We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for a Saturday night as we were attending a wedding a few miles from Ilchester. My partner booked it over the phone at the last minute and we were very glad we did. We arrived early as we needed to get changed for the wedding, not a problem. The room wasn't fully made-up but we could use it to put our luggage away and get changed, they did the rest whilst we were out. The family room was quirky but clean and comfortable, the smallest one loved the cupboard room with a bed in it, he thought it was great to have his own "room". My highlight however was a member of bar staff on the Saturday night. As I had to drive back from the reception (no way were we paying the quoted £60 for a cab) I was hoping to catch last orders at the bar for a proper drink. Having checked what ales were available before we left, when we got back at 23:00 I got my partner to order me a beer whilst I checked the offerings from the Bull Inn pub across the square. The Bull had a favourite beer of mine so I ordered it and cheekily asked if I could take it across to the Ilchester Arms as my partner and kids were there. Not a problem. Sat in the Ilchester Bar I was asked why I had 2 pints so I said 1 was from the Bull, again, no problem. After I'd finished 1 of them, the barmaid from the Bull came in and asked if I'd like another one, delivered from across the square. I couldn't believe it, what service to bring beer from another pub!

Breakfast in the morning wasn't too early and was really nice, the sausage particulary. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I ever find myself needing a bed in SE Somerset.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headmixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

we try to have four different ales on at the bull and ilch bars for this reason I am pleased all staff responded in the positive manner that they did especially well done Louise
the sausages are from our fresh pork farmer called Hamish he uses his mothers old recipe I would tell you but he would have to kill me .
hope to meet you all again give us a call and we will try to have your fav beer on again
thanks lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for a function nearby. Great communications on phone, they let me check in early and even drove me to my engagement free of charge!! The room was spacious and very nice. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornishboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

it was lovely to help and hope to see you again ,
lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here to attend a wedding at a nearby country house.Bed was a bit soft but slept OK anyway. Room was at the back so no noise from the road. Breakfast was the only meal we had there and I cant fault it. Tasty and not greasy. Room was clean and tidy but only one large towel was supplied (and one cup and one glass). Typically, didnt notice the towel situation until we were having our showers in the morning. Ah well, there are worse things than drying with a wet towel.
Staff quite friendly and helpful. Great little village, well placed to visit the Fleet Air Arm Museum just up the road. Thought this was slightly overpriced but good all the same.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klingoneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

I apologise on the towel and cup/glass situation this was an over site by the chambermaid she to apologised
I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and we are very lucky to live in a lovely little village with some great attractions, have you tried Haynes museum they have had a massive re fit and well worth a visit,
thanks for your feed back Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent..... We'd booked the rooms as a stop over - we were attending a family wedding the following day at a country house nearby - but couldn't stay there until the evening of the wedding.
The Ilchester Arms Hotel was recommended to us by a relation who lives 5 miles away.
We were all made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble from the staff. We'd booked three double rooms etc for the one evening. We were all very pleased with our accommodation. The beds were really comfortable and huge.. furniture etc spot on.. bathrooms top notch... lovely hot showers too.
Although the Hotel is right on the main road, the traffic outside was hardly heard.
Lovely little village.
Spacious rear car park.
Excellent breakfast.
Will definately book again .............

Room Tip: We were moved from our initial room as the door lock had developed a problem. The second room we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

thank you for your feedback
so the double glazing is helping with noise which is good to hear,
and look forward to seeing you all again.
thanks lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We booked 2 rooms, a double and a family for an overnight stay. It was Sunday to Monday.
It was a shame they did not do food on a Sunday evening, but we enjoyed a bar drink.
Both rooms were clean and nicely appointed.
The Family room was quirky with one of the beds, a single, placed in a small alcove fitting tightly. The little one didn't like it as it was too claustrophobic. But he ended up in the double with mum!
The rooms were nice, settee, big TV and the boys had a great time.
The double was at the front of the hotel (family room was at the back) and was clean, but lacked any seating.
Both rooms had tea and coffee facilities as well as free water.
Staff were very nice.
Breakfast was terrific, good value, and with two little boys with big appetites it was enjoyed greatly!
have stayed before under old management, this was a bit better, and is improving all the time.
Would stay again, most definitely.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the front, but can be noisy due to passing traffic in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanforddjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

thank you for your feedback
we have just brought some comfy seats for the rooms and the landing between rooms 1and 2 .
we have put double glazing in the front windows of the hotel so the noise is less but you are right the road out side can get busy in the week days.
we hope you return and try our restaurant during the week .
thank you
lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel/pub was in a great position.The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.We had dinner in the pub and I would recommend the burger it was one of the best I have had.The waitress Sophie was very attentive and had a lovely manner.The breakfast was also good.Will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

so pleased you enjoyed your stay and burger ,
Sophie is a joy to work with as well .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We visited Ilchester for a family occasion, and could not be more delighted that we stayed at the Ilchester Arms. While always refreshing to come from the pace of city life to the gentler pace of Somerset, the staff and proprietor of the hotel were warm and gentle with their welcome, but swift and urgent in responding to all our requests -- both big and small.

We travelled with our two children, and not only found the room to be ideally suited to children, but - wonderfully - furnished with a beautiful doll's house, that kept my eldest busy for as much time as we spent in the room. The restaurant and facilities were splendid, and serve excellent food at mealtimes.

Nothing about the Ilchester Arms is cheap, neither is it too expensive - but expect excellent value for money, and a very pleasant stay. The only criticism I'd make, and this isn't for everyone I guess, is that Fairtrade coffee and tea wasn't offered.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilchesterarms, Owner at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

thank you we enjoyed your stay with us ,
your right we shall look into fair trade products,
and we look forward to seeing you all in the future.
thank you lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.2 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
580 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Preston Bed & Breakfast
5 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range: £68 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque village of Ilchester close to the A303 & between RNAS Yeovilton & Yeovil, The Ilchester Arms is a charming hotel, restaurant & bar where a warm welcome is always assured. Brendan, Lucy & their young energetic team are dedicated to providing the highest level of customer service & we take great pride in serving you our exceptional quality cuisine made from local fresh produce (wherever possible) & providing you with charming & comfortable rooms. Facilities include: • 16 Bedrooms - all with flat screen free view televisions • Free wireless internet for all hotel guests • 2 meeting/private dining rooms We offer free onsite parking with free public car parks both opposite and a little down the road. There is a large layby nearby for coach parking. The Bar is open daily for hot & cold beverages & the Bistro is open every day for Lunch & Dinner (except Sunday evenings). Brendan & Lucy are also the proud owners of The Bull Inn situated opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ilchester Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing