We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Monkscider House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monkscider House
Ranked #4 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Amazing place...cosy, old fashioned Ye Olde England feel to this place is great! Rooms are lavishly decorated but not gaudy at all. A lot of attention has been paid to decor. Really cosy and comfortable and friendly owners. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cparsons31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Monkscider House is my new home away for home. David & Jan are the most gracious and hospitable host I have ever encountered. They provided excellent suggestions on sites to visit and the best restaurants to dine in. The breakfast each morning was phenomenal with a very generous helping and I believe everything served came from local farmers. The accommodations were absolutely lovely - a tastefully decorated and spacious room with a plush king bed and large bathroom with a bathtub (perfect for soaking in after long walks!). Monkscider House is better than any five star hotel and it will be an establishment I will visit year after year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

An absolute gem of a B&B laying in a beautiful part of Somerset, near to the West Somerset Railway , Dunster and many beauty spots. The breakfast is the best I have had in England. It is home from home and if you book for 3 nights you will receive the next one free. Good value and I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhreigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Superb B+B, very well located for Exmoor but also for less well known but just as nice Quantocks. Vey near steam railway station in Washford and the very interesting Cleeve Abbey. Stayed in nice room, with very comfortable twin beds, though there is another room for couples. No problems with hot water that you often find in B+B's. Freeview LCD TV if you need it,

HIgh point is the breakfast. I've never had a better one in a B+B, with locally sourced products. Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monkscider House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkscider House

Property: Monkscider House
Address: Monkcider House Station Road, Washford, Watchet TA23 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet > Washford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monkscider House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkscider House Washford, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing