We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vaslue for money”
Review of Sparkford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sparkford Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sparkford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stopped at this pub overnight and what a pleasant surprise. As soon as we entered the bar we were met by a roaring fire and a very warm and friendly atmosphere. The rooms were basic but clean and for the price very good value indeed.The carvery on sunday was exceptional value and very tasty. Reading previous reviews I truly believe that some people want 5star luxury for 2 star prices. The new management have only been there a short while, but they are passionate at making the Sparkford Inn the best it can be. I wish them all the luck in the world and will certainly be recommending this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went here for a carvery after a christening at the end of September. There were about 24 of us and the room was laid out adequately. Food was of a good quality but the plates were only just warm and therefore the food was cold before you could finish eating. Bar area was nice and the carvery food choice was very good with a choice of 3 meats and plenty of vegetables, all nicely cooked. Nothing special about the place though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneKingshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here before, wasn't impressed..now under new management still not impressed. Carpet on stairs is filthy, room 3, general cleanliness not very good, bathroom shower tray was dirty as was the shower screen. The central heating system was very noisy, Went for breakfast at half 7 as specified on arrival.young man wasn't interested in his guests. Just cereals put out limited choice. No bread to make toast , no yogurts, wasn't offered a hot drink or cooked breakfast.wouldnt have eaten anything he cooked anyway,cleanliness didn't look like it was was his strong point. I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: None, I've stayd in 2 rooms here. Both as bad as each other..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We drove off the A303 on our way south to seek out refreshments other than at the usual roadway cafes. The first pub we came to was the Sparkford Inn, and what a refreshingly warm and friendly welcome we were given. We started off with 2 huge cups of particularly delicious coffee, and decided to stay on for lunch. The granary bread sandwiches were fresh, and the chips were fat and golden - the best we've had in a long time. The place became very busy with friendly locals, and we continued our journey refreshed in mind and body. Good luck to the new management!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 504171Newgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped for lunch after visiting the Haynes Museum in the village. In short - average. Usual pub fare, reasonable value.
The place is well overdue a refurb, especially the exterior which is starting to look quite sorry for itself.
But good service, and nothing to really fault for the money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Clothcreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Rooms are in much need of refurbishment,tatty furniture & walls but the sheets were clean, white & crisp and the bathroom was clean.
Staff were helpful & polite, although attention to the customers needs could be better, table service would be nice,
Food was average but nice enough.
Would recommend and will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stoped here with friends for Sunday lunch.
The chef seems a nice chap and knows how to cook.
One of my party is vegetarian and order a meal,this is where it went down hill.
The bar staff put the order on a beer mat and forgot to take it to the kitchen so he had to wait 45 mins for his food.
Bar staff or waiting team seemed not to care and did not even say sorry,no customer service here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sparkford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparkford Inn

Address: High Street, Sparkford BA22 7JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Sparkford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sparkford
Price Range: £39 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sparkford Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sparkford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sparkford Hotel Sparkford
Sparkford Inn Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing