We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what was needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just what was needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We had to help a friend at short notice so booked this hotel blind. It has been a very pleasant stay, staff friendly and helpful, room was very adequate and breakfast was truly excellent. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    62
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
72
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Welcomed our family at short notice. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was cleaned daily and well stocked with tea and coffee.
Would definately go back and stay a while longer, felt completely at home, The pub was welcoming with a quaint family friendly beer garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenscaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The food was great and would have had a great rating. However, the rooms are a bit tired and the service wasn't exactly attentive.

Big thumbs up for the restaurant, but held back by the hotel itself. That said I will continue to use the Ilchester Arms as a one night stop over when travelling through Somerset.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently in the process of securing the funding in order to upgrade our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

At last we've found a brilliant place to stay enroute from Leigh on sea to Taunton, just off the A303. The Ilchester Arms was perfect. Really friendly and careing staff as soon as we arrived. Clean and fresh throughout. Light and airey. Lovely decorated room with giant bed, all the facilities we required. Old feel without being pokey or dinjy. The meal in the restaurant was superb, with enough tempting choices without baffling due to too large a menu. The 1/2 pint prawns followed by the venison and then the pavlova was spot on in every respect and my girlfriends pate and rump of lamb was equally as good. A nice selection of wines and all the local beers and usuals you could ever wish for. Again the restaurant staff were attentive, friendly and effecient. The night was restful, although I guess some could find the road outside a touch noisey, we didn't and then the breakfast and the staff....again was just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble...everything made and cooked fresh. It was great and we will definitely be staying there on our next

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Reviews are such a personal thing - I was expecting a lot more given the rave reviews. The location is good for all the tourist venues - Sparkford, Fleet Airarm museum, etc. It isn't too far from Yeovil either. Anyway, the hotel itself is quite a grand building, as can be seen on the various pictures. It is right on the main road, so despite it not being the busiest road, it can be a little noisy, especially when the bin men were outside. The room was reasonably sized, and had a cupboard space which enclosed a bunk bed (so a family room, I presume). However, it was rather dated, the beds were not particularly comfortable, and the furnishings were all different styled. The bathroom was also dated, though everything (apart from the main light) seemed to work ok. Breakfast was served in a pleasant breakfast room, and was very nice. The bread especially was first rate. We ate in the downstairs restaurant, and the Carte de jour (which I was surprised to find out also applied to the evening meal) was excellent value for money and served HOT! The wine list was quite reasonable - we went for a bottle of Sancerre, which was described by the waitress as "No. 10". Didn't get to taste it, but this was actually quite a decent bottle. Maybe they are just confident that all their wines are up to standard! Still, did seem a little strange. Overall OK, but a bit of an update is required. Then I think this place would be very good.

Room Tip: Go for a back room if you are worried about main roads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Headabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
You were indeed in one of our family rooms hence the bunk beds, we are constantly striving to improve our rooms so we appreciate your thoughtful feedback.

I’m very pleased that you enjoyed our food and found it good value. As a result of your remark about the wine we are putting into place a more rigorous training programme for the waiting staff to ensure that they provide you a more thorough service.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

What a fantastic time we had, the room was decorated for us, table setting looked wonderful. A big thank you to Lucy, Brendan and team for making my daughters birthday sooo special. The food and service was excellent. Thank you for giving us our own menu to accommadate all our guests. Also thank you for allowing us to use the skittle alley at the Bull Inn, and giving our guest that stayed supper at the Bull.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
thank you for the feed back
we look forward to the 21st it will soon come round
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Went there as a party of nine.Five adults and four children ages between four
and eight. There was a toy bucket to amuse the children and the staff where excellent. Highly recommend the food was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 123tigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
glad you enjoyed your meal and experiance
we are getting ready for the warmer months ,
and doing some work to our enclosed walled garden
that the children will hopefully enjoy
thanks lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Property: The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilchester Arms is a 4* family run hotel and restaurant in the heart of Ilchester, just off the A303 & 5 miles from Yeovil. We have 10 comfortable, well furnished, en-suite bedrooms, free breakfast for hotel guests, free on site parking & free WiFi. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch (12pm-2.30pm) and dinner (7-9pm excluding Sundays) with a range of homemade dishes created from locally sourced produce. If you are just on the road & need a quick pick me up we also offer coffee & cake from 9am daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ilchester Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing