We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were in Stoke on Trent for a birthday party and stayed overnight at the George hotel Burslem, the rooms are very comfortable with basic needs supplied, the hotel is a very old building in the heart of the potteries, charming decor,the private parking to the rear gets somewhat congested as the hotel is used for weddings and other private funtions, very good staff and good breakfast reasonable price.

Room Tip: pot luck, rooms to the street can be noisey
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Once upon a time in august 8 people went to a hotel in stoke called the George hotel hoping for a big night out, but what they found was quite the opposite, stoke was deserted. We opted for Hanley and we were told it was the place to be, all we saw was tumbleweed and a few drug dealers. Although being the live for the moment people we are we made the most of it and all ended up comatose. On the hotel front the people were lovely and friendly, they let us sit in the bar and play drinking games till the early hours after the dissapointment of stoke, carnage! Rooms were basic tv didn't were nor did the hairdryer. Rooms smelt of old people (no offence to old people). So the moral of the story is stoke is a dive but if your willing to put the effort in you can make a night of it. If your just looking for a place to stop after Alton towers then its fine. Anything else then I wouldn't bother. Go to newcastle hmmmmmmmeeeeee.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joshyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night July 2012 party of 5. 2 double rooms & 1 single. Rooms were clean, but the decor is very dated. Bed was comfortable & we slept well.
Walls are very very thin! You can hear the next room's whole conversation!!
Bathroom was good size, but only a small shelf to put anything on.
Shower OK, but not very powerful.
Hairdryer on wall is the oposite end of the room to the mirror, so were the plugs for my own hairdryer, which was a bit of a problem.
The prices do not match the room quality. Our 2 doubles varied greatly in size. If you have to stay here book ahead as walk in prices are extraordinary!!!! Photos of the bedrooms on the George website were misleading.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have just spent two nights at The George Hotel and found the service to be second to none. The room, although was very basic, had everything we needed but the real reason for this review is to note just how friendly the staff are. The staff could not do enough for you and really made the short trip feel like a restful break. We agree that the hotel could probably benefit from some upgrading but after being there for a short period we forgot about that and found ourselves to be really enjoying our surroundings. We would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The staff are very nice and polite but at first we were put into a room that is much smaller than advertised on the website then when I looked at the bed sheets the duvet cover was fresh but there was coffee all over the duvet!! Unacceptable if you ask me! The hotel is quite confusing to navigate round but £45 a night is a bit too much, should be about £30 a night if they don't want to bother washing the sheets and also there quite a few old pigeon mess marks on the window.

Problem with cleanliness, I wouldnt call this hotel quality more like a Hostel.

Room Tip: If you get placed in a room that does not look like the picture on the website ask to be moved strai...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

i had my wedding here on the 26thmay and it couldnt have been more perfect the food was delicious all of it served piping hot and plenty of it. the service was brilliant rooms lovely big and clean and a special mention to sharon the manager who made sure our every need was met

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in the george hotel as we where travelling to alton towers on a day trip, the hotel staff where friendly and helpful, although this was let down by 1 member of staff on reception who just couldnt be bothered dealing withh any of our questions or queries, we considered complaining until we met Sharon that evening on hotel reception who was so friendly an warming and would have went completly out of her way to make us comfortable, nothing was any trouble! the rooms where warm comfortable and cosy equipped with fully running free view teles which was perfect for us when we came back from alton towers extremley cold and extremely wet. Over all a very pleasurable and comfortable stay at the george hotel berslum ;)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweir88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burslem
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
539 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Swan Square, Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 2AE, England (Formerly Swallow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Burslem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Price Range: £38 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Stoke On Trent
George Hotel Burslem, Stoke-On-Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing