We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Simple to write a review for this place and can be quite simply put as - you get what you pay for!

It's ideally positioned (maybe a bit noisy as close to railway and motorway) , rooms a decent size, have TV and all the necessary things, decent bathroom, but the beds are awful - Small, and very uncomfortable.

But for the price, what would you expect??

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback I am sorry the bed was not as you would have liked, we have replaced a number of matresses in the last year, however they are quite firm.

I am also purchasing quilted matress toppers to add a little more comfort

Thank you again for your review

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    220
    96
    42
    31
See reviews for
80
216
36
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The first night wasn't so bad, Ben on reception was helpful when we needed a wine bucket & ice. We had our room changed due to smells coming from the bathroom, apparently the drains had just been unblocked. There is no aircon so we had the window open to train / road noise to keep cool. Then my friend went down to ask for a toothbrush - the lady on duty provided assistance but after making it sound like a inconvenience. I requested an additional mattress as the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable but nothing happened - I asked the guy on duty tonight but he said you only get what's in there - think outside the box, how about another duvet cover to pad it out. Anyway I would not recommend this hotel unless you are travelling on your own and desperate for a break. Oh and be warned - pre book your taxis if you are going to a wedding at Wentworth Castle

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82Rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review as all feedback helps us to improve

I am sorry your stay with us was not as it should have been, we did have a problem with your shower on Friday and I happy Ben moved you as soon as you made us aware, I can only apologise again. We do not have spare mattresses for our sofa beds however I agree they could have offered you another duvet to lay on I will pass your comments on to the front of house team.

We can provide fans in the room when the weather is hot as some noise can be heard from the motorway as we are so close.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, as all guests are important to us.

Thank you again for your time

Regards

Dawne Carter
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's location for the Tour De France route through Yorkshire. It is literally just off the M1 so it was very easy to find, and has plenty of parking. Due to lots of roads being closed we had opted to use the train during our stay and the website stated that Dodworth station was only 5 minutes away, yes by car, and there is parking, but it takes a good 15 minutes to walk. Our room was a good size and had a settee which was a nice change rather than always sitting on the bed. I loved the wet room style shower room, and there was always plenty of hot water regardless of when you wanted to shower. The staff throughout our stay were extremely helpful, chatty and friendly even at breakfast time when they were very busy. The breakfast had lots of choice and ok we had to sometimes wait for it to be replenished, but it was only a short wait and everything was piping hot. We also had dinner at the hotel on the Saturday which was very tasty. One thing the hotel could improve is when they have a tour staying they get exclusive use of the dining room for dinner and a sign was displayed advising us of this, but perhaps they should also state on the same sign that other guests can still eat in the bar area as we went across to the Toby on the first night as we thought we would not be able to get dinner. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given Room 101 and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review, Its great to get the posotive feedback as this is why we run our hotel.

All feedback is helpfull to our team and thank you again

See you soon back at the hotel

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My cousin booked the Ramada for a Sunday afternoon party for around 50 people, following my Godson's christening. She hired the room for the afternoon and paid for a hot roast pork buffet.

The venue itself was great - the room we were in was spacious with plenty of room for all the kids to run around and play while not disturbing the adults chatting and milling around. The food was ok, but my cousin was mortified with the amount - food began running out very quickly and when she went to enquire how long the next batch would be in coming out she was informed that what was out was all that was left! Considering she'd over-catered (knowing some of us can be very big eaters!) she was distraught that there was so little provided. The last few of us to get to the food were left with a few roast potatoes, the salad bowl and 1 roast beef sandwich each - there were none of the roast pork left and no stuffing either. It was really disappointing, and my cousin was really upset and spent a lot of the afternoon apologising to the guests. It was still a lovely event, but this did spoil things, and compared to other parties in other venues over the years when buffets have been amazing and plentiful it was disappointing.

Once the bulk of the guests had left, a few of us family members and close friends booked ourselves in the restaurant for an evening meal and some family time - about 15 of us in total. Although we were slightly concerned given the food situation during the afternoon, we took the decision that it saved us all driving somewhere else for food and the kids were all settled playing and colouring in. We needn't have worried though, as the situation at dinner could not have been more different. We all ordered 3 courses from the main menu and had various dishes, all of which were delicious. Lovely food, great service, nicely presented and decent value for money. We really enjoyed the food during the evening part of the day.

So, a mixed bag really. We wouldn't discount the hotel for another gathering, but I don't think we'd take up the mass catering option. For an evening meal in the restaurant, however, we'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not feel we catered correctly for the christening, however we did provide sandwiches for the full number of guests we had quoted for , we where asked to provide half pork and half beef and I am sorry you did not get the choice you required. This can be a problem when we do a half and half.

It was great to see you enjoyed your meal with us on the evening and I do hope you will use the hotel in future

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having just returned from our recent stay at this hotel having visited family. You cannot fault it. It is lovely and clean, has good sized comfortable rooms, friendly staff and excellent food. This is my second stay at this hotel and will definitely stay again. It's great having a sofa in the rooms as it's more comfortable to sit and relax watching TV rather than sitting on the end of a bed! The 'Wet Room' is also great and easy to control the shower temperature. We made use of the bar.....had to keep looking for staff to serve us as they don't tend to stay behind it for some reason (this is an observation and NOT a complaint). Also, FREE parking is an added bonus as I have stayed at other hotels where you have to pay! It's just off the motorway and very easy to find. All in all excellent.......Looking forward to my next visit

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 326 - Quiet room overlooking the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review, will share with the team

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Paid £29 for the room. Everything was immaculate. The bed is a standard double and was very comfortable. The rooms were a good size. Reception staff were all very polite.

Location is right by the M1, so perfect for those travelling to the area.

My room overlooked the railway, but this did not affect my sleep.

They offer breakfast for £7 if you choose in advance and £9 if you have on the day, this was explained by the reception staff. I didn't have breakfast, but I noticed Toby Carvery advertised breakfast for £3.99.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our breakfast buffet at £7.00 pre booked is an all you can eat buffet, the Toby carvery is not quite the same.

We offer an all inclusive price at the Toby carvery some items are not included in the price.

Thank you again for your feedback we look forward to your return

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Saturday 14th June, for the price you cannot fault it at all! Decent sized rooms and lovely bathroom. Nothing negative to say at all. Convenient location just off the M1. Bargain price. £39 as booked last minute. If you book in advance can get it for £29!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahleigh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our hotel, I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Dawne Carter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing