We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
141
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liz and graeme perfect hosts brownie warm welcome preserves nothing is too much trouble on arrival attention to detail wet room fresh milk lion gate b and b high standard one night long drive beautiful garden thank you very much
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

As part of my job I travel all over Europe on a sometimes weekly basis. I was plannig to visit relatives based near Ilchester and the Liongate House was mentioned as looking a nice place to stay.
Well I have to say it was much better than nice, is was delightful. The rooms are decorated beautifully and to say clean is an understement..
The best intention of a hotel is to make every guest feel as they are the first person to use the room. Well I can confirm that was definaitely the case here.
The welcome received form Judy and Stuart just added to the whole experience. They are great hosts and made us feel very at home. To top off the stay an excellent breakfast was provied to see us on our way.
I cannot recomend the Liongate strongly enough.
We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for choosing Liongate House and for your lovely comments. We put a lot of effort into making our rooms attractive and are very happy that you both found them 'delightful'. Please do visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have stayed with Stuart and Judy on many occasions whilst travelling on business and their hospitality and attention to detail cannot be bettered. They are extremely well organised and each time I expressed a preference, be it breakfast times or even the type of cup in the room I have found the same arrangement in place each time without remainder. Even the forgotten half empty shampoo bottles were there waiting for me on my next visit.
The accommodation, breakfast and hospitality has been absolutely first class.
Aidan Bourke

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

We will certainly miss having you to stay at Liongate. It has always been a pleasure and we have enjoyed our little chats. Very best wishes and good luck for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Wow, we were pleasantly surprised when we entered the luxurious Lowry Suite which is beautifully furnished with a large en suite wet room, ample drawer space, walk in wardrobe and all the amenities you receive in a 5* hotel. More boutique hotel than B&B, it is absolutely spotless, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Judy and Stuart have thought of everything to ensure their guests have a comfortable, relaxing and faultless stay. We felt so welcome as nothing was too much trouble especially my dietary needs which Stuart took great care of. Breakfast was served at a time convenient to us, even our favourite music was playing quietly in the background which was a very thoughtful touch. Locally sourced organic produce together with a selection of their home made jams made our stay most enjoyable. Feeling very spoilt by their generous hospitality we cannot speak highly enough of our friendly hosts and would like to say a big “thank you” for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Without a doubt the very best B&B you will ever find, Judy and Stuart are just amazing.

Room Tip: Every room is stunning and absolutely spotless
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldClassOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Wow indeed. Thank you very much for writing such a super review of our little B & B. We enjoy looking after our guests and always aim to provide a high quality service. It is nice to know that the little extra touches are noticed and appreciated. So glad you enjoyed the walk we recommended with the spectacular views over Somerset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We recently stayed at Liongate House on our way to Devon. This is without doubt the best B&B we have stayed at. Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and spotless.
Judy and Stuart are very hospitable people and made us very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order and the Jam's were homemade by Stuart.
Liongate House is Five Star Luxury without any doubt, because the standards are so high. We shall definitely be staying here again. Lastly thanks to Stuart for the fresh figs we were given when we left, they were delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelAnerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

We always strive to maintain our standard of accommodation and want each and every guest to leave Liongate knowing that we have tried to give our very best service. Thank you for your review. It is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just enjoyed two lovely nights in the 'Stratford Suite' with our baby girl. This suite is spacious with a large double bedroom, and a single bedroom which are connected to the bathroom via your own private hallway with wardrobe space. The rooms are all beautifully decorated, and are a great retreat to come back to after a long day out. They had even provided teddy bears, childrens books and DVD's to keep our baby girl entertained!!

Judy & Stuart are fab hosts and can't do enough for you, as demonstrated above. The comprehensive breakfast is also great, with good quality produce sourced, including home made jams and preserves. (The fig jam was a real surprise and yummy!) You certainly won't go hungry that's for sure!

Everywhere is absolutely spotlessly clean and so well presented. You really won't find anywhere nicer to stay, I'm sure of it. I'm so happy we chose to stay here, and will certainly be calling Judy again when we next visit our friends in Somerset! 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyRules01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

It was great having you all to stay - especially your delightful daughter who kept us all amused. We look forward to welcoming you back to Liongate in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews