We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here on business. Just off the M1, easy parking, easy check in, despite the hotel being full. Room on the first floor, I'd asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking the car park. The room was very clean, loved the wet room, comfy bed, free wifi. Perfect, and I slept really well with the window open, didn't hear a thing.

A crowd of us used the bar, good service and reasonable prices. We all ate in the restaurant, that was a mistake. Pretty awful really, we should have gone to the Toby Inn next door, my lamb cutlets were horrible. The breakfast was completely different, self service, good choice all really fresh, enjoyed it. I'd stay here again but definitely wouldn't eat in the restaurant, other than breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, avoid the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are sorry you did not enjoy your meal and we would have been happy to replace it with anothe meal you may have enjoyed

We hope you will use us again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    216
    92
    41
    30
See reviews for
74
211
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Where do I start?!

Room was booked on the phone as a twin but on arrival was told they don't offer twin rooms. Obviously the opportunity to claw some more money out of us managed to change that policy as we were charged extra for the use of the tiny sofa bed.

We had to ask 5 times for an extra towel as there was only one in the room. Plenty of false smiles and "sorry sir" platitudes but with an obvious underlying "can't be bothered" attitude. In the end we gave up and took one from the trolley in the corridor. There were no toiletries in the bathroom and although there was a tiny card in the bathroom stating we should ask for anything that was needed, requests for some shower gel were ignored.

We had a pleasant first evening in the bar although constantly having to try to find someone to serve at the bar started to get annoying. Understandable if there was only 1 or 2 people in the bar but there was a lot of us.

Breakfast wasn't too bad with plenty on offer although be prepared to wait for the world's slowest toaster and also wait for the dishes to be replenished if it's busy. Also make sure you get your last cup of tea or coffee before 10.30 as at 10.31 you will be charged for it.

The second evening was quite a contrast to the first. We were there for our friends wedding and they had reserved quite a few rooms for the guests. Some guests on arrival found that their reserved rooms had been released and booked out so they ended up with nowhere to sleep! I clearly overheard a conversation with the receptionist saying "How is that my problem". What an appalling attitude!

As the wedding reception was being held in the hotel bar they decided to increase the prices from the previous night and were charging ridiculous amounts for drinks. £11 for 2 small glasses of cheap wine, £4.60 for a bottle of Newcastle Brown Ale, £2.50 for a small bottle of coke, £3.90 for a pint of cider that was £3.60 the night before. 4 star prices but a 2 star accommodation. No wonder many of the guests were going to the pub across the car park to get their drinks

There was a lot of staff hovering about pouncing on any unattended glasses regardless of the fact that they still had drink in them. Some of the staff with sullen and disapproving looks on their faces as if enjoying ourselves was somehow not allowed. (Although the girl on reception with long black hair was a delight to speak to and always happy with a cheerful word and a lovely smile) They even started clearing tables of table cloths and decorations while guests were still sat at the tables. The general feeling I got was that they were happy to take everyone's money but didn't want to provide the service to go with it.

Lots of our friends had their door key cards cancelled and had to get them re programmed for the 2nd night. The internet connection was non-existent and oddly there was no mobile signal inside the building although as soon as you went out into the car park it was back to full strength.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I was very sorry to hear your problems while staying at our hotel.

I would have liked the opertunity to discuss this with you unfortunaley I do not have your information, if you could contact me I would be happy to look into the problems you had.

I have checked with all my staff and they are very surprised you did not speak to them during your stay.

We do not have any twin bedded rooms in our hotel only a doulbe bed with a single sofa and we do not charge a fee for having the sofa bed only if a third person is staying in the room. Would like to discuss this with you further.

The person you asked for towels did instruct housekeeping and they are sorry this did not happen. We provide hand soap and shower gel on the wall in a soap dispenser and I can only apologise if your dispenser was not re filled.

Breakfast is served from 7a.m. to 10.30 in all you can eat and drink however after service of breakfast we do sell coffee and tea through the day.

Regarding the rooms we did not book any guests out of the hotel and again would have been happy to discuss the comment with you, as How is that my problem is not how I would expect any member of staff to behave

I would dispute strongley that we put our prices up on the second night, this did not happen our tills are product tills and the prices can not be changed by my staff, if a mistake had occured I would be happy to rectify this at any time. As for the Newcastle Ale this was purchased for the wedding as a special request by the bride and groom, the prices are not 4 star as £3.60 for a cider is a standard pub price, however a number of wedding guests where asked to stop brining alchol into the hotel from outside and I am sorry this was happening and we had to deal with it at the time. Please contact me to discuss further Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

5th time i`ve stayed when visiting family. stay in disabled room and have no faults but one , and that was for a shower curtain , and on my recent visit a shower curtain and rail had been installed.which shows , management do listen to guests.always clean and tidy and staff cant do enough for you.some say breakfast expensive but the choice is as good as any hotel i`ve stayed in. except the hilton in brighton where a chef stood behind the counter and cooked your eggs and omelettes to order. but that was £150 per night. these hotels are designed for short stays and that is what most people do,so people who moan about the littlest things , should get a life or pay the money for a superior hotel.

Room Tip: because of its position, your going to get noise if you sleep with the windows open.but you`ll get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfkuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review

Great to see you enjoyed your stay with us

We hope you visit again soon

Thank you again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a place to crash after party at a local residence in the nearby village. The hotel is a standard chain hotel, nothing special but nothing terrible either. All rooms have double bed so found myself sharing with my mother, the beds are VERY small, perhaps one of the smallest doubles I've ever slept in. Not very long either so tall folks might struggle.

There is a shower wet room with a basin, toilet and shower in a compartment of its own but with no shower tray, curtain or closeable glass screen, the water pressure is adequate but the design of the bathroom leaves the whole thing open to getting a soaking, or at the very least LOTS of condensation, while wet room smelt damp.

There is no wardrobe either just open hanging space for your things, not a problem for us for one night but for a longer stay might not be appropriate.

On entering the hotel for our stay there were two signs on reception, the first saying the wifi was down, the second saying there was a private party in the bar that night and so we wouldn't be able to use it - again this didn't matter to us as we were heading out for the night but if you'd intended to use it it might have been annoying. Check with the hotel when you book if there is a function as this seems to be a common occurrence.

Rooms are allocated on arrival, we checked in nice and early so had a choice of room, we asked for quiet and got one away from the motorway and on the opposite side to the car park overlooking the rail line. This wasn't running the night we stayed so we were fine, however with a motorway, a rail line and a car park on a main a road roundabout being the three sides to the hotel there wouldn't really BE a quiet side midweek.... Take earplugs!

All in all fine for purpose and clean. Just not as good as premier inn!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank XRAY_Bobsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review, all feedback helps us to improve, rooms are available at 29.00 so would like to offer this on your next stay and ensure you have a room that is not shared.

Bathroom is a wet room and sorry if you did not enjoy

The bar is not closed to our guests only the Hub area and we would be happy to serve any guest

Thank you again for your review

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Got it at a good price..... Staff not fully 'customer focused' place clean and tidy.. Offers free wifi all over hotel but when on your room it doesn't connect.. Caution if its too hot because no fans in the room kept window open but downside to that is the motorway.... Places to eat are limited unless you drive, restaurant in hotel and Toby Carvery opposite...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidArliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your review

Sorry you did not like our hotel we do pride ourselves on guest service and I am sorry you felt we let you down

Thank you again for your review as all guest feeedback helps us to improve

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Last time we had issues with the noise from the fire doors banging in the night and morning so requested a room away from the two on the corridor. That made all the difference to our night's sleep. Our room was clean, large for a budget hotel, and at £29 a night, excellent value. Welcome was a little lacking, not rude but a hint of a smile would help even if it's not sincere. Didn't eat or drink there, went to the excellent Curry Mahal in Dodworth which also offers good pub fare in the Travellers Arms. Parking is plentiful and access to the motorway and surrounding countryside is excellent. Well worth considering before Travelodge if you get a deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review

See you soon

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel in July with a good offer. Whilst room was ok was astounded that there was no air conditioning considering this is a fairly new hotel and about 100 yards from very noisy motorway. It was a hot weekend and so we had to have the window open. Also pillows were awful and bed low. Fodd was nice and staff pleasant but shan't go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you will not return, we do have a number of fans in the hotel but unfortunatley in hot weather it can be very warm.

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing