We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairway, Barnsley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed bugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed 2 nites. Pyjamas got infected with bed bugs

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 431BERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    80
    74
    40
    65
See reviews for
110
87
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have not stayed at this hotel its the restaurant the decor is really nice now its had a name change and updated but the carvery is dreadfull,I went just before Christmas it was cold I ask if the would pop it in the micro way but they said no would I like some thing else all well and good,but then one of the kitchen staff came out with his thermometer stuck right to the bottom were the container is on the heat and said its 70 degrees,does he not know that the customer is always right and does know if food is cold or not. This is not the first time I have been served cold food in this restaurant and be given a fob off, I had not been back for a long time but throught give them another chance never again will visit, the Toby just down the road or visit the Ring O Bells in Silkstone much better food and its hot.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avrilwiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dodworth hotels

Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Second time of staying here, the first earlier in the year was very good so we decided to stay again to celebrate our daughters birthday. We booked a double and twin room. Our double room was ok but not cleaned well, bathroom floor dirty and bedroom carpet not vacumed. The twin room bed area carpet had a lot of glitter on it, clearly also not vacumed. Considering my daughter and grandaughter are adults it seemed a shame to put them in a room which either side was family rooms, the children in both were allowed to run around the room shouting and screaming until very late with their parents constantly telling them off. The rooms were on the first floor which needs some serious work in preventing the floor boards creaking loudly with every step both in the corridor and rooms. The cleaners arrived just after 7am and were constantly creaking the floor boards outside our room (not their fault) but also constantly talking loudly (definitely their fault).

Moving on from that experience to the bar/restaurant - one word pathetic. The bar was about a third full so not really busy as most were eating from the carvery. We ordered our meal off the menu, 1 hour and ten minutes later no food had arrived. The young man who took our order kept walking past us and did not realise this (retraining issue I think). Eventually I approached him and cancelled the order in disgust and we ate at another pub down the road. Second night was no better, we thought this could`t happen again but did, we sat waiting for menus, eventually a young man from the bar came over asked us if we were eating, yes please was the reply from us, he went away, came back a few moments later threw the menus on our table and said someone will take your order (how rude - another training issue I think). 20 minutes later we were asked what we wanted, we reluctantly ordered and guess what, 1 hour later still no food. We walked out of the bar and whilst my family packed I complained to the receptionist (not her fault) and informed her we were checking out to which she apologised and gave me a complaints form. It took 20 minutes for us to pack and leave which allowed that time for someone from the management to approach us - guess what, yes you are right no sign of any.

We sat opposite the kitchen doors and witnessed a chef tasting the food with his finger, lucky escape then by not receiving any food.

On a positive note we arrived home at our favourite pub in time to order a meal which was delivered swiftly, with courtesy and was delicious. Perhaps the staff of the Fairview ought to visit The Boundary in South Normanton, Derbyshire to learn how to run a successful business in which guests feel valued.

In conclusion, on the way from the motorway to the hotel we passed a sign saying budget hotel 1 mile, budget it certainly was!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here as we were attending a function in the nearby banqueting centre. The room was spacious with everything you would expect for the price. One minor problem with a radiator was fixed immediately when we contacted reception.
Breakfast was less impressive, lukewarm and not worth the price. If I were to stay here again I would take breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkiehobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Value for money, budget hotel but clean and had all the facilities you needed.
the biggest improvement they could make would be breakfast which was very mediocre with crispy Danish and tinned tomatoes plus a very greasy hash brown shame as the rest was cooked well.
Would stay again for business but probably not for pleasure and would have been nice if the receptionist had offered to run us off a route to our next destination as our sat nav wasn't working.
M1 motorway only minutes away

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettypringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Booked a room for one night through Late Rooms, and paid only £35.00 for a double room mid -week.
Good spacious room, very clean, tea coffee and biscuits in the room, and a flat screen TV with Freeveiw.
I did not eat in the restaurant, but all looked clean and new like the rest of the hotel.
Good easy links to the M1
All in all very good, a bit cheaper than the usual chains

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed in the Fairway as it seems to be called now mid July for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. The rooms were comfortable and welcoming and the restaurant pricey but good value.

I must say that the welcome you receive at the hotel is by far the best part of the stay. Anouk and particularly Tina made me feel very welcome the second I walked through the door. On one occasion I needed directions to a business venue and Tina went out of her way and without being asked, took the time to google it and print out directions for me. First class service I thought.

I did find the hotel bar manager Tom a little rude and noticed that he spoke very sharply to some of the staff in front of customers too. However, if you kept away from him the stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeseboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Property: The Fairway, Barnsley
Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Country Inn
The Fairway, Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing