We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel as a base for travelling to the South Yorkshire area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ideal hotel as a base for travelling to the South Yorkshire area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have used this hotel on several occasions in the last few years when spending time in Sheffield (usually January to March), being so close to the M1, you can easily get to the outskirts of Sheffield in 20 minutes. The hotel is clean and modern, the rooms spacious and comfortable with a "wet room" shower, large bed, desk area and tea/coffee facilities. The hotel does have restaurant facilities but we have not used them yet as we usually pop to the Toby Carvery across the car park. I think by now we have had rooms facing each direction and have not been bothered by noise providing you keep the windows shut if facing the M1, we have also usually been allocated rooms on the top floor which may also help. Will probably use again when we next need to visit this part of Yorkshire.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a glowing review of our hotel. I will share your feedback with the team who I am sure will look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you.

Kind regards,

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    221
    96
    42
    31
See reviews for
80
217
36
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having been here before for a groupon meal deal we already new that the quality & service would be good, we received a lovely welcome by the young lady at the bar and was shown to our table, she explained the offer & was very helpfull when I wanted to slightly altering an item. The food was well presented and plentifull like our previous visit and we very much enjoyed the meal. Lovely staff, pleasant surroundings & great food for the price.
Thnx Ann & Andy table 12.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to recently write a review of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Dawne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A 2 day break here and pleasantly surprised, convenient just off the motorway and a Toby carvery next door, costcutter shop 5 mins away. Breakfast was buffet style, good quality and plenty to choose from. The staff were very good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shippers_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I will share your feedback with the team who I am quite quire will look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is clean, tidy and well located for travel along the M1.
It is a straightforward business hotel so its unlikely to make the earth move, but is nonetheless one of the better ones of its genre in the area.
The staff are very friendly and hospitable, its a good pint in the bar and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBKELLY57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review

Great to see your stay was good

See you again soon

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stay at the Ramada Encore regularly when in the Barnsley area, I even arrange to meet clients there. The hotel is clean and modern and you can get really good deals to stay there. It is 2 minutes from the M1 motorway and handy to get to Sheffield or Manchester.
This time I arrived and was warmly welcomed by reception. A quick change and off to meet a client in the nearby pub. Good night and back to hotel, plan was to have a nightcap and then off to bed. The attitude of the night porter was really off, he resented serving behind the bar and basically told me to go to bed!!!! Not what he said but the manner he said it, spoiled a usually pleasant stay! He needs to remember there are 2 other equally good hotels very near by.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same, maybe don,t ask the night porter for anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry the night person was not welcoming in the bar.

I would love to discuss this further as I am unsure who this person is.

I have asked our three night staff and they are unaware of any problems with guests

I hope you will use us again and speak with me if you encounter any more problems

Regards

Dawne Carter

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very good value for money. The hotel was clean and lovely walk in shower. Breakfast was great and evening 3 course meal was adequate. Would stay here again. Only down side is that rooms get very hot and had to keep window closed because of noise from the road

Room Tip: rooms on top floors are very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresab35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review

I am sorry the room was a little hot over the weekend, if you do stay with us again please ask for a fan at reception as we do provide them.

Thank you again for your review

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just spent two nights at this hotel with newmarket. Was not expecting much as the holiday was very reasonable. Well, I was pleasantly surprised, my room was lovely, I had a very modern shower room and it was squeakily clean. There was a party on Saturday night but I did not hear anything, the food was good, the staff really helpful so all in all I had an excellent time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback

We do try and ensure all our guests enjoy our hotel as we are very proud of it, and it is great to hear you liked our hotel.

We hope you visit again

Regards

DawneCarter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing