We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP CAR MUSEUM”

Haynes International Motor Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Sparkford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Offering an excellent day out for everyone, with more than 400 cars and bikes displayed in stunning style, dating from 1885 to the present day. For the children there is the autogame experience, motoring themed play area, soft play area. Throughout the year the museum also hosts exciting events including Rare Breeds Motor Show.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“TOP CAR MUSEUM”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Truly cannot understand the negative feedback. This place is a gem - far exceeded my expectations. There are over 400 cars, from every era. All are immaculately kept, and beautifully laid out. I loved the RED room - full of RED cars. It took me 3 hours to see them all. The layout is fantastic, and the mirrors behind the cars allow you to see the rear of the car whilst walking in front of it. Complemented by excellent staff, a large cafeteria and huge parking area. Definitely reccommended. Superb.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank markmosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    218
    51
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I've been to the Heritage Museum at Gayden and Beaulieu Car Museum, and I have to say, the Haynes Museum is up there with them. It has a great selection of cars from different eras. To make it more kid friendly they have their own Top Trumps, which keeps them interested finding them and then answering the questions from the cards.
Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to the haynes museum with my fiancée as he has always wanted to go. It was a long drive and we stayed in a travelodge close by. We had a wonderful time and the cars were amazing

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 121Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A simply wonderful experience! I had been to the old museum, but this rebuilt museum takes the breath away. Very helpful staff at reception, and signing a Gift Aid form gives you free entrance fr a year. The Foyer has a few choice cars on display (Austin 7, Stanley Baldwin's Rolls, an AC Cobra etc). And into the museum itself and you will find a great range of cars and motor vehicles ranging from the simply fantastic to the humble mundane. Beside each vehicle is a very helpful and clear explanation of what you are looking at. We visited on a weekday in term-time and there were few people there which made the visit even more relaxing and enjoyable, though it does make a great effort to cater for very young car enthusiasts! Room 8 was described by one very helpful member of staff as the "We used to have one of those" Room. There is also a Racing Car/Rally car room which had been opened in the old museum by Stirling Moss in 1997, and the Plaque has been transferred. Very pleasant Cafe area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardCSwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“new and improved :-)”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

me and my wife thought we would return to the motor museum after eight years to see the changes and it looks fantastic.we started in the cafe it was really nice light and airy and the food was great and then we went into the museum and they have done a great job of presenting the cars in relevant groups and the new childrens play area also looked good with lots of things to do.overall a really nice place to be with a large and varied group of vehicles.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cameronmarcoball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haynes International Motor Museum also viewed

 
Montacute, Somerset
 

Been to Haynes International Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing