We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liongate House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Liongate House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ilchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Liongate House is a beautiful Bed & Breakfast and we couldn't of asked for more. Attention to detail was fantastic and our every need was catered for. Breakfast was lovely in particular the sausage and bacon. Was all of high standard and have to say we had a very pleasant stay. Liz and her husband were exceptional hosts. There are a couple of pubs, italien and take aways a short walk and we ate at the Ilchester Arms. Food was beautiful and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodiech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would welcome you back anytime.
Best wishes
Liz and Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
46
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Immaculate, superbly furnished room; a great welcome from Liz and Graham. Nothing was too much trouble and everything felt'comfortable' we have stayed in Four star hotels which do not measure up. Breakfast was superb. The menu catered for every taste and the quality of the food And cooking was second to none. We are frequent visitors to the area and there is no doubt where we would want to stay in future. Absolutely first class.
The Thompson family.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. It really was a pleasure having you all to stay with your son Will who was great.
We would welcome you all back to Liongate House anytime.

Best wishes
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Set in the heart of a lovely village, Liongate House is within walking distance of several restaurants and pubs. This immaculate B&B is exactly as described by previous reviewers, it offers every comfort and we can't recommend it highly enough. It has recently change hands and the new owners Graham and Liz offer a very warm welcome. A brilliant night sleep and lovely breakfast and great value for money!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write the review.
It was a pleasure having you to stay and do hope you had a successful day at the auction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a fabulous place to stay, more like a boutique hotel than a B+B. Stuart and Judy only let out two or three rooms, but what fabulous rooms they are. Stayed in the Lowry Suite, furnished in cream and black, with a large en-suite wet room, every little detail had been included. The breakfast was top rate with Judy and Stuart's homemade jam and fresh fruit from the garden. I cannot thank Judy and Stuart enough for making our stay so enjoyable would recommend a stay at ' Liongate House' to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

we stayed at the lion gate in ilchester it is the best b&b we have stayed in for years the room was fantastic everything you could think of was provided our hosts judy and stuart were fab. breakfast was a real feast it was spotless they must be up all night cleaning .would recommend it to anyone staying in the area it was perfect .mo and barb

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaxham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Once again June and I stayed for a couple of nights to visit friends in the area. As always on previous visits we were welcomed like old friends. Nothing is too much trouble and as before, everything was perfect. There's not much else to say since I've already waxed lyrically about this place on previous visits.

Room Tip: All three rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time yet again to write a review of your stay with us here are at Liongate House. As always we looked forward to your 4th visit and thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent with you. With our very best wishes for a speedy recovery and we sincerely look forward to good news in the future. Judy & Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

where do we start lol,what a fantastic place ,we had a lovely welcome from judy and stuart ,rooms were the cleanest I have seen ,and most comfiest ,and the imformation of the area from our host was invaluable ,if ever you are looking to stop over in the area you WILL NOT ,find a better place ,thankyou both ..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scouserPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for scoring us top marks in all categories. If for some other reason you are visiting the area again please do give us a call as we would love you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.3 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
5.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liongate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liongate House

Property: Liongate House
Address: Liongate House Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Liongate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liongate House is a sympathetically rebuilt barn situated in the historic Roman town of Ilchester. Completed in 2006 using the original bricks and roof tiles, the integrity of the outer building remains whilst the inside is designed in a more modern contemporary style. Energy efficient underfloor heating together with a heat recovery ventilation system and effective rainwater recycling serving all toilets, make Liongate House an eco-friendly property to stay in. Our hearty breakfast includes local free-range eggs, some organic produce, a choice of teas or Fairtrade coffee, homemade marmalade and jams made with fruit from our garden. We are committed to providing a 4 star quality service whilst minimising the environmental impact of our activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Liongate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liongate House Ilchester, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing