We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you like to see cobwebs dangling from the ceiling then this is the place for you! Windows do not open wide enough to let any air in , the shower is static and the shower head is tiny ! Thought it was air conditioned throughout ...... No only the public areas ........ Traffic busy at shift times for the factory next door the only good thing about this hotel was the towels !!!!! Left a note for the cleaners to remove cobwebs !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duchessrules1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

You can choose between a room overlooking a noisy, busy roundabout or overlooking the function room and car park. Having had to change rooms because of the noise from the function room and impending car doors slamming in car park when function finished at midnight, I would recommend a room overlooking the roundabout, because at least the traffic noise is predictable!!!!
Restaurant good, though. (breakfast not included).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Have stayed here before when it was The Bluebell Inn. Things have not changed much with the change of name.
This is a reasonable budget hotel. The room was large and clean and the bed comfortable.
Bathroom floor covering was starting to 'bubble' here and there, probably due to a shower curtain that was too short.
Bar area was clean and staff were prompt to serve.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Omg where do I start.......

No sheet on the double bed when I pulled back the quilt,
Room was dirty
Heater didn't work in the bedroom and on the morning we left a workman walked straight in where I was on the bed naked!! And when I complained the girl on reception just laughed

The steak in the restaurant was absolutely gross ( pic attached ) however the manager in there was apologetic and offered a free meal the next night.

Breakfast was appalling I was asked to sit at a table that someone had previously been sat at and there was still dirty pots on it and the table dirty. I couldn't believe it - disgusting! So I moved myself to another clean table and when my breakfast arrived I was slammed down and I was told I was supposed to sit on the othe table as this one had been laid for lunch. The breakfast was £7.99 and all I got was 1 sausage, one egg, a greasy piece of bacon, and one hash brown. I just got up and walked out. What is worse is that I have emailed the hotel several times and heard nothing from them- would hurt just to apologise.

Anyway avoid at all costs

Room Tip: Pay the extra £20 and go to Cubley Hall where we usually go but fancied a change at our expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shann0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Booked at the last minute and we thought it was very good value for the price. The room was large and had everything we needed. It is not luxurious but for the price we paid we were happy. We arrived late and they were closing the bar but still served us a drink and were friendly and welcoming.
We needed an early getaway and had a good breakfast. Overall for a functional overnight stay it was ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Basic accommodation, clean and cheap but staff not really interested, young and inexperience.
Slow service., food quality poor. Location distribution depot starts early for an early wake up call. Location ideal for the M1

Room Tip: Select double bedded rooms, single beds are too small for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We had out wedding at the Fairway (Bluebell), had a fantasic day thanks to the great staff and seemless planning!

Thank you to all the staff, especially Emma, Marian and Anouk.

The food was excellent- and the breakfast the next morning was cooked fresh to order.

We were blown away by the bridal suite- a very impressive room which topped out day off.

Thanks again,

Ryan and Danielle

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
548 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
4.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
772 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
Barnsley Country Inn
The Fairway, Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing