We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical cottage and garden”
other travellers have booked this property
St Pancras Chapel is a converted C13th Cistercian stone oratory associated with nearby Cleeve Abbey.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Pancras Chapel is a converted C13th Cistercian stone oratory associated with nearby Cleeve Abbey.
The chapel was built on the site of a holy well that feeds a stream running through the grounds. The chapel's front door and a stained glass window occupy original medieval gothic lancet arches.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
St Pancras Chapel is a converted C13th Cistercian stone oratory associated with nearby Cleeve Abbey.
The chapel was built on the site of a holy well that feeds a stream running through the grounds.
The chapel's front door and a stained glass window occupy original medieval gothic lancet arches.
Saint Pancras was a martyred Roman youth. He is patron saint of children, healing – and soldiering!
The sitting room comprises the original chapel. The stained glass occupies an original lancet arch.
When the chapel was converted, the inglenook fireplace was constructed where the pulpit stood.
Medieval building methods didn't use deep foundations, and the walls are 30 inches deep in parts.
One of the armchairs (pictured) and the settee convert into sofabeds for larger residential parties.
Sunlight streams through the dining room window. The antique walnut dinner table hides a secret...
The dining room was added to the chapel when after it was converted into a residence in the C17th.
The dining table converts into a 6ft billiard and snooker table. There is a scoreboard on the wall.
The billiard table was built by Lancashire sports equipment company EJ Riley between 1900 and 1910.
There are a set of cues, balls for snooker and billiards, chalk and a set of rules in the server.
The solid oak kitchen was only added in 2003 – although the Aga oven and hob predates it.
The larder has a cold shelf – a marble slab using thermal bridging popular before fridges were made.
The Aga is simple – but there is an electric oven and hob in the utility room – and a microwave!
No kitchen is complete without a wine rack – this can be filled before guests arrive by arrangement.
Bedroom 1 is in the oldest part of the building, above the living room. It has a kingsize bed.
Bedroom 1 looks south-east to the bridges and summerhouse in the garden.
Next to the dressing table are views to the south, over farmland to the footpath and river beyond.
The gallery landing between bedrooms 1 and 2 leads onto the stairs and upstairs bathroom opposite.
The upstairs bathroom looks out over the back door. The downstairs loo and shower is directly below.
At the end of the landing is bedroom 2, which sits directly above the C17th dining room.
The views from bedroom 2 sweep the length of the lawns to the orchard and north to the lych gate.
Bedroom 3 is set in the modern part of the building, above the kitchen.
Bedroom 3 has two single beds.
Bedroom 3 also looks east across farmland to the River Washford and the woodlands beyond.
Beyond the bridges in the garden, a gate at the back opens onto a public footpath across farmland.
The chapel nestles in a secluded valley, with the village of Roadwater half a mile or so south-east.
The only sounds are the trickle of the well, the murmur of the River Washford and birdsong.
A lych gate opens onto the road above. Turn left for Roadwater, right to the hamlet of Hungerford.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Washford, Watchet, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison J
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical cottage and garden”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have just returned from a wonderful week at St Pancras Chapel. We had very warm weather so were lucky enough to spend a lot of time in the magical garden, which was fully enclosed so we didn’t have to worry about our dog.
The billiard table was a big hit with the boys for entertainment ... the cottage is tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
It was a short walk to the beach where we took the dog for a long walk everyday and there’s lots else to do very locally .
I would thoroughly recommend this cottage for anyone looking for a quiet break in idyllic surroundings .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 May 2018
Hello Lyn,
Thank you very much, I'm so pleased you had a good stay! We do make every effort to make you feel at home – so it's great to hear that we're doing something right. The White Horse is a smashing little pub, and my family never tire of visiting Dunster; for a relatively small medieval village on Exmoor, there always seems to be something new to see there.
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay Lyn, we'd gladly welcome you back!
Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FenCan
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has real soul and character. We loved discovering all the historic and charming features. It is really picturesque.
The garden is extensive. Aswell as the stream and pond there are views to the river, an orchard with orchids, bluebells and countless other wild flowers and it has beautifully landscaped and planted areas too. It is enclosed and safe for dogs.
The location is peaceful and waking to the dawn chorus as the sun streamed in through the bedroom windows was a memorable start to each day. One of the gates opens into the open fields, where there are public footpaths. Overall perfect for dogs and their owners. After dark, minimal light pollution makes for excellent star gazing.
We were lucky with the Bank Holiday weather and barbecued every day! There is outdoor furniture and garden games in the summer house.
Dunster Castle is on the doorstep and for fossil hunting and the coastal footpath, nearby East Quantoxhead was well worth a visit. We also enjoyed the Sunday night quiz at The Britannia at Alcombe. There is a dog friendly local pub, The White Horse Inn, about five minutes walk down the road also.
We had everything we could have hoped for including comfy beds, an AGA and conventional oven, well equipped kitchen and utility room. The billiard table provided great entertainment and there are lots of games and dvds..The cottage was much more spacious than we had anticipated.Jane, the manager, was very helpful and the chapel was clean and well prepared for us.
Truly a privilege to have stayed here. Would highly recommend this property.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
Thank you for those lovely sentiments, I'm really happy you had such a good stay! It really means a lot to me to hear you had such a great time. It certainly sounds as if you made the best of West Somerset too – it's a smashing area, my family love visiting Exmoor. It is an unusual building, and I love sharing its history and foibles with guests; I'm glad that we got everything right in preparing it for you too – the privilege was all ours to have such appreciative guests to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath B
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely area”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

very nice, lovely area, very picturesq. pretty gardens, places to visit although a bit remote. but liked The Lodge in Somerset better, both dog friendly. very well equipped and cosy with lovely owner nearby. Both very different but lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind words Kath! It is a beautiful area – made all the better if you have a canine companion to walk! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely house, magical garden, great holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Really beautiful house and the garden is absolutely magical. The garden is very long with a stream running through it which has 2 bridges over it. Despite being a large garden it seemed to be dog proof so we could let ours run around without worrying. Good facilities. The Aga was a bit of a novelty and resulted in a rather hot kitchen as it is on constantly but we were able to do most of our cooking on it. There is also a separate regular cooker in the utility room.
Jason was very helpful by email and Jane was great while we were there at sorting out minor problems.
The area was fantastic. Loads to do all within a fairly short drive. We enjoyed the Star inn in Watchett but the Smugglers Inn in Blue Anchor was dreadful. The Victorian teahouse in Porlock was fantastic for breakfast - I can recommend the bubble and squeak.
My 16 yr old son enjoyed coasteering with Exmoor Adventures.
Overall a really lovely holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
I'm very glad to hear you and your family had a good holiday Mark, the garden is set to let dogs have the run of the garden without getting out - also good to see a thumbs-up for Exmoor Adventures too. It's a magical place and I love introducing guests to it - and thanks for the tip about the tea shop in Porlock, I shall definitely pay it a visit next time I take the family down!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bloomin’ marvellous”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The pictures don’t really do this place justice. The setting is absolutely idyllic.

The rooms are a generous size with excellent beds, there’s an Aga plus a regular stove for the less adventurous. The gardens are extensive and so beautiful it would be quite possible to happily spend the whole week sitting in them.

There is plenty to do nearby – two excellent pubs, the steam railway, a leisurely walk into Watchet, or just climb the hill across the road for stunning views of the surrounding area and Bristol Channel.

Minehead is a short drive away and offers three large supermarkets, but for the best local produce head into Williton to the Somerset Farm House shop.

If the weather takes a turn for the worse, there’s a small library of books, TV and DVD player, and even a snooker table cunningly concealed in the dining room.

Best of all, this has the feel of a house that has been well-loved over the years. It has a magical atmosphere. I will almost certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
I'm very glad to hear you had a good stay Michael, it is magical. I've known the area for over twenty years and I am still bowled over by the tranquility! One of the things I've started doing and will continue over the coming months is to expand the library and DVD collection – so if I do have the privilege of welcoming you back, there will be something different waiting for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anastasia...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven. Stunning! Stunning! Stunning!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Impressive house, hidden gem. Clean, tidy, with hotel-crispy bedding. Very comfortable house. Kitchen is very well equipped(fridge might be too small, but it was 8 of us). Garden furniture, BBQ grill - all very clean and of high quality. Conveniently located near some scenic routs, cider farm nearby. Cool car boot sale in Blue Anchor(small town by the sea). Would definitely wanna come back.
Jane (the lady who looks after the house) was very friendly and welcoming. Best stay in years. Thank you, Jason.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay Anastasia, thank you! I hadn't heard about the car boot sale in Blue Anchor – I shall have to take the family there one weekend! I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All the best, Jason.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing