We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meeting our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Meeting our needs”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I were more than pleased with the flexibility applied by Ben Potterton the reception manager at the Encore Ramada at Barnsley . He offered us very economical rates which met the needs of the hotel ( i.e. filling the rooms during quiet periods ) and us .
The hotel was clean , comfortable and offered a more than adequate buffet breakfast . All of the staff were curteous and very helpful . We are going back for a second visit in 3 weeks time , and I am sure it will not be the last .

Room Tip: Leave it to the very competant reception manager Ben Potterton . He is a good listener , and I am su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Great to hear Ben looked after you

Regards


Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    220
    96
    42
    31
See reviews for
80
216
36
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just had an evening meal with friends, ambience similar to a leisure centre , service poor , quality of food absolutely shocking more on a par with a motorway service station, cold starter, tough meat cold and overdone veg altogether bad experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank langster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us.

Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My partner and i stayed on a Saturday night as we were attending a football match and at £25 for the room we thought we'd make a night of it as well.

The hotel was conveniently situated off the motorway and next door is a good value Toby Carvery and the hotel also does good value food, at £7 the breakfast is excellent value.

Our room was clean, and surprisingly spacious given it being a 'budget' hotel. The facilities in the rooms were on par with other hotels which are more expensive. We knew that wifi may not be possible in our room however the polite and helpful receptionist gave us a room in which she thought might be able to get wifi, however this was not the case but this is a minor gripe, it didn't spoil our stay at all.

The staff were helpful and gave us lots of useful tips on the local area. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, was great to read you enjoyed your stay. We will hopefully see you again in the near future.
Dawne Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford upon avon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We managed to get a room for £25 on a Saturday night so were a little apprehensive when we arrived. We need not have worried as the hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the Breakfast (£7 extra) was good.
If I was in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review

Look forward to seeing you soon

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked in for our Groupon offer of a 2 course meal & drink on sunday 16th feb at 7.30, we were greeted by a friendly staff member who showed us to our table and took our order, the meal was lovely and I can recommend to beer battered brie and the mixed grill, all in all well worth the offer but I'm not sure if I would pay £12.95 for the mixed grill on a normal day.
We would return and the two ladies that were working that evening were delightfull, thank you.
Ann & Andy x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review

Hope you will use us again

Lots of deals and offers coming up

Regards

Dawne Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Saw a Valentines special offer - £50 dinner bed & breakfast for two people, and thought it's a great offer. I've been to the hotel a few times for meetings/training but never stayed before. Room was lovely - clean, warm and thick blackout curtains. Evening meal was lovely. My husband commented that the swordfish was a larger piece and tastier than the one he'd recently had in a West Midlands hotel. Breakfast was really good - better than some other higher star rated hotels I've stayed in. Food beautifully cooked, hot and tasty. (I'm very fussy about my breakfast). Choice of fruit, yogurt, pastries etc.
Had a brill time - thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovehols49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we try very hard to look after our guests and its great to get your feedback

Thank you again

See you soon

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed 1 night at this hotel, it looks very inviting and upon entering is well presented, check in was quick with friendly staff. The room was clean and modern and surprisingly quite since the hotel backs onto a railway line and next to the M1.
We did not eat in the restaurant but went to a local Hungry Horse(10minute drive) next to the Hotel is a Toby which sells food.
The mattress was a tad hard for me and was stiff in the morning, but I do have back issues.
Checkout was quick
The day after though we noticed we had been bitten probably by fleas since they allow pets of any nature in the hotel but this was not mentioned to us when we booked nor on the website.

We called the hotel and the manager called us back and she certainly needs training in customer service.
I would not stay at this hotel again due to the fact they allow pets in every room I have even cancelled another stay in the near future

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
4.0 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing