We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“groupon deal with safari admission”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Himley Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“groupon deal with safari admission”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

my partner and i stayed at the Himley country hotel through a groupon deal (hotel accommodation and two tickets to the west midlands safari park) and paid an extra £50 to extend our stay to two nights.
we were give room 226, which was very quiet, but smelt very damp, this was due to not being able to open the windows to air the room.
once you had a shower, the condensation remained in the room all day and it was like entering the tropics when you walked into the room.
the room was slightly outdated, one of the wardrobe doors was only held on at the bottom with a few screws, which made it wobbly each time you opened it.
the room was very clean though, and the house keeping staff did they best they could in relation to cleanliness, but again most of this was down to it being very dated and needing a full refurbish.
The bathroom was very old looking with mould issues, but again this is because there is no ventilation in the room.
all the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was lovely, which was included in the deal that we had.
we found an excellent place to eat at the bottom of the road called the Dudley arms, as the hotel prices for food and drink were slightly over priced.
if you want somewhere to stay that is cheap and cheerful this is the place to go.

Room Tip: from what we saw there was only the ground floor that allowed for you to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephjohnson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    137
    145
    113
    177
See reviews for
129
233
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Took my parents husband and kids for afternoon tea. How dissapointing!
Call me a snob but a stained cheap looking metal teapot hardly oozes class and filthy teaspoons and milk jug and wonky cake stand isnt what you expect from a quality hotel. Sandwiches were very basic,not a traditional afternoon tea variety but fresh none the less.however the same cant be said for the scones! Dry stale and very poor quality we couldnt spread them with jam as they were breaking into bits. The cake selection was cheap and portion sizes a joke. Not at all what a traditional afternoon tea should be like. Judging by other similar reviews it seems this is an easy money maker for this hotel but in the meantime its reputation will be as stale as its scones!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank katieHM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Himley hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

You could do better. Cake very poor also sandwiches had seen better days. Come on its not that difficult.
It should be home made cake this is a hotel after all.Scones not good,and not enough cream. It would have been nice to have been offered hot water fit a 2nd cup of tea..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Once again we're back at this hotel. It's good value for money, especially getting it through the deals. had this visit for £31 through Travel Republic. Normally go through Laterooms. Had a nice quiet room at the rear of the hotel, away from the car park. Good nights sleep, clean room but the showers need attention, never seem to find one that gives a bit of a blast. However, all's forgiven at breakfast. Help yourself to what you want and all for a fiver, not bad at all. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great value £35 what more can you ask for. The only thing that's puzzling me is I have been given the same room twice now (226). Coincidence??? Wonder if this has happened to any one. But hey very quiet and I love the surroundings hence I keep going back. Would be interesting to see what room I get next. But if it's room 226 again I will have to say something. But great staff and good overall.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimbo4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

what can i say apart from oh my god... and not in a good way... the sandwiches were soggy.. the slices of cakes were like the ones you get for 50p off the market and the scones looked like they had been nibbled by someone... most of it got put in the napkin and into the bin... only glad i didn't have to pay for it! homemade cakes and scones would have been better! love to have seen Gordon Ramsey there on kitchen nightmares!! Don't do it if your thinking of booking!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank dorathexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a short getaway, we went to West Midlands Safari Park which was about 30mins away, Twycross Zoo about 45mins and Birmingham City Centre around 45mins. So the location of the hotel was good for us with quick connections to the main roads and motorways. Our first room the shower had a constant drip and even with the ensuite door closed it could still clearly be heard and prevented my other half from a decent nights sleep - we had been walking around Birmingham City Centre all day so arrived late and didn't complain that night. The shower was also hard to actually get to turn on and then when it did the control for temperature and pressure was total pot luck. The actual dial came off in my hand when trying to turn off and after some time playing around with it actually managed to turn it off. When we complained we were moved to another room but the shower problems were similar (no drip though) however we couldn't get the shower to turn off and nor could staff so it was left on until we checked out the same morning.

There were extra pillows in the cupboard but even with 2 each were still relatively flat. The beds were reasonably comfortable but I'm now more used to sleeping on memory foam so I'm not a fan of springs which these were.

The rooms were a good size as were the corridors if you had a buggy or suitcases.

Breakfast buffet was nice and even though we were late one morning (due to above problems) we were still able to eat.

It was cheap at around £30 a night. TV's were a good size, a decent amount of channels and good reception. If they fixed the showers I would probably stay again but as is I wouldn't.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent SHOWER
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
himley, Manager at Himley Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you were happy with your stay.Our maintenance team is constantly improving and updating the showers and we will continue this process.

KInd Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himley
0.1 mi away
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
3.8 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himley Country Hotel

Property: Himley Country Hotel
Address: School Road, Himley DY3 4LG, England (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Himley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Himley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Himley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himley Country Dudley
Himley Country Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing