We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Ramada Encore on 18/10/13 after watching my football team Middlesbrough lose at Barnsley.

The hotel is easy to find, straight off the M1 and is a very short drive from Oakwell Stadium and the town.

We got a good deal for this £29 for the night. The room was clean, spacious, had a settee, walk in shower, flat screen tv and an internet cable to plug into a laptop which was free to use and much more useful than having to pay for a password at reception. It was a comfortable, quiet nights sleep.

I never had breakfast here but there is a toby carvery next to the hotel which seemed to be better value, thought I didn't try this either. There is plenty of parking space and the hotel staff were friendly/helpful.

An ideal place to stay if visiting Barnsley, Meadowhall is also a short drive away too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoJonno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your great review and look forward to seeing you again.

I would like to say our breakfast works out better value as ours is all inclusive at the Toby, orange juice, tea, coffee all charged for as taken so this gives an impression of better value.

See you soon

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    237
    103
    45
    32
See reviews for
88
232
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel gets five stars because it was beautifully clean, the internet cable in the room mean no passwords or internet problems, the staff were helpful and friendly, the walk-in shower room-toilet-washbasin was beautifully furbished and the floors were wooden, so no hidden dirt. The breakfast was adequate and the eggs were prepared to order. I have paid more for a much less pleasant room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear we do look after our guests as this is our aim

Thank you again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for the mystery weekend and had a brill night apart from the kitchen running out of soup for three of our table including one of the actressess for our starter. My sister had starved herself all day for it to be told there was none left only pate which the three declined . We also didnt recieve our complimentary glass of wine which never mind. The room was lovely and clean and felt a bit guilty that I asked for a twin room for myself and daughter.didnt realise they would have to put the bed settee up and I ended up sleeping with her because it was unconfortable so sorry for the messing .good hotel friendly staff .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spennerowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review

I am sorry we ran out of the soup your dinner however it was the vegetarian option as pate was the actual starter for the guests.

Due to your feedback we have changed the starter to soup for the dinner this weekend

I have checked with the event supplier who you purchased the dinner from and they assure me wine was not included in your package

Thank you again and hope to see you again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. Firstly staff very nice, rooms good, location excellent, buffet breakfast good value and a Vegetable Curry that would bring one back. BUT there is one drawback the buffet breakfast is not always available and its unavailability is nothing to do with unforeseen problems but a management decision to save money. The hotel makes a selling point of its buffet breakfast of hot and cold food.It is a product that it offers and takes payment for and in my book that is a sort of contract. I pay the money - the service offered is provided.
Well with the buffet breakfast that is not always the case. We were booked in Friday and Saturday night and I had to be somewhere before 8 am on Saturday and stay there for 6-8 hours and where no food or drink was available. I hoped to fill up on the breakfast to see me through. I went to the buffet at 7.15 am- (Buffet starts at 7.00 am) to find no hot food and hot food only served to order. I remonstrated with some junior manager who blithely told me that since they don't get many people that early they don't provide the hot buffet but only food to order. I wonder if the owners of the hotel chain are happy with a manager changing the product to suit the manager's ideas of economy. I demanded a refund- got it and made sure that we spent no more money in the hotel even depriving myself of a nice curry. I always believe in making hotels lose money if they do not provide a service offered. Sunday morning saw us on our way to Tesco's for a breakfast or we could have gone to Wetherspoons or Morrisons. By not spending money on an evening meal or breakfast or drinks I reckon I cost the hotel more than it saved in not producing its buffet like it promised.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review

I am sorry you did not get your breakfast and you felt we had let you down, I can assure you it is nothing to do with saving money it is all about the hot items sitting for hours not being used, so to ensure all guests get a fresh breakfast on weekends we offer table service at 7a.m. and you would have been welcom to as much as you wanted, It would have taken very little time to prepare as we are all ready in the kitchen for this service.

Once again I am sorry you felt we let you down

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

First the good news, hotel has great location just off M1 and plenty of parking. It is modern, clean and has free cable internet access in the room. The restaurant has a half decent menu and the breakfast was better than normal buffet from the likes of Holiday Inn Express or PTIs. Next door is a Toby Carvery if you don't fancy hotel grub.

On the negative side there appeared to be a distinct lack of staff on duty during my stay. Took over 20 minutes to check in whilst the only receptionist on duty dealt with a woman organising a Christmas party booking, then at dinner another 20 minutes to have my order taken, even had a wait to settle my bill.

I have been to many hotels throughout the UK over the last few years and measure their offering and performance in one simple question "would I go back?" On this occasion I would say yes if in Burnley

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xeriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review and glad to see you will return to us

Will look into the staffing levels

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

yep, at £35 per room per night via laterooms, a good value, one night stopover, late check in was no problem, rooms clean, fresh and tidy, comes recommended, good and safe parking and east access from the M1

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments we look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here on business. Just off the M1, easy parking, easy check in, despite the hotel being full. Room on the first floor, I'd asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking the car park. The room was very clean, loved the wet room, comfy bed, free wifi. Perfect, and I slept really well with the window open, didn't hear a thing.

A crowd of us used the bar, good service and reasonable prices. We all ate in the restaurant, that was a mistake. Pretty awful really, we should have gone to the Toby Inn next door, my lamb cutlets were horrible. The breakfast was completely different, self service, good choice all really fresh, enjoyed it. I'd stay here again but definitely wouldn't eat in the restaurant, other than breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, avoid the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are sorry you did not enjoy your meal and we would have been happy to replace it with anothe meal you may have enjoyed

We hope you will use us again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
536 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.2 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
748 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing