We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Sparkford Inn Pub

Sparkford Inn Pub
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Sparkford
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A good value home cooked lunch but someone needs to show them how to cook a good roast potato
The day we went in they had on offer Vegtable soup for £2 until the spelling mistake was corrected. Dessert was only £2 but after a serve yourself calvery nothing further was required

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Surreysurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    11
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The staff were second to none very attentive and helpful,and the food was lovely really inexpensive and tasty.
My partner and I both had the gourmet burgers with beer battered onion rings mmmm delish and he will certainly be back for the apple strudel cheesecake!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inedible carvery”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I found this run-down place under "Gastro Pubs". "Gastro enteritis" would have been more appropriate. The only food available at lunchtime was a carvery. It was only 1:00pm but the meat had clearly been under the hot lamps for a couple of hours. It was all dried out and the turkey just crumbled when the waiter tried to carve it. The vegetables were worse and the cheesy cauliflower was like porridge. The peas and carrots swam in a basin of water. We tried to eat some as we were hungry but only managed a quarter. We then went to the Haynes Museum half a mile away which has a pleasant restaurant in bright new surroundings

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ridiculous !!! Avoid!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived at the sparkford inn for a late(ish) (10pm) drink and were greeted by the manager who was rude and abrupt and told us she couldn't serve us! Very disappointed considering the last time we were in we had a brilliant time with previous managers. If you want to be made to feel unwelcome this is certainly the place to go!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shabby decor and good to match”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Visited in the early evening, very little choice if your gluten free but otherwise good choice. We only chose light meals but underwhelmed baked potato just about cooked in a microwave, other meal was cremated fish which looked like it had been cooked before. On the upside the staff we're very friendly and helpful

Helpful?
1 Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sparkford Inn Pub also viewed

Queen Camel, Somerset
 
Sparkford, Somerset
South Cadbury, Somerset
 

Been to Sparkford Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing