We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed on Boxing day was greeted by friendly reception staff, every member of staff we came into contact with was extremely polite and said hello. The room was excellent and had a fantastic night's sleep. Breakfast and service the best iv ever had, never stayed in a holiday in before but will be again thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharp3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHIBarnsley, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Barnsley.

I was delighted to read that we had exceeded your expectations, and we look foward to welcoming you back into the hotel in the not too distant future.

In the meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me should there be anything that I can be of assistance with.

Yours Faithfully,

Samuel Allen
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Barnsley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

recently brought my mum sister and daughter for pre xmas treat but was a disappointment! We were taken to side room that was being used for the teas most of the empty tables were covered with dirty pots that remained there while we were eating poor selection of sandwiches and had to ask a couple of times for tea etc! Staff did not seem interested seemed more interested with each other.Will find somewhere else next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear linda a,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had an absolutely brilliant night, there were 114 of us n not one bad word. The food and service was excellent and the entertainment was great. Would really consider going again, everyone really enjoyed themselves.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Debabson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We attended our works Christmas party here on the 13th December. I have never been here before so was not sure what to expect. We were greeted in reception and pointed to where we needed to go. The room was clean and a good size. It was very nicely decorated. The staff were earger to help and we were served our meal quickly and efficently. the emal itself was hot when it arrived at the table and was more than acceptable especially when you take in to account the amount of people there. The live band was very good . All round very good experience. The only reason I have not given it an excellent was due to the bar on arrival. It was knee deep and we had to queue for some time to get our first drink. If more staff were available or if someone had been on hand to direct us to the bars which had no one at them in the room for instance that would have been useful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked for a party of 4 .We had a lovely summertime tea in July , so were eager to return for this one. What a disappointment.Poor sandwiches with curled up edges and meagre fillings , all sloppy on dry bread. Poor tasteless cake, meagre cream and jam for dry scones. Awful mulled wine and cold coffee. Uninterested staff.No cake stand, horrid flat slates . No occasion at all.
Poor show. Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrinadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Katrinadad,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Booked room to stay over after local party. Very happy with facilities, would stay again. Spacious room, bed comfortable, good facilities. Friendly staff, no complaints at all. Why do you have to write so much? Lol am happy with it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We recently attended a party night here, with a Take That Tribute band on, the night was great and enjoyed by our table of 12 people. Everyone agreed they would return.

The food was served fast, was piping hot and delicious. The staff were friendly, couldn’t do enough to help and plenty of them. The disco and band were good and a fun atmosphere.

We didn’t stay overnight so don’t know about the rooms but on a whole the hotel is lovely.

We did a party might the following weekend at Tankersley Manor which was more expensive and definitely not at good. If you are looking for a party venue, this won’t disappoint.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank twilight29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
416 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
957 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: £51 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing