We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
142
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liz and graeme brownie warm welcome lovely hosts nothing is too much trouble on arrival preserves attention to detail wet room fresh milk lion gate a wonderful stay b and b high standard could not have been more long drive beautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We phoned ahead to say we would be arriving late - no problem and they even called the restaurant we had booked to explain and hold our table. Lovely hosts - an ice cold lager and a glass of red wine after a 4.5hr drive from Essex was a nice touch!
We had stayed there last year and the new owners make you feel so welcome, nothing is too much trouble.
Fantastic freshly cooked breakfast with local produce, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and home made jams.
Thoroughly recommend Liongate House - we'll be back, hopefully next time for longer!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOC_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovley review. I know you had stayed here before we bought Liongate House and we are so pleased you were equally as happy with your visit this time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Liz and Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Liz and Graeme have a wonderful B&B. Although it is in a very nice old stone building, the rooms are entirely modern with lovely amenities. Our large and very comfortable bedroom room had the most up-to-date and spacious bathroom of our trip. And the hosts could not be more welcoming, helpful and gracious. They directed us to an excellent dinner in the beautiful little village of Ilcheste where the B&B is located. We were offered tea and cake in their beautiful garden as soon as we arrived in the afternoon. Breakfast was excellent. We were made to feel entirely comfortable and recommend this place very highly.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AW100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and could not fault it. Room was immaculate, beautifully furnished, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was probably the best we have had. The owners are very welcoming and it is their attention to detail that makes this such a good place to stay. Within ten minutes of arrival we were offered a hot drink and cake. If you are visiting the area or simply wanting a stopover then we certainly recommend staying here, we will certainly return. Karen & Darrin

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen72w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were attending an event in the area and thought it would be nice to make a short break out of it so I chose the Liongate House based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. We have paid more for ‘boutique hotels’ and been left wanting, but not so here. I booked on line via their website which was easy. The directions were easy to follow and there is plenty of parking on site. We received a very warm welcome from both Liz and Graeme. I can normally find a few improvements to be made on a room, but none here. The room (well, the whole property) is decorated and furnished to a very high standard and is spotlessly maintained. It was built as a B&B so it’s been designed to suit purpose. We stayed in the Stratton Room which has a separate single room attached to it which was just perfect for getting our daughter to settle down at night. The room and bathroom were nice and warm. Plenty of attention has been given to details like the provision of a good quality hostess tray with a nice selection of drinks and biscuits (and even some chocolates!). Fresh milk was also provided in a mini fridge downstairs, together with a few cans of drink and filtered water which was very impressive. There were a few books and DVDs available in the room too, which again were very welcome. One day Liz even brought some extremely tasty (home made?!) chocolate brownies up to us. It’s little touches like these that are unexpected but really thoughtful and do make all the difference. Breakfast is plentiful and extremely tasty. Where possible and appropriate the produce is locally sourced, Fairtrade or freshly made etc – there’s nothing like freshly made bread (white and brown!) and homemade jam for breakfast! We were welcome to use the garden, which we didn’t do as such but we did have a little look around and it’s lovely. It would be a lovely space on a sunny day to while away an hour or two on the lawn with a drink of something in hand! Liz and Graeme are very friendly, genuine people. Nothing is too much trouble and we had lovely chats with them about this and that. They haven’t been at the B&B all that long, but I wish them all the best with it because they are doing such a great job at making people feel so welcome. We would recommend Liongate House to anyone.

Room tip: If you have a young child or baby, try and get the Stratton Room as it has a separate single room with a single bed and cot in.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needaholiday726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi Amy. Well what can I say? Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review.
Both Graeme and I were very touched by your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure having you and Phil to stay with us and also your lovely daughter Jess. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the family room so comfortable. Perhaps we will see you again should you choose to visit Ilchester. Wishing you all the very best. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Excellent!!!!!! Everything you would ever need, the attention to detail was fantastic. Food was superb, homemade jams and produce from the garden. Wow!!!!! Liz and Graham were exceptional hosts. Would advise well worth a stay. Cannot wait to stay again.

Room tip: Research, research, research. Read reviews if possible.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews