We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to visit again”
Review of Washford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washford Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here on a KGB Deal in August. Bedrooms clean & very comfortable. Breakfast was great, and it was not a problem to have something not on the menu in the evening. The bar and locals were also friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for Steve & Dee who were very welcoming and friendly. The only downfall was poor wifi. We can't wait to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyJ61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Called in for a lunch time snack. Ordered food and drinks. After drinking our drinks and waiting for 1/2 an hour approached the bar to find out where our food was. After some searching it was found that the cook had not been checking his orders so no food. Offered to start it then but as we werec already late could not wait. got our food money back and an apology. Would we call in again - No.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights on a wowcher deal, and had a nice stay.
Hotel pretty much what expected for the price, rooms clean and big enough for a couple to use as a base. Tea and coffee making provided in room, flat screen TV, and a shower cubicle in bathroom.
Meals were average pub meals, and so was cooked breakfast.
Dee the owner though was well above average, friendly, cheerful and very welcoming.
Be aware though that if you stay here, the steam railway runs right past the hotel, and steam engines are not the quietest. That said they only run during the day.
The hotel is also next to Washford station, so if you are a steam enthusiast you would be in heaven.
If you are looking for a base in the Watchet, Minehead area, and don't want to spend a fortune I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

stayed for 2 days. dee the landlady was amazing and could not do enough for you including cooking the steak to a very good blue. Dee is really trying to build the reputation up. accomodation was basic but clean. the food was what you would expect for the price. Dee really knows how to keep the real ales, good selection as well. great location for steam train lovers for the Somerset railway,which is one of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonibobgentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Ideally situated for exploring this part of Somerset. Dee and family are very hard working and friendly. The food is very good and the bar is well stocked and pleasant. Our room overlooked the railway and the rolling Somerset hills ...Beautiful and peaceful (the trains run from 10.30am to 5.30pm and some are steam!) We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were staying up the road at The White Horse Inn but, a victim of its own success, we found that we could not get parked when we returned their on our second evening. Coming down into the village we came across the Washford Inn and decided to give it a try - probably not our finest decision on holiday.

We seated ourselves at the only couples table which was essentially situated in a walkway as the gaps between the tables were barely enough for people to pass through. Hemmed in on both sides by families with noisy children we decided chose our meals and ordered from the bar. Choices were reasonable and so were the prices. Ordering was a pleasant enough experience and the man behind the bar friendly. However we were warned that the food would take some time - and it did (even though only the small area of pub we were in was in use, the rest being completely empty). Now I've had sausages & mash in gravy at many pubs and I hardly expect gourmet cuisine, but even the version I'd made for myself at home a few days earlier put theirs to shame. Two small (perfectly round) scoops of lumpy mash, rather reminiscent of my school days eventually arrived with some bland veg and a couple of stumpy sausages at the other end of the plate. Some extra gravy also arrived to supplement the dessert spoon full which had come with it. The gravy was as lumpy as the mash, though admittedly it did taste nice. My partner described her sweet and sour pork as edible but essentially a bit of dried pork with some Uncle Ben's chucked on it and heated up.

Conversation was almost impossible because of the din from the surrounding tables and we were frequently hit by people passing by due to the confined space into which our table had been crammed. Now granted the pub is not to blame for the noise of fellow diners but they are certainly to blame for choosing to cram all four tables of families into one small section of the pub whilst the rest is empty. The placement of our table made the experience cramped and uncomfortable and the food was essentially school / hospital standard. The largely empty pub in a prime location should have served as warning when the White Horse, hidden away as it was, had cars lined back along the side streets and barely space to stand.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at the Washford Inn for a week, Steve and Dee are lovely, nothing was too much trouble, especially the Cream Tea! great base for exploring the area.Lovely Local's very friendly, Thank you from Dale and Bev :).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washford
3.6 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Somerset Hotel
West Somerset Hotel
#10 of 14 in Watchet
28 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#6 of 14 in Watchet
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washford Inn

Address: Station Rd, Washford, Watchet TA23 0PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet > Washford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Price Range: £77 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washford Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Washford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washford Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing