marstons Bitter , up to £4.10 for Peroni premium lager.
I hope that you may consider returning to Patshull in 2012 ; we run several classes , and offer an extensive range memberships and pamper treatments in our Health and Fitness Club.

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    182
    70
    37
    13
See reviews for
82
155
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, cheshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

This will be our 4th New Years Eve 3 night break and we are all packed ready to go...... We have NO complaints about any of our stays. The staff are first class in every department. The food is fabulous in all areas especially New Years Eve, everyone is catered for and nothing is ever to much trouble for the team even when under pressure. The restaurant on the night before and the night after when there is only the residents is lovely and quiet and everyone talks to one another. We see the same people year on year and it is lovely to catch up. The breakfast on New Years Day is very late and very relaxed so that everyone can have a lie in. The spa treatments are great, we have 5 booked for Friday and Saturday to get us all relaxed for the big night. The lads are golfing, what could be better.... Here's hoping tomorrow comes quick... Well done Patshull Park

Room Tip: Book the rooms with the balconies, patios and lake view - Outstanding and if you are lucky, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear LindaLooWarrington,

Thank you for your kind words ; it is lovely to get such positive comments from one of our regular New Year residents . A lot of hard work and planning goes into the gala evening , the hotel staff will be delighted with your feedback.

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed at the Patshull Park Hotel last night on a business trip. The scenery of the hotel is very picturesque and I could not find fault in this hotel. We stayed on a bed and breakfast rate and the breakfast was very nice. With a wide range to suit everyone's needs. The staff were very polite and accommodating and check in was very smooth considering the amount of us checking in. After hearing that the hotel was like a "throwback from the 70's" I had my doubts. But my thoughts were soon changed the rooms were very nice and comfortable and was able to sleep right through with no disturbances. The hotel bar was also open till around 2.00 which by then everyone was ready for bed.

Even though the hotel is away from the city center of Wolverhampton I would definitely recommend staying here.

Will be looking to book soon for me and my partner for some time in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manchester235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Dear Manchester235,

Thank you for the positive feedback following your recent stay ; we attract many business clients who wish to be near to Wolverhampton and Telford , but who prefer the tranquility ,ambience and value for money that Patshull Park can offer to business and
leisure clients alike .

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Marvelous stay at the Patshull Park. Beautiful location, especially the lake view at breakfast. Lovely room, very comfortable, super king sized bed, quiet and very clean. The food was good at dinner and breakfast. The pool an added bonus, very good size and warm - the only downside, no mixed sauna bu Jacuzzi was fine. Staff attentive and smiling.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amzeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Dear Amzeed ,

Thank you for your review of our hotel - on behalf of the team may I thank you for the positive comments about levels of hospitalty and friendly service across the hotel departments , we do appreciate the recognition .

Our extensive Health and Fitness club has a full size sauna and steam room in each of the changing rooms , however I am pleased that the poolside jacuzzi also met your expectations . We also have two beauty therapists on site who offer a wide range of specialist beauty treatments and massages, plus a substantial weekly programme of fitness events to suit every need .

Kind regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

just returned from a 3 day stay at patshull we have been going for 8 years and hope to make it 9 again the food was excellent and service top notch nothing seems to much problem for anyone both in earls bar or main restaurant bar the rooms maybe 70 ,s decor but you only sleep in the room i will say if you have a room near function areas it could be noisy but all in all the hotel and golf course is relaxing and friendly thanks to sarah and ruth (earls bar).
see you next year

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from function areas rooms 35 excellent with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenKimbell, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear phil w ,
Thank you for your glowing comments about Patshull Park , and in particular those regarding the willingness of the staff who endeavour to meet , and exceed our customer expectations by offering friendly service with a 'can do ' attitude .
For clients who are attending functions , we try and allocate the bedrooms nearer to the public areas , but this can occasionally be difficult to fully achieve .
Hopefully we will one day be able to add on more Lakeside bedrooms as they are in consistent demand from our many repeat golfing and corporate clients .
See you in 2012 !

Best regards

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

As a PGA Golf Pro & having the opportunity to visit many different Golf Hotel complex's throughout the country Patshull Park has to be one of the best!
I took a group of my members, 20 in total & we arrived for action on Friday 30th Sept & from that point we were looked after with a friendly, professional manner.

The golf shop manager Dave was great, everything ran perfectly, the course was great given the hard summer & everyone enjoyed the course.

The food was good, nice menu, good service & having the views looking over the lake from the restaurant was just perfect.

Hotel rooms were clean, comfortable & quiet. Some of my group enjoyed the reasonable priced bar until the early hours.

To sum up, we had a great weekend, Patshull Park is a great venue for anyone looking for a golfbreak weekend away & I am so happy that I've booked again in 2012!

Room Tip: Get a Lake View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardsgolfshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenthomas, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Richardsg...

Thank you for a very heartening review , we all appreciate the positive sentiments that have been broadcast since your recent stay at Patshull Park .
It is pleasing to know that your group of golfers will return in 2012 , and that you found all aspects of your stay to be of a good standard .

Best regards ,

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Was staying at patshull last weekend. The room was something from the 60s.food was excellent apart from the price of a beer £4.10 A pint shocking!!! Staff" were do I start! The receptionist of the hotel!! I cannot believe someone gave him a job!!! very unhelpful and ignorant on arrival and departure. I seen him speaking to a guest like I would not talk to my worst enemy.that's no way for staff to act.the golf corse is amazing and so are the views.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drdeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelanieJenksRM, General Manager at Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Dear Drdeecee,

Thank you for your comments following your stay last weekend .

The reference to 60's bedrooms is something we are working to overcome ;all bedrooms are now fitted with zip and link mattresses ,quality duvets , and flat screen / freeview TV's which are being installed on a phased basis with the last ten rooms due to be installed in November .

The majority of our beer prices range from £2.95 a pint to £3.70 a pint - our top range lager , Peroni , is priced at £4.10 simply to reflect the high cost price .

On the weekend in question, the reception team were endeavouring to resolve a contractual issue with a group organiser .This matter was finally resolved away from the desk by the Duty Manager , and I apologise if this debate marred your impression.

We are delighted that you found the quality of the food to be excellent , and that you also enjoyed the views across our 18 hole lakeside golf course .

Yours sincerely

Stephen Kimbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pattingham
4.6 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
22.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
6.8 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
6.5 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club

Property: Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
Address: Patshull Road, Pattingham WV6 7HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Pattingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pattingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within easy access of Wolverhampton and Telford, Patshull Park Hotel offers a relaxing retreat with beautiful surroundings and great leisure facilities. The 49 bedrooms are well equipped and have really comfortable beds. The hotel is situated within 250 acres of spectacular Capability Brown parkland which includes an 18 hole 6400yd Par 72 golf course and overlooks the Great Lake. The Health and Fitness Club has an indoor pool, solarium, gymnasium, cardio suite, saunas, steam room, and beauty therapist . Friendly, helpful staff provide a warm welcome and excellent assistance during any stay. The 49 well appointed bedrooms are all tastefully furnished, with many overlooking the golf course and those with a lake view are complete with a balcony or patio. All rooms are equipped with modern facilities i.E. Tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and TV with Sky channels inc. Sky Sports. The family rooms comprise a double bed and a single bed, whilst the superior rooms are guaranteed to have wonderful views. The Lakeside Restaurant serves imaginatively created dishes made from local produce, and for less formal meals there is Earl's Brasserie that offers a range of tasty snacks and bar meals throughout the day. The Kingfisher Bar in the hotel lounge is perfect when you just want to sit, relax and perhaps enjoy a bar meal with a drink or two. There are two main banqueting / meeting rooms that are very popular for Weddings , Conferences , Corporate Golf Days , and Dinner Dances. Patshull Park Hotel has a lot to offer ; great golf, extensive health and fitness facilities, walks and relaxation , all in addition to superb trout, pike and coarse fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patshull Park Hotel Golf And Country Club
Patshull Park Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing