We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place made our Wedding perfect :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I cannot fault the Bluebell whatsoever. We got married here an absolutely everything was excellent. The staff at the function suite bent over backwards for everyone. The Hotel was lovely. The honeymoon suite was immaculate, four poster bed, jacuzzi bath, very big, table, big TV, i could go on. Plenty of our guests stayed over and they all said that there rooms were great. No faults at all from anyone. The bar/ restaurant is nice aswell, great meals at great prices. If your staying over night, we recommend it, if your planning your wedding reception there, then we DEFINATELY recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2010

Had to wait a very long time in the check-in queue - apart from that - all was good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31EST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Our second stay at the Bluebell, the first being just after it opened. We upgraded to a 'Premier Room' which is really nice (about the same standard as a Premier Inn double - but more expensive). The room was fine, except that the TV wasn't tuned in (had to ask the very obliging night staff to help with that one!), the table lamp had no bulb in it at all, the trouser press was in pieces and the rather plush faux silk duvet cover needed a good ironing! We'd booked continental breakfast on both days. Young staff served us with coffee, but there was only white toast, they'd run out of brown bread (couldn't someone nip to the shop?), no croissants on either morning (they're a menu item); the fresh fruit looked lovely but it wasn't prepared so we had to struggle to hull strawberries and peel kiwi fruit with blunt table knives; the sideplates were saucers (?), the cereal spoons were actually soup spoons and there weren't any teaspoons at all. I know the Bluebell bills itself as a budget hotel but none of these irritations would cost much if anything to resolve. Attention to detail is what makes a hotel stand out from its competitors and the Bluebell has plenty of those, with a new Ramada Encore and Premier Inn close by

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We have just spent Saturday night here with family whilst visiting friends locally.

Can't say enough about the friendly, helpful and attentive staff despite being a very low price for a lovely modern family room. It far surpassed our expectations for the price we had paid.

Perfect for families with young children as family restaurant right next to well equipped indoor play area. Also free WIFI with good connection and just off M1.

Will definitely stay here again - what a gem!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
Thank itchyfeet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed here last week but the one in Selby what a lovely place we would book again. We went up to Yorkshire for a wedding and found this easy to get to near major roads has a great resturant food is great. If you have children it is ideal if you dont it is not a problem as children have there own area and there is an adault area for eating if you want a quiet meal.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valandchris2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We were looking for a place to spend the night (via the GPS, just going by hotel names). SWMBO didn't want to stay in a "chain" hotel, so we ended up looking for "funky" named places.

This was a find and a great place to spend the night. Quiet, clean, large rooms, WiFi, breakfast, everything we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PhredStoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed here to go to a wedding in Barnsley and it suited our needs for the price we paid. Right next to the M1 but near to town too. The negative was no airconditioning in the bedrooms on the warmest night in Barnsley this year. It was too warm to stay in the bedrooms during the day. The small noisy fan was not adequate and the windows did not open enough to get any real ventilation. Also only one iron for the whole hotel.
Breakfast was an extra cost. The full English breakfast was value for money but no marmalade in the little jam sachets was disappointing.
Good service at the bar. We didn't eat in the bar but it appeared to cater well for families.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RB-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
554 reviews
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
934 reviews
5.9 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
Barnsley Country Inn
The Fairway, Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing