We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Festive afternoon tea”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked for a party of 4 .We had a lovely summertime tea in July , so were eager to return for this one. What a disappointment.Poor sandwiches with curled up edges and meagre fillings , all sloppy on dry bread. Poor tasteless cake, meagre cream and jam for dry scones. Awful mulled wine and cold coffee. Uninterested staff.No cake stand, horrid flat slates . No occasion at all.
Poor show. Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Katrinadad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    179
    88
    36
    34
See reviews for
115
143
19
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LACEBY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Booked room to stay over after local party. Very happy with facilities, would stay again. Spacious room, bed comfortable, good facilities. Friendly staff, no complaints at all. Why do you have to write so much? Lol am happy with it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently attended a party night here, with a Take That Tribute band on, the night was great and enjoyed by our table of 12 people. Everyone agreed they would return.

The food was served fast, was piping hot and delicious. The staff were friendly, couldn’t do enough to help and plenty of them. The disco and band were good and a fun atmosphere.

We didn’t stay overnight so don’t know about the rooms but on a whole the hotel is lovely.

We did a party might the following weekend at Tankersley Manor which was more expensive and definitely not at good. If you are looking for a party venue, this won’t disappoint.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank twilight29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We got married here in July 2013. Shared planning with the wedding co-ordinator at the time had been a pleasure. Communication had been very good and friendly.

We had perfect weather on the day and mostly all went well (the hotel was very accommodating of my daughter who has severe learning disabilities and they didn't bat an eyelid when she had a 'behaviour' just as we were about to go into the ceremony room). Food was very good at the wedding breakfast.

Guests remarked that the setting was nice and we had some lovely photos taken in the Secret Garden.

As part of the package, my new husband and I had use of one of the bridal suites following the celebrations. Unfortunately due to a faulty air con unit directly outside the suite and it being hot anyway (we couldn't open the window as it would have been noisier), sleep quality was poor. The unit boosted at 4am and became noisier. This made sleep impossible.

A few days later I brought the matter up with the wedding co-ordinator and after consulting her manager, she offered a complimentary night's stay and dinner for us.

We took advantage of this a week last Sunday and had a lovely one night's stay in the same bridal suite. The restaurant isn't open on a Sunday but we were able to choose food from the bar menu which we still enjoyed. Breakfast buffet was very good and food items were refreshed often.

This five star review is in respect of the second stay so I cannot review 'value'. Plus, unfortunately I had forgotten my swimsuit or I would have sampled the pool at Bannatyne's this time around.

I've thanked the new wedding co-ordinator at the hotel for her attention to the rebooking and we hope to visit again when the hotel is having one of its social events open to the public.

Room Tip: On the day of the wedding, some of our guest rooms were not ready to check into at 2pm when the wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricalajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I booked via Groupon a Prosseco afternoon tea. I have to say it was very good. We had sandwiches, crisps, salad, fresh home made scones with clotted cream and jam, chocolate brownies and a lemon tart. Plus tea or coffee and a glass of Prosseco. All in all it was lovely. Good friendly service as well. My only criticism would be we were sat in the bar area which lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is the second time we had been for Afternoon Tea - the first time was a lovely experience, we sat in the foyer area and the food was excellent. So we decided to do it again,but what a disappointment. We were shown into a "dedicated area", a very bland room - no frills whatsoever. No decoration anywhere - not even a picture on the wall. Two other tables were occupied but it was so quiet in the room everyone was whispering - a bit of background music would have given it a bit more atmosphere. The food arrived - the sandwiches were very basic, sliced bread cut into strips with bland fillings, a tiny bowl of crisps and the same size bowl with salad. The scone and cakes were really nice but were spoilt by the "mushy" strawberries. No nice coffee pot this time - replaced with a "conference room" stainless pot. Couldn't wait to get out really it was so disappointing. The point was made earlier about what to expect for £13 - the cost should have been £25 and that is what this afternoon should have been based on and not what we were given. This was a pre Christmas treat for my husband which sadly went wrong. On a happier note - the staff were still very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear PebblyBeaches,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. It is unfortunate this visit was not on par with your previous experience. We were pleased to see the Service did still receive a perfect score. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The service was quite poor, the staff seemed unsure of what to do and was unable to provide good service. The bar member brought over our afternoon tea, but didn't bring over our drinks till we had finished.. And needed reminding to get them. The mulled wine was discusting! It wasn't mulled, it was warmed up red wine that we couldn't drink!
Sandwiches and sweets were standard, could have been fresher. But what do you expect for 13 pounds.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cassie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Cassie019,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasant to read that you like our location and clean property. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this day particularly with the service received and food selections that was served . It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
372 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#5 of 8 in Barnsley
60 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
746 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Property: Holiday Inn Barnsley
Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing