We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Faultless Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Encore Barnsley and I must say for the £35 price tag it was faultless, upon check-in we were greeted by a happy smiling receptionist who quickly took payment and checked us in to room 301. When we first tried the room key it didn't seem to work so went back down to reception who asked us to try again, still not working so the receptionist came upstairs and let us in (seems that the battery was going in the door lock) this is no fault of the hotels. The room was ample size with tea and coffee making facilities as well as a clean modern bathroom. If you need any toiletries all you have to do is ask reception. Only issue with the bed itself is the pillows weren't very comfortable. We went down to the bar for a drink and was served by a friendly barman, the bar only takes card but this is probably a security measure. On checkout the receptionist again smiling checked us out swiftly and ordered a taxi back to the train station.

Overall the hotel is very nice to say it is a 'budget' hotel and the reception staff and barman were a credit to the hotel. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gareth-Patton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay

See you soon we hope

Regards

Dawne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    226
    97
    42
    32
See reviews for
82
222
37
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We too had booked this hotel for convenience and planned to stay Friday & Saturday. At no stage when booking (thru booking.com) was there any notification that there would be an event which basically took over the public area "the Hub".
We came back at 8pm from a long day out to find a party under way and the signs about 12:30 disco.
The hotel must know that there is a noise issue with parties held in the Hub - which was quite clearly not designed for such events as there would not be an atrium to all floors up which noise is funnelled.
Until around 10pm all was relatively acceptable - then the DJ got out his bass beat music. Suddenly the walls/floor of our room were vibrating and thudding sounds came through too. We gave it half an hour before I went to reception to mention something. Mabel and Michelle listened to my concerns and said they could ask the DJ to turn it down but I wasn't convinced. Because I had to be up early and I live 30 miles away, I said that I wanted a refund and would go home.
They promised a refund and a call from Ben today - this has not happened.
I've been to the venue before for business meetings and the Friday night stay was acceptable but this party before ordinary gusets policy to make money is unacceptable.

Perhaps Dawne would like to comment on what went wrong and why a room 3 floors up can be so badly affected

Room Tip: ASk if they're allowing a function in the Hub when you plan to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry the wedding reception in our hotel disturbed your nights sleep, we do place all non wedding guests on the third floor and do restrict the disco sound level, we also ensure the party is finished by 12.30p.m. As a business we do accept various funtions and do try and think of all our guests who are staying.

We did call you as promised and Ben assures me you have spoken to him and your nights stay has been refunded.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I'm writing this review from home - I should be in the hotel...

We were in Yorkshire to visit the sculpture park and the Hepworth gallery.

We normally do this as individual day trips as we only live the other side of the pennines but on this occasion chose to make a weekend of it as this hotel is only a few miles from the YSP and the price for a Bed/breakfast/evening meal was competitive.

We spent the morning in Wakefield at the Hepworth gallery and arrived at the hotel about 15:00; the carpark seemed crowded for that time, spotted the car with the wedding ribbons and the bunch of "bridesmaids" having a smoke at the front door – OK so there is a wedding reception in the hotel.

In reception there was a sign advising that there would be a disco till 12:30 and apologising for the inconvenience.

On booking in we were informed that they could not accommodate the evening meal element of the special package we had booked because of two(!) functions; but that they would be happy to book us into a good restaurant.

The receptionist seemed surprised when we asked what this would do to the price and after a bit of looking at the screen came up with a price of £43 for room only or £49 if we wanted breakfast.

So special deal out of the window, no free public space in the hotel, disturbance till 12:30 at least , and unless we eat at the pub across the road the driver cant get a drink with the meal…

We cancelled as we could get home quite easily and we had arrived early, if we had driven a long way and arrived at say 19:00 after it would probably have been different.

As we were getting in the car the receptionist came out "best that could offer was that the chef could accommodate us if we ate at 17:00" (isn’t that Kids early tea?).

I’ve seen other reviews complaining about late discos, the noise from the M1, over hot rooms etc. so this is one hotel I’m not going to book in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mondibongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry your stay was not as it should have been.

We do book parties and groups on dinner bed and breakfast rates and I am sorry they had booked for the time you required for dinner. our restaurant has a maximum capacity and when this is reached we do have to offer earlier or later sittings.

I am sorry you will not stay with us again, as this is not the case on every weekend

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Not a luxurious hotel but with a price of £69 per room for 2 course dinner, bed and breakfast I was more than happy and would certainly stay here again. I thought it strange that a new hotel should be built without air conditioning which would certainly be a factor to be taken into account if considering a stay during the summer. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1judyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We can provide a fan if you feel the rooms are warm

We look forward to seeing you again

Regards

Dawne Carter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time at the hotel! We arrived at around 11 pm and straight from the start, we received great service from the start! The rooms were nice and accommodated for our children. At breakfast when required some veggie options and within a few minutes it was produced. The second morning we did not even need to ask. A couple of staff that we took names of were Laura (manager) Ben and will.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review, it makes it all worth while when we get a review like yours.

We are proud of our hotel and the team we work with and are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good rate for D B and B prompted one night stay over Easter. New building and operation, staffed by pleasant, hardworking team of young staff and whole place spick and span. Dinner bit exceeded expectations- companion had rump steak, which was pronounced very edible.

Rooms are standard budget minimalist - no fridges or even wardrobes here; ours was very clean, but notably only had a thermostatically-controlled radiator and an opening window (which of course lets the outside noise in), so no air-conditioning in bedrooms here either. Could learn from Premier Inns in providing king size super comfortable double beds too - bed provided was standard size and sprung on the firm to hard side.

These niggles aside, though, a modern, pleasant good value place to stay, with enthusiastic, well managed staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry we do not have air conditioning in the hotel bedrooms however we can provide a fan for you. Please ask at reception.

Look forward to seeing you again

Regards

Dawne Carter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Travelling from Scotland and after several delays we decided to search for dog friendly accommodation online. Found advertised for £45 a room only that was dog friendly. Great. Arrived at reception and was advised that there was a charge for the dog of £10 per night. Now we don't mind paying for our dog but this is not on the website to advise you of additional charges. Receptionist Michelle was very professional and quickly booked us in. On entering the hotel room which was on the motorway side and although the windows were double glazed the road noise was quite evident. I don't usually complain but returned back to reception and explained the circumstances and asked if we could change rooms. Michelle was understanding and arranged for us to have a room on the opposite side of the hotel. Much quieter.
The room and bed linen was very clean. One thing to bear in mind is that the rooms have laminate floors and when your walking around it does make quite a noise.
Did not have the breakfast option at the hotel as over the car park is a Toby Carvery were for £3.99 you could help yourself to numerous choices.
Overall a good value hotel with good customer service.

Room Tip: Request a room in the hotel on the opposite side to the M1 for a quieter nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review

Look forward to seeing you again in our hotel

Regards

Dawne Carter

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing