We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Himley Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were going on holiday to a cottage near Oswestry and decided to have a couple of nights in the Dudley area .we chose this hotel as it looked o k and it was .we had a small hiccup in the room we were given as the shower wouldn't turn off ,but we were given another room and it was good.The breakfast was served in the old schoolroom plenty of choice nice and hot, excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    137
    145
    111
    171
See reviews for
126
229
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Me and my partner booked this hotel last minute for Saturday night to get a break from our families as we both live at home, locally. I had stayed before but a long time ago. We booked a double room and it was only £27 which is the cheapest hotel I have every stayed in. The room was at the side of the building over looking the car park. It was clean and comfortable - the beds were really soft and bouncy so we had a great nights sleep. The bathroom was great with a big shower and clean toilet and sink. The shower was really powerful and sparkling clean. The staff were friendly and checking in was quick and easy. There was a wedding there when we stayed and the function room looked okay, we didn't visit the restaurant as we had dinner in the Dudley Arms.

Overall a great place to stay - could not say a bad word.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and side of the hotel are quieter as they are away from the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natters91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Used a £12 voucher from living social and even at that price we were overcharged.
All the food was served on a flat plate, non of the cakes or scones were homemade. What happened to the three tier stand shown in the advert ?
All seemed to be supermarket cheap brands. Sandwiches were a little dry but ok.
We were welcomed by a very friendly waiter and seated immediately but it was downhill from then on. Surely offering these teas is meant to encourage return custom, it's not working.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonkath75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Himley hotels

birmingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had afternoon tea a few days ago, using a voucher from Amazon, okay it wasn't the Ritz, but We didn't expect it to be, unlike some people. It was quite ordinary, but very nice, and service was with a smile, would We do it again, never say never.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nettylee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our room in the "new wing" smelt and the tv did not work, but these were but minor inconveniences compared to Sunday morning breakfast.

We arrived in the restaurant at 9.30. There was a sign telling us to wait to be shown to a table. We waited ... and waited. The only member of staff in sight was too busy laying and clearing tables even to look up. We then spotted an empty table - the only one - and sat down. There was a table on which orange juice, cereals, miIk and fruit had been set out - only the jugs and most of the food containers were empty. There was a queue of about 20 guests all lined up along virtually the whole length of the restaurant for their cooked breakfast, toast and hot drinks.

I found a second member of staff, a balding man in his late fifties, and asked him if it might be possible to have some milk and orange juice. "It's being seen to.", he told me. Ten minutes later, when nobody had refilled the jugs, I went up to him again. No apologies, just, "I've only got one pair of hands!". Later I saw him waive his hands in front of the face of another guest who had dared to ask for tomato ketchup, shouting "One pair! one pair!". This was the same member of staff who had refused to serve one of our party with a glass of water the night before, because he was in the middle of closing the bar.

It was about half an hour later, after the queue had reach reasonable proportions, that I decided to join it. What I saw was one poor girl behind the counter, almost in tears, struggling to serve all the waiting guests. When one of our party enquired why, they were told, "Half the staff have called in sick". It was not hard to see why!

I heard another guest ask to speak to the manager, only to be told by the receptionist that he was not available and to be given an e-mail address.

Perhaps I should have known what to expect, when we checked in and were asked to pay in advance the whole bill for our bed-and-breakfast - just to make sure that nobody walked out in disgust without paying, I later realised!

This is a poorly run hotel which appears to have little respect for its guests. It might look good value on paper - only £55 for b&b for a shared double room, which is probably why it is able to survive, but take my advice and go elsewhere, and pay a little more.

One last gripe! The hotel displays a Best Western sticker in the reception area, although it does not appear on the Best Western web site and no longer belongs to the Best Western Group. This must be fraudulent, were a member of the public is induced to book there under the belief that it is a Best Western. Best Western might also want to tell the present managers to remove the sticker, as it is certainly doing their company's reputation no favours!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilldweller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A friend and I were very much looking forward to a good catch up over afternoon tea, However despite asking in advance for brown bread and and advising my friend was vegetarian.
The sandwich stand arrived immediately with poor quality bread , mainly white, the waiter pointed and said the Tuna and Cheese were the vegetarian options!! there were also egg sandwiches but my friend didn't like egg.
As for the cakes well again very cheap and tiny portions, the place lacked atmosphere and warmth from the staff.
The only trouble is we both purchased deals from different Value sites, can you tell me if you serve the same on both voucher, one was Amazon local and the other Groupon.
We are struggling to find enthusiasm to return to use the other voucher.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Over the last few years i have stayed many times at this hotel in that time i think it has had as many owners.Each time it seems to have got worse but i think it has just about reached rock bottom.The room we had (211)had noise all night like a generator running i found out next morning we were over the boiler room why put anybody in a noisy room when the hotel is half empty is beyond me.The bath taps you had to be tarzan to move them they were seized up,the bath took an hour to empty,one of the bedside lamps was broken.The beds use to have nice mattresses but our bed must have had a new mattress it was really cheap and nasty you could feel the springs.Plus these days they are mean with the coffee satches two thats it.

Room Tip: Do not have room 211.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 340gerry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himley
0.1 mi away
Himley House Hotel
Himley House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
3.8 mi away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#4 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himley Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himley Country Hotel

Property: Himley Country Hotel
Address: School Road, Himley DY3 4LG, England (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Himley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Himley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Himley Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Himley Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himley Country Dudley
Himley Country Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing