We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revsit to Washford inn”
Review of Washford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washford Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My colleague and myself stayed here last year and booked again for 2 nights B&B as we were visiting the West Somerset Railway and the location is ideal as we can walk outside the front door and straight onto the Washford station platform.
Once again the twin bedroom(No8) was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good.The service by Steve and Dee over the weekend was helpful and courteous.Good value I think for £65.00 per room per night inc breakfast.
We must notice though that there seems to be a shortage of customers in the bar/lounge area at night time so there is a lack of atmosphere so we ate at The White Horse(very enjoyable) just down the road.
We would still use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had visited this establishment once before and found it dark, cold and empty. We thought that we would give it another go as we heard that there were now new owners. We got a friendly welcome for us and our chocolate Labrador, as the pub is now dog-friendly. There were a good selection of drinks and the bar staff were eager to please. We had a good pub grub lunch at very reasonable/cheap cost. It is now a good destination at the end of the Old Mineral Line trail from Watchet (2 mile walk). Can't say what the rooms are like or what the atmosphere is like in the evening, but hope to find out soon. The other few locals were also friendly and happy to chat to visitors.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We decided to have a lunch at the Washford Inn as part of a day on the West Somerset Railway but we left disappointed and hungry. We ended up having a chocolate bar in the station instead.

We weren't looking for the pub of the year... but we at least hoped for a friendly welcome, a decent sandwich or a Cornish pasty... even decent fish and chips would have been a welcome bonus.

When we arrived about half past twelve the place was empty apart from three bar staff.

The place looked a wee bit in need of a through spring clean but we thought that it would do for a quick bite to eat.

We sat down, looked at the menus on the table, made our choice and went to the bar to order food and drinks. Once one of the teenagers behind the bar reluctantly broke off her conversation and took our order, she gave an "errr!"

A few moments later she was back having spoken to the boss just a few feet away... The kitchen had just decided that it wasn't doing food unless we wanted a curry or a chilli con carne!
Even that would have taken about half an hour!

We tried to negotiate for a sandwich... but this was the inn with "no bread"... at 12.45 p.m. on a Tuesday lunchtime.

It was then we understood why the place was totally empty.


We liked best that we hadn't parted with any cash before we realised just how bad the place was..

We liked least the take it or leave it attitude of the staff and management.


Top Tip: Find someplace that will actually provide the food on the menu

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank twotravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Called in to check out the menu late one afternoon. The manager welcomed me and showed me the menu while apologising for it's simplicity, they had only been in the pub for a week ( nov 2012). The inside was homely, clean and warm. I returned later for a meal with my husband and friend. We had the best steaks and gammon we have had for a long time. When I spilt a pint of coke it was mopped up, replaced free of charge and I was made to feel comfortable about my accident. The whole evening was perfect and I would urge locals and tourists to give the new managers their custom and support. Lovely people. Good luck for your future. Hope you aren't flooded!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Lovely clean room, all newly refurbished and plenty of space. Lovely hot shower too. Evening meal was lovely and breakfast was too, only spoiled by some other guests who chose that time to have a moan to the waitress about a few trivial matters instead of complaining to the management.We would definitely stay again and hope that the other guests would be more considerate next time.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 6. Its lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Room was ok, except there was no hot water at 9.30 at night because someone had turned it off!
Breakfast was ok, except that they ran out of eggs and didn't know what Earl Grey was!
Dinner was reheated and dried out. Only 50% of the rice was edible, the rest was congealed into lumps and the steak varied from well cooked to raw.
We won't be coming again.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not over the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Sam and Dave made us feel very welcome and comfortable for the first night of our first family holiday. The room was more than big enough to fit the cot for our 1 year old in and have room to walk around it. Breakfast seemed like there was no end to it (nice to hear the steam trains in the background whilst eating a cooked breakfast). We will definately be visiting again next year.

Allan, Jenny & Iris.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washford
3.6 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
172 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Somerset Hotel
West Somerset Hotel
#8 of 14 in Watchet
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
135 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#6 of 14 in Watchet
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Monkscider House
#4 of 5 in Washford
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washford Inn

Address: Station Rd, Washford, Watchet TA23 0PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet > Washford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Price Range: £77 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washford Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Washford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washford Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing