We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
141
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliz and graemeperfect hostsbrowniewarm welcomepreservesnothing is too much troubleon arrivalattention to detailwet roomfresh milklion gatehigh standardb and bone nightlong drivebeautiful gardenthank you very much
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Just spent two nights with our son at this most wonderful B & B which offered better accommodation than I have ever experienced. Judy and Stuart made us SO welcome and the little extra touches (like providing proper wine glasses, without being asked, having noticed the bottle we had with us) and the choice of music with our wonderful breakfast. We stayed in the Stratford Suite which was exactly what was needed with a separate room for our 15 year old son, on hand but ensuring his (and our) privacy. B & B DOES NOT get better than THIS!!
Can't wait to use this comfortable and homely place again.
Alan and Dorothee Savage

Room Tip: B & B DOES NOT get better than THIS!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Liongate House and we are so glad that you had such a nice time and felt so at home - Nicholas certainly does you proud. Thank you for your lovely comments and we sincerely hope for a return visit in the future. With best wishes, Judy & Stuart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spent 2 nights at this very clean and comfortable b & b. Our room was well equipped with all facilities and very pleasant. It is run by a charming couple who provided an excellent breakfast and many helpful tips on the surrounding area. There is ample car parking. we would both definately stay again.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed your breakfast. We're hoping for a good crop of fruit this year as we are running out fast of our preserves. Hopefully we will see you again at Liongate in the future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

As part of my job I travel all over Europe on a sometimes weekly basis. I was plannig to visit relatives based near Ilchester and the Liongate House was mentioned as looking a nice place to stay.
Well I have to say it was much better than nice, is was delightful. The rooms are decorated beautifully and to say clean is an understement..
The best intention of a hotel is to make every guest feel as they are the first person to use the room. Well I can confirm that was definaitely the case here.
The welcome received form Judy and Stuart just added to the whole experience. They are great hosts and made us feel very at home. To top off the stay an excellent breakfast was provied to see us on our way.
I cannot recomend the Liongate strongly enough.
We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Thank you for choosing Liongate House and for your lovely comments. We put a lot of effort into making our rooms attractive and are very happy that you both found them 'delightful'. Please do visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have stayed with Stuart and Judy on many occasions whilst travelling on business and their hospitality and attention to detail cannot be bettered. They are extremely well organised and each time I expressed a preference, be it breakfast times or even the type of cup in the room I have found the same arrangement in place each time without remainder. Even the forgotten half empty shampoo bottles were there waiting for me on my next visit.
The accommodation, breakfast and hospitality has been absolutely first class.
Aidan Bourke

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

We will certainly miss having you to stay at Liongate. It has always been a pleasure and we have enjoyed our little chats. Very best wishes and good luck for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Wow, we were pleasantly surprised when we entered the luxurious Lowry Suite which is beautifully furnished with a large en suite wet room, ample drawer space, walk in wardrobe and all the amenities you receive in a 5* hotel. More boutique hotel than B&B, it is absolutely spotless, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Judy and Stuart have thought of everything to ensure their guests have a comfortable, relaxing and faultless stay. We felt so welcome as nothing was too much trouble especially my dietary needs which Stuart took great care of. Breakfast was served at a time convenient to us, even our favourite music was playing quietly in the background which was a very thoughtful touch. Locally sourced organic produce together with a selection of their home made jams made our stay most enjoyable. Feeling very spoilt by their generous hospitality we cannot speak highly enough of our friendly hosts and would like to say a big “thank you” for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Without a doubt the very best B&B you will ever find, Judy and Stuart are just amazing.

Room Tip: Every room is stunning and absolutely spotless
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldClassOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Wow indeed. Thank you very much for writing such a super review of our little B & B. We enjoy looking after our guests and always aim to provide a high quality service. It is nice to know that the little extra touches are noticed and appreciated. So glad you enjoyed the walk we recommended with the spectacular views over Somerset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews