We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Ownwers at the pub”
Review of Washford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Washford Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Ownwers at the pub”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very helpful Bar staff. Steaks ordered and delivered in a timely fashion cooked exactly as requested. Very Good value, but the sauce in the ketchup bottle didn't match the label. Can't comment on the Hotel but the pub (with its dog friendly part of the restaurant) was fine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Baboonarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    43
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
55
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were on one of our walking trips. Not yompers - so using the West Somerset Railway we got off at Blue Anchor and walked across the fields to Washford just in time for lunch. There were cows on the fields so we ended up hot and muddy not looking our best! We knew that the pub had changed hands recently, we were welcomed and had really nice crunchy baguettes. The other half was tempted to try the New Zealand cider but took advantage of a glass of Scottish bitter instead which he voted "very palatable" (he had another half). There were seats outside but as there were roadworks opposite we stayed inside in the shade. This is a roadside inn on a bend so easily passed by but we were glad we stopped for lunch.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Pulled in to The Washford Inn on our way back from a day at Lynmouth. Have to confess, was not sure from first impressions as we pulled in to an empty car park but, with 8 hungry people including 4 children, we went in to see what was on offer.
We were greeted with a friendly and warm welcome. We chose from a traditional Pub grub menu and wow, great food, great prices, great service. They were very happy to split a adults portion of the hunters chicken into 2 child's portions and they were huge! The kids then got a free I've cream, even if they hadn't ordered from the children's menu.

Would highly recommend and will be back next time we are in the area

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank calmacOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The management - Dee & Steve - give you a very warm welcome and do their utmost to make your stay as good as possible. We have stayed here for a number of years and enjoy it. The food is good, the accommodation is good and the prices are reasonable. What more due you want?

Room Tip: Book a room at the rear overlooking the railway rather than at the front facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tworovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

booked a 2nt groupon deal for £89 1 x dinner, b&b. we were really pleased - we were given the family room which was large & spacious. the hotel decor was really nice, light & airy corridors with tasteful wall art. the room decor was good, the only picky point was bubbled lino in one small area of the bathroom - neither here nor there really. the food was typical pub grub but done with care. really enjoyed the breakfasts & lasagne & lunchtime cheese & pickle on a slightly warm & crispy baguette. the service was excellent - Craig & his team were friendly & couldnt do enough for us. Les behind the bar was a gem. the friday we were there was a total washout so we stayed in the bar, drank g&t's, played cards & had a great time. nearly forgot the chef who is a great guy. all in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & recommend it. dont expect a swanky hotel but if u want a comfortable well priced stay then its for u.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettedavis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked for 2 nights and were not disappointed. Our room was clean and comfortable with the usual tea making facilities, mini toiletries were also included. However, there was no wardrobe for our clothes only a rack with a couple of hangers. Not a problem for a couple of nights but would be had it been a longer stay. Our room was overlooking the railway line but not disturbed by trains as not running as out of season. Trains only run during the day when the season starts however. The staff were really friendly and welcoming (thanks Les, Dee & Steve) and nothing was too much trouble. My husband said his meals were lovely but I am vegetarian so menu a bit limited. I have never eaten so much for breakfast after the first morning we had to get them to cut the quantity down (can't bear waste). We had some lovely walks around the area and Dunster village is worth a visit, very quaint village around a castle. A really enjoyable stay and we look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The warmth of the welcome and the personalities of the management team are unfortunately insufficient to overcome the shortcomings of the facilities provided, As has been said by other reviewers the beds are awful - an Indian Fakir would baulk at the mattresses in rooms one and two Room one has a double bed but not room enough for two bedside cabinets. The food is plentiful and hot and like all other encounters with staff presented with a friendly face. There are four Real Ales on the bar, Wifi was a mystery with the widely advertised service not available and that not advertised just available. Dee to the rescue again.
However there is no substitute for a good nights sleep. Best wishes to Steve and Dee who are retiring at the end of the 2014 season.

Room Tip: Take your own mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washford
5.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
278 reviews
7.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#22 of 37 in Minehead
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Monkscider House
#4 of 5 in Washford
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washford Inn

Property: Washford Inn
Address: Station Rd, Washford, Watchet TA23 0PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet > Washford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Washford Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Washford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washford Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing